1999 SESSION

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 288

Confirming appointments by the Governor related to the Secretariat of Administration.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 8, 1999 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 12, 1999

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm the following interim appointments made by Governor James S. Gilmore III related to the Secretariat of Administration:

ADMINISTRATION

Charitable Gaming Commission

Herbert C. Clay, 430 South Church Street, Marion, Virginia 24354-3222, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of three years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;

Edward J. Fuhr, Hunton and Williams, 951 East Byrd Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of three years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself; Kevin Gentry, 9704 Bronte Drive, Fairfax, Virginia 22032, Member, effective August 12, 1998, for

an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1999, to succeed Jennifer Byler; and

Jan W. Stem, 5201 Eastbranch Drive, Glen Allen, Virginia 23060, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of three years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Charles Theisen.

Citizen's Advisory Council on Furnishing and Interpreting the Executive Mansion

Lee Roy Boschen, Jr., 12460 Moates Drive, Ashland, Virginia 23005, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Junius R. Fishburne;

W. Vernon Edenfield, Executive Director, Kenmore Plantations & Gardens, 1201 Washington Avenue, Fredericksburg, Virginia 22401, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Pixie Bell;

Judith Ford Essig, 11800 Old Brick School Road, Midlothian, Virginia 23113, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Shirley S. Harris;

Leslie F. Gilliam, 20096 Tall Oaks Drive, Abingdon, Virginia 24211, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Susan Warner;

Clay Davis Hamner, 2516 Monument Avenue, Richmond, Virginia 23220, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Ralph B. Higgins;

Louise M. K. Hull, Post Office Box 35, Wicomico Church, Virginia 22579, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Donna P. Brown;

George K. Martin, McGuire Woods Battle & Boothe, One James Center, 901 East Cary Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219-4030, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Christopher L. Henderson;

Rebecca Ann Matney, 16196 Old Jonesboro Road, Bristol, Virginia 24202, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed B. Lynn Warren;

Alex W. Oliver IV, Executive Director, Hampton Roads Utility and Heavy Contractors Association, 2006 Old Greenbrier Road, Suite 7, Chesapeake, Virginia 23320, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Brian C. Little;

Libbey H. Oliver, 126 Little John Road, Williamsburg, Virginia 23185, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Elizabeth Byrd York;

Lois Volkman Schroeder, 332 Clovelly Road, Richmond, Virginia 23221, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Betty L. Squire;

Anne Y. Sternheimer, 200 Kanawha Drive, Richmond, Virginia 23229, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed herself; and

Bruce W. Tyler, 2813 Grace Street, Richmond, Virginia 23223, Member, effective April 1, 1998, for a term of five years, ending March 31, 2003, to succeed Christine Meadows.

Art and Architectural Review Board

Herbert A. Claiborne, Jr., M.D., 204 Nottingham Road, Richmond, Virginia 23221, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed John G. Zehmer, Jr.;

Richard L. Ford, Jr., Dewberry and Davis, 3 James Center, 1051 East Cary Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed himself;

Bruce Morgan Justice, Justice & Associates, Architecture & Planning, PC, 8001 Franklin Farms Drive, Koger Building, Suite 231, Richmond, Virginia 23229, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Gerald Brittle; and

Kreik A. Sorensen, 812 Rives Street, Charlottesville, Virginia 22902, Member, effective July 1,

SJ288ER

1998, for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Joseph H. Seipel.

Board of Trustees, Virginia War Memorial Foundation

Richard K. Bordelon, 6398 Lark Way, **Mechanicsville**, Virginia 23111, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of three years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;

Lawrence W. Hulcher, 1904 Navion Street, Richmond, Virginia 23228, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of three years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself; and

Jack Nicholson, 128 Ridings Cove, Williamsburg, Virginia 23185, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of three years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Kenneth Vitale.

Council on Human Rights

Victor O. Cardwell, Esquire, 10 South Jefferson Street, Suite 1400, Roanoke, Virginia 24011, Member, effective November 4, 1998, for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1999, to succeed Sophia Yik Hwa Parker; and

Wilford Taylor, Jr., Circuit Court of the City of Hampton, Part 4, Post Office Box 40, Hampton, Virginia 23669, Member, effective November 4, 1998, for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1999, to succeed Carmelita P. Pineda.

Board of Trustees, Virginia Veterans Care Center

Paul M. Steube, The Law Building, 419 Main Street, **South Boston**, Virginia 24592, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed himself; and

Al Thomason, 6388 Christie Lane, Roanoke, Virginia 24018, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Daniel E. Karnes.

State Health Benefits Advisory Council

Mary A. "Polly" Braswell, 127 Towne Square Drive, Newport News, Virginia 23607, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of two years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed John Barrett;

Scott Fairholm, 3006 Steeple Chase Court, Midlothian, Virginia 23112, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of two years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed Nancy B. Pfeiffer; and

Frank S. Ferguson, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of two years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed Barbara Bingham.

Personnel Advisory Board

Norman P. Atkins, 3444 Joan Court, Falls Church, Virginia 22042, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Lynn H. Corson;

Roger A. Dean, Post Office Box 1000, Lexington, Virginia 24450-1000, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Marvin R. Murray;

Scott Fairholm, 3006 Steeple Chase Court, Midlothian, Virginia 23112, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Carl Clay; and

Steven Keen, 14778 Arizona Avenue, Woodbridge, Virginia 22191, Member, effective July 1, 1998, for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed himself.