## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF VIRGINIA -- 1999 SESSION

## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 476**

Commending the Waynesboro High School debate team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 15, 1999 Agreed to by the Senate, January 21, 1999

WHEREAS, for the second consecutive year, the Waynesboro High School debate team captured the Virginia High School League Group AA state championship; and

WHEREAS, under the leadership of Coach Randy Covington, the Waynesboro debaters captured several individual and team first-place awards; and

WHEREAS, Alex Corey and Katie Hansen took first place in straight side affirmative, and Alex Corey was a first-place speaker in straight side negative; and

WHEREAS, Jessica Adcock and Barry Hausrath placed second in straight side negative, and Barry Hausrath was a first-place speaker in straight side affirmative; and

WHEREAS, Ben Bateman and Frances Tufts captured first-place honors in switch sides debate, while Ben Bateman took first-place individual honors and Frances Tufts placed second in switch sides debate; and

WHEREAS, Josh Clark and Brandon Hall took fourth place in switch sides debate, and Howard Akers was a quarterfinalist in the Lincoln-Douglas competition; and

WHEREAS, the Waynesboro High School debate team members polished their skills during the summer by attending debate camps and with the support of faculty and administration the team's championship performance was a tribute to their hard work and dedication; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, that the General Assembly commend the Waynesboro High School debate team on its outstanding record in state championship competition; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Coach Randy Covington in honor of the state championship performance of the Waynesboro High School debate team.