VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 1999 SESSION

CHAPTER 879

An Act to amend and reenact § 9-55 of the Code of Virginia, relating to the Commission on Intergovernmental Cooperation; membership.

[H 2629]

Approved March 29, 1999

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That § 9-55 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 9-55. Members of Commission; chairman.

The Commission on Intergovernmental Cooperation shall be composed of ten the following members, namely: (4 i) the five members of the Commission on Interstate Cooperation of the Senate and, (2 ii) the five members of the Committee on Interstate Cooperation of the House of Delegates, and (iii) the Clerk of the Senate and the Clerk of the House of Delegates, who shall serve as ex officio nonvoting members of the Commission. The chairman and vice-chairman of the Commission shall serve for a period of two years, and the chairmanship and vice-chairmanship shall alternate between the chairman of the Senate Commission on Interstate Cooperation and the chairman of the House Committee on Interstate Cooperation.

The Commission on Intergovernmental Cooperation shall select such officials of state government as to it shall seem proper to serve as ex officio members of the Commission without vote for terms of four years each. The appointment of such ex officio members shall be subject to the approval of the Governor.