VIRGINIA ACTS OF ASSEMBLY -- 1999 SESSION

CHAPTER 469

An Act to amend and reenact § 23-231.15 of the Code of Virginia, relating to the Roanoke Higher Education Authority.

[S 765]

Approved March 27, 1999

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That § 23-231.15 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 23-231.15. Board of Trustees; appointments; terms; compensation; officers.

A. The Authority shall be governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of twenty-one twenty-four members as follows: the Director of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia or his designee; the Chancellor of the Virginia Community College System or his designee; and the presidents or their designees of Averett College, Bluefield College, the College of Health Sciences, Ferrum College, Hampton University, Hollins College University, Mary Baldwin College, Old Dominion University, Radford University, Roanoke College, University of Virginia, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and Virginia Western Community College, the Executive Director of the Fifth District Employment and Training Consortium and the Director of TAP This Valley Works; five citizen members representing business and industry in the Roanoke Valley to be appointed by the Governor; and two members of the General Assembly, one to be appointed from the Senate by the Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections and one to be appointed from the House of Delegates by the Speaker of the House. Citizen members of the Board shall be residents of the Roanoke region.

B. The legislative members, the Director of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, and the Chancellor of the Virginia Community College System and the presidents or their designees of the named institutions of higher education shall serve on the Board until the expiration of their terms of office or until their successors shall qualify. Of the five citizen members to be appointed in 1997, two shall be appointed for three-year terms, and three shall be appointed for four-year terms. Thereafter, all such citizen members shall be appointed for terms of four years, except that appointments to fill vacancies shall be for the unexpired terms. No citizen member of the Board shall be eligible to serve for or during more than two successive four-year terms; however, after the expiration of a term of three years or less, or after the expiration of the remainder of a term to which appointed to fill a vacancy, two additional four-year terms may be served by such member, if appointed thereto.

C. Legislative members of the Board shall be compensated as specified in § 14.1–18 30-19.12, and all members of the Board shall be reimbursed for their actual expenses incurred in the performance of their duties in the work of the Authority.

D. The Board shall elect a chairman and a vice-chairman from among its members and may establish bylaws as necessary.