1998 SESSION

981947661

1

2 3

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 23

Offered March 5, 1998

Nominating persons to be elected to circuit court judgeships.

Patron-Gartlan

Referred to the Committee for Courts of Justice

9 RESOLVED by the Senate, That the following persons are hereby nominated to be elected to the respective circuit court judgeships as follows: 10

The Honorable Frederick H. Creekmore, Sr., of Chesapeake, as a judge of the First Judicial Circuit 11 12 for a term of eight years commencing August 1, 1998.

- Joseph A. Leafe, Esquire, of Norfolk, as a judge of the Fourth Judicial Circuit for a term of eight 13 14 years commencing March 16, 1998.
- The Honorable William H. Shaw, III, of Gloucester, as a judge of the Ninth Judicial Circuit for a 15 16 term of eight years commencing March 16, 1998.

Edward L. Hogshire, Esquire, of Charlottesville, as a judge of the Sixteenth Judicial Circuit for a 17 18 term of eight years commencing May 1, 1998.

The Honorable Joanne F. Alper, of Arlington, as a judge of the Seventeenth Judicial Circuit for a 19 20 term of eight years commencing June 1, 1998.

21 Charles J. Strauss, Esquire, of Pittsylvania, as a judge of the Twenty-second Judicial Circuit for a 22 term of eight years commencing March 16, 1998.

The Honorable James W. Updike, Jr., of Bedford, as a judge of the Twenty-fourth Judicial Circuit 23 24 for a term of eight years commencing April 1, 1998.