## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 15**

Confirming appointments by the Governor to miscellaneous positions.

Agreed to by the Senate, January 23, 1998 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 6, 1998

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm the following interim appointments made by Governor George Allen to miscellaneous positions:

### **COMPACTS**

# **Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission**

**Jo Ann Kwong**, Atlas Economic Research Foundation, 4084 University Drive, Suite 103, **Fairfax**, Virginia 22030, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term concurrent with her service on the State Water Control Board, to succeed W. Bidgood Wall, Jr.

## **DESIGNATED BOARDS**

## **Governor's Mined Land Reclamations Advisory Committee**

- **Danny R. Brown**, Division of Mined Land Reclamation, Post Office Box 900, **Big Stone Gap**, Virginia 24219, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;
- **Ray E. Burns, Jr.**, ANR Coal Company, LLC, Post Office Box 1578, **Coeburn**, Virginia 24230, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Robert H. Tuck;
- Mark S. Goff, Post Office Box 282, Grundy, Virginia 24614-0282, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;
- **Paul R. Ison**, 6308 Hurricane Road, **Wise**, Virginia 24293, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;
- **Roger Jones**, Pittston Coal Management Company, Post Office Box 7, **Dante**, Virginia 24237, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Glenn F. Graham;
- **Patricia T. Martin**, 869 Fincastle Street, **North Tazewell**, Virginia 24630, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Reva W. Spry;
- **Dan R. McCoy**, 428 Powell Valley Road, **Big Stone Gap**, Virginia 24219, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;
- **Harry W. Meador III**, 1695 Dawson Avenue, **Big Stone Gap**, Virginia 24219, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Carl E. Hale;
- **Candace H. Morgan**, 3319 Summit Drive, **Saint Paul**, Virginia 24283, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed C.D. Litton;
- **Chuks A. Ogbonnaya**, Post Office Box 957, **Big Stone Gap**, Virginia 24219, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;
- Vanessa R. Perry, Environmental Monitoring, Incorporated, Post Office Box 1477, Coeburn, Virginia 24230, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Barbara Gay Keen;
- **Gregory J. Ringley**, Post Office Box 2014, **Coeburn**, Virginia 24230, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Charles R. Barnette; and
- **Mike Thomas**, Humphries Enterprise, Post Office Box 668, **Norton**, Virginia 24273, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself.

## **INDEPENDENT**

# Board of Directors of the Birth-Related Neurological Injury

**Compensation Program** 

**Patricia W. Fromal**, 119 Wythe Crescent Drive, **Hampton**, Virginia 23661, Member, effective June 27, 1997, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1998, to succeed Robert E. Hope.

**Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission** 

William W. Prettyman, 2809 South Lynnhaven Parkway, Suite 110, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23452, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of five years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed himself.

Board of Directors, Medical College of Virginia Hospitals Authority

**William A. Forrest, Jr.**, Sands, Anderson, Marks and Miller, 1400 Ross Building, 801 East Main Street, Post Office Box 1998, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of three years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed himself.

**Board of Trustees of the Virginia Retirement System** 

- **Edwin T. Burton**, 1405 Back Mountain Road, **Earlysville**, Virginia 22936, Chairman, effective March 1, 1997, to serve for a term of two years, ending February 28, 1999, to succeed James C. Wheat III; and
- **R.** William Bayliss, Wheat First Securities, 40 West Piccadilly Street, Post Office Box 437, Winchester, Virginia 22601, Member, effective March 1, 1997, to serve for a term of five years, ending February 28, 2002, to succeed himself.

**Virginia Higher Education Tuition Trust Fund** 

**Jennifer F. Duffy**, 2716 Seashore Cove, **Virginia Beach**, Virginia 23454, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed herself.

### **LEGISLATIVE**

## **Hampton Roads Sanitation District Commission**

**Joseph R. Ambrose, Jr.**, GFH Real Estate, 264 McLaws Circle, Suite H, **Williamsburg**, Virginia 23185, Member, effective June 8, 1997, to serve for a term of four years ending June 7, 2001, to succeed Joseph S. Heyman; and

**Ethel M. Henry**, 9129 Eclipse Drive, **Suffolk**, Virginia 23433, Member, effective June 8, 1997, to serve for a term of four years ending June 7, 2001, to succeed Richard R. Herrell.

# Virginia Coal and Energy Commission

**Robert E. Rigsby**, Virginia Power, Post Office Box 26666, **Richmond**, Virginia 23261, Member, effective November 10, 1997, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 1, 1999, to succeed Ronald J. Des Roches; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the General Assembly confirm the following additional appointment made by Governor Allen and communicated to the General Assembly by letter January 16, 1998:

### **State Lottery Board**

**Stuart C. Siegel**, 350 Running Cedar Trail, **Manakin Sabot**, Virginia 23103, Member, effective January 15, 1998, to serve for a term of five years, ending January 14, 2003, to succeed himself.