

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 14

Senate Amendments in [] — January 22, 1998

Confirming appointments by the Governor related to transportation.

Patron—Miller, K.G.

Referred to the Committee on Privileges and Elections

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm the following interim appointments made by Governor George Allen related to transportation:

TRANSPORTATION

Virginia Aviation Board:

John G. Dankos, Jr., 6994 Rotherham Drive, **Mechanicsville**, Virginia 23116, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself; and

Emmitt Franklin Yeary, Yeary and Associates, 161 East Main Street, Post Office Box 1685, **Abingdon**, Virginia 24210, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself.

Medical Advisory Board for the Department of Motor Vehicles:

Charles Benjamin Haden, Jr., M.D., Gum Springs Medical Center, Post Office Box 38, **Gum Springs**, Virginia 23065, Member, effective October 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending September 30, 2000, to succeed Susanna A. Mathe.

Motor Vehicle Dealer Board:

Nelson L. Bennett, 11300 Ivy Wood Road, **Chester**, Virginia 23831, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;

Margo T. Clarke, 4041 Bolling Road, **Richmond**, Virginia 23223, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed herself;

Frank L. Cowles, Jr., Greenfields Farm, **Scottsville**, Virginia 24590, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;

Bobby Joe Dotson, Post Office Drawer HH, **Big Stone Gap**, Virginia 24219, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;

L. Steven Farmer, Post Office Box 223, **Altavista**, Virginia 24517, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;

Rick Hunt, 5189 Obannon Road, **The Plains**, Virginia 20198, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Arthur S. Casey;

Clyde H. King, Jr., 25267 Lee Highway, **Abingdon**, Virginia 24210, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Richard L. Sharp; and

Leo B. Trenor, 543 Petty Avenue, N.E., **Roanoke**, Virginia 24019, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself.

Board of Commissioners, Virginia Port Authority:

William B. Bales, 108 Island Bay Court, **Penn Hook**, Virginia 24137, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of five years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Pauline Levy;

James H. Burnley IV, Winston and Strawn, 1400 L Street, N.W., **Washington, D.C.** 20005, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of five years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Jonathan S. Perel;

William M. Grace, 1842 Canon Boulevard, **Newport News**, Virginia 23606, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of five years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Myron B. Mausteller; and

Robert M. Tata, Hunton and Williams, Post Office Box 3889, **Norfolk**, Virginia 23514-3889, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of five years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Arnold B. McKinnon.

Commonwealth Transportation Board:

Lorinda Gregory Lionberger, Post Office Box 20209, **Roanoke**, Virginia 24018-0507, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed herself;

William W. Prettyman, 2809 South Lynnhaven Parkway, Suite 110, **Virginia Beach**, Virginia 23452, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself; and

Ulysses X. White, 8710 Fort Drive, **Manassas**, Virginia 22110, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself.

Board of Transportation Safety:

Paul Bankit, 132 John Pott Drive, Williamsburg, Virginia 23188, Member, effective March 5, 1997,

SJ14E 2 of 2

- 60 to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed Vernon L. Brown;
- James E. Belshee, 208 Rose Hill Circle, Staunton, Virginia 24401, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;
- Gloria S. Berkley, Greater Lynchburg Transit Company, Post Office Box 797, Lynchburg, Virginia 24505, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Karen C. Burchette;
 - **James T. Hicks**, Route 1, Box 675, **Saltville**, Virginia 24370, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Oscar Valentine; and
 - **John Victor Mazza, Jr.**, 20401 Little Road, **Matoaca**, Virginia 23803, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed John G. Dankos, Jr.
- [RESOLVED FURTHER, That the General Assembly confirm the following additional appointment made by Governor Allen and communicated to the General Assembly by letter January 16, 1998:
- 72 Board of Commissioners, Virginia Port Authority:

66 67

68

69

73 74 **Peter D. Pruden III,** 826 Riverview Drive, **Suffolk,** Virginia 23424, Member, effective January 7, 1998, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1999, to succeed Andrew Wahlquist.