1998 SESSION

	986594803
1	SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 14
1 2	Offered January 14, 1998
3	Prefiled January 12, 1998
4	Confirming appointments by the Governor related to transportation.
5 6	Patron—Miller, K.G.
7 8 9	Referred to the Committee on Privileges and Elections
9 10	RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm
11 12	the following interim appointments made by Governor George Allen related to transportation: TRANSPORTATION
13	Virginia Aviation Board:
14	John G. Dankos, Jr., 6994 Rotherham Drive, Mechanicsville, Virginia 23116, Member, effective
15	July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself; and
16	Emmitt Franklin Yeary, Yeary and Associates, 161 East Main Street, Post Office Box 1685,
17	Abingdon, Virginia 24210, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending
18	June 30, 2001, to succeed himself.
19	Medical Advisory Board for the Department of Motor Vehicles:
20 21	Charles Benjamin Haden, Jr., M.D., Gum Springs Medical Center, Post Office Box 38, Gum Springs, Virginia 23065, Member, effective October 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending
22	September 30, 2000, to succeed Susanna A. Mathe.
23	Motor Vehicle Dealer Board:
24	Nelson L. Bennett, 11300 Ivy Wood Road, Chester, Virginia 23831, Member, effective July 1,
25	1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;
26	Margo T. Clarke, 4041 Bolling Road, Richmond, Virginia 23223, Member, effective July 1, 1997,
27	to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed herself;
28	Frank L. Cowles, Jr., Greenfields Farm, Scottsville, Virginia 24590, Member, effective July 1,
29 30	1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself; Bobby Joe Dotson, Post Office Drawer HH, Big Stone Gap, Virginia 24219, Member, effective July
31	1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;
32	L. Steven Farmer, Post Office Box 223, Altavista, Virginia 24517, Member, effective July 1, 1997,
33	to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;
34	Rick Hunt, 5189 Obannon Road, The Plains, Virginia 20198, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to
35	serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Arthur S. Casey;
36	Clyde H. King, Jr., 25267 Lee Highway, Abingdon, Virginia 24210, Member, effective July 1, 1007 to come for a term of four wars, and and 20, 2001 to guarded Bishard L. Sharry and
37 38	1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Richard L. Sharp; and Leo B. Trenor, 543 Petty Avenue, N.E., Roanoke, Virginia 24019, Member, effective July 1, 1997,
39	to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself.
40	Board of Commissioners, Virginia Port Authority:
41	William B. Bales, 108 Island Bay Court, Penn Hook, Virginia 24137, Member, effective July 1,
42	1997, to serve for a term of five years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Pauline Levy;
43	James H. Burnley IV, Winston and Strawn, 1400 L Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20005,
44 45	Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of five years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed
45 46	Jonathan S. Perel; William M. Grace, 1842 Canon Boulevard, Newport News, Virginia 23606, Member, effective July
47	1, 1997, to serve for a term of five years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed Myron B. Mausteller; and
48	Robert M. Tata , Hunton and Williams, Post Office Box 3889, Norfolk, Virginia 23514-3889,
49	Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of five years, ending June 30, 2002, to succeed
50	Arnold B. McKinnon.
51	Commonwealth Transportation Board:
52	Lorinda Gregory Lionberger, Post Office Box 20209, Roanoke, Virginia 24018-0507, Member,
53 54	effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed herself; William W. Prettyman, 2809 South Lynnhaven Parkway, Suite 110, Virginia Beach, Virginia
54 55	23452, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to
56	succeed himself; and
57	Ulysses X. White, 8710 Fort Drive, Manassas, Virginia 22110, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to
58	serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself.
59	Board of Transportation Safety:

SJ14

- Paul Bankit, 132 John Pott Drive, Williamsburg, Virginia 23188, Member, effective March 5, 1997, 60 to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed Vernon L. Brown; James E. Belshee, 208 Rose Hill Circle, Staunton, Virginia 24401, Member, effective July 1, 1997, 61
- 62 63 to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed himself;
- Gloria S. Berkley, Greater Lynchburg Transit Company, Post Office Box 797, Lynchburg, Virginia 64 65 24505, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to 66 succeed Karen C. Burchette;
- 67 James T. Hicks, Route 1, Box 675, Saltville, Virginia 24370, Member, effective July 1, 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed Oscar Valentine; and 68
- 69 John Victor Mazza, Jr., 20401 Little Road, Matoaca, Virginia 23803, Member, effective July 1,
- 70 1997, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2001, to succeed John G. Dankos, Jr.