3 A

9/27/22 2:28

HOUSE BILL NO. 1361

Offered January 26, 1998

A BILL to amend and reenact § 4, as amended, of Chapter 630 of the 1964 Acts of Assembly, relating to membership on the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission.

Patron—Scott

Referred to Committee on Transportation

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

1. That § 4, as amended, of Chapter 630 of the 1964 Acts of Assembly is amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 4. Members of the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission.

Pursuant to the provisions of Article 3, Section 3, of the "Transportation District Act of 1964," the members of the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission shall consist of five members from Fairfax County, three from Arlington County, two from the city of Alexandria, one from the city of Falls Church, one from the city of Fairfax and the Chairman of the State Highway and Transportation Commission or his designee; the members from the respective counties and cities shall be appointed by the governing bodies of their county or city in the manner specified therein.

In addition, the following members shall be appointed:

- (a) three members of the House of Delegates appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates for terms of two years each;
- (b) two members of the Senate appointed by the Committee on Privileges and Elections of the Senate for terms of four years each.

Members of the General Assembly shall serve without a vote on any matter making or dealing with any allocation of moneys derived from the motor fuel sales tax under Article 4 (§ 58.1-1719 et seq.) of Chapter 17 of title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia and may be eligible for reappointment so long as they remain members of their respective houses.

All members, other than the Chairman of the State Highway and Transportation Commission or his designee, irrespective of the identity of the appointing authority shall be residents of the territory comprising the District.