#### 977502803

1

2

8 9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19 20

21

22

23

24 25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32 33

34 35

36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43 44

45

46

47 48

49

50

51

52

53

54

55

**56** 

57

58

59

### **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 196**

Offered January 8, 1997

Confirming appointments by the Governor related to public safety.

## Patron—Miller, K.G.

# Referred to the Committee on Privileges and Elections

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm the following interim appointments made by Governor George Allen related to public safety:

## **PUBLIC SAFETY:**

#### **State Board of Corrections:**

George W. Bailey, Route 12, Post Office Box 28, Charlottesville, Virginia 22901, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed himself;

Dianne Davis-Wagner, 129 Yorkshire Road, Portsmouth, Virginia 23701, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed herself; and

Roy A. Graeber, 1329 Laurel Crescent, Norfolk, Virginia 23505, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1998, to succeed John J. McGrath, Jr.

#### **Board of Correctional Education:**

Nancy R. Carwile, Ph.D., Director of Academic Programs, Southside Virginia Community College, Route 1, Box 15, Keysville, Virginia 23947, Member, effective April 3, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1999, to succeed Paul L. Wilson;

Sandra L. Combs, 103 Jernigan Lane, Yorktown, Virginia 23692, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed Claude Flythe; and

Decker H. Tapscott, Sr., 6427 Duhollow Road, Warrenton, Virginia 22186, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed Margaret K. Luca.

## Virginia Correctional Enterprises Advisory Board:

Elsie M. Barnes, 4709 Pickle Barn Court, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23455, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000;

William H. Baxter, Retail Merchants Association, 5101 Monument Avenue, Richmond, Virginia 23230, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000;

Dianne Davis-Wagner, 129 Yorkshire Road, Portsmouth, Virginia 23701, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000;

Jerry L. Dawson, Sr., P.E., RECO Industries, Incorporated, 710 Hospital Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219-1218, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000:

Paul A. Farrar, Route 1, Box 536-B, Spencer, Virginia 24165, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000;

Richard A. Hertz, Jr., 4113 Hamlin Terrace, Chester, Virginia 23831, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000;

William G. Poston, Turner Construction Company, 7204 Glen Forest Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, Virginia 23226, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000;

Robert M. Ryan, 102 North West Street, Culpeper, Virginia 22701, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000; and

J. Kim Schoenadel, Post Office Box 2125, Glen Allen, Virginia 23060, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000.

#### **Criminal Justice Services Board:**

F. Steven Jenkins, 310 Fauquier Street, Culpeper, Virginia 22701, Member, effective April 4, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1997, to succeed Jerome J. Booker.

## Virginia Fire Services Board:

Donald B. Baker, Mayor, Town of Clintwood, Post Office Box 456, Main Street, Clintwood, Virginia 24228, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed himself:

Richard E. Burch, Jr., 10247 Summer Hill Road, Mechanicsville, Virginia 23111, Member, effective April 10, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1998, to succeed Ronald T. Wakeham;

Spotswood Connelly, Route 1, Box 230, Earlysville, Virginia 22936, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed Kenneth R. Cochran;

Phillip E. Paquette, 8561 Merry Oaks Lane, Toano, Virginia 23168, Member, effective July 1,

SJ196 2 of 2

63

64

65

66

67 68

69

**70** 

71

72 73

74 75

**76** 

77

1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed himself; and
Clinton H. Smoke, Jr., 9928 Coffer Woods Road, Burke, Virginia 22015, Member, effective July 1,
1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed himself.

**State Hazardous Materials Emergency Response Advisory Council:** 

**Carl N. Cimino**, 1817 Cloverfield Lane, **Manakin-Sabot**, Virginia 23103, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of three years, ending June 30, 1999, to succeed Jimmy L. Reany;

**Lynda G. Furr**, Fire Administration, Post Office Box 40, **Chesterfield**, Virginia 23832, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of three years, ending June 30, 1999, to succeed Robert Brown: and

**Paul J. Pokorski, Jr.**, 600 Central Drive, **Virginia Beach**, Virginia 23452, Member, effective June 10, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1998, to succeed Richard E. Burch, Jr.

#### **Board of Juvenile Justice:**

**Peter M. Wherry**, 413 East Brambleton Avenue, **Norfolk**, Virginia 23510, Member, effective April 18, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1999, to succeed Jacqueline S. Sharpe.

## Virginia Parole Board:

**Winnie Richardson Dixon**, 6900 Atmore Drive, **Richmond**, Virginia 23225, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed herself; and

**Jacqueline S. Sharpe**, 6900 Atmore Drive, **Richmond**, Virginia 23225, Member, effective July 1, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, ending June 30, 2000, to succeed herself.