977329758

1 2

3

8

9 10

11

12

13 14

15 16

17

18

19 20

21 22 23

24 25

26

27 28

29

30

31

32

33 34

SENATE BILL NO. 817

Offered January 10, 1997

A BILL to amend and reenact §§ 1 and 2, as amended, of Chapter 643 of the Acts of Assembly of 1964, relating to economic development authorities.

Patrons—Whipple; Delegate: Hull

Referred to the Committee on Local Government

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

- 1. That §§ 1 and 2, as amended, of Chapter 643 of the Acts of Assembly of 1964 are amended and reenacted as follows:
- § 1. There is hereby created within each of the Cities of Virginia Beach, Danville, Roanoke, Suffolk, Fairfax, Falls Church, Franklin and Bristol; within the County of Fairfax, within the county of Loudoun, within the County of Roanoke, within the County of Washington, within the Counties of Giles, Pulaski, Wythe, Bland, and Craig, within the County of Halifax for such county and the City of South Boston, within the County of Greensville for such county and the City of Emporia and within the County of Smyth for such county and the Town of Marion in said county, a political subdivision of the Commonwealth with such public and corporate powers as are granted in this act to be known, respectively, as the City of Virginia Beach Development Authority, the Danville Development Authority, the Bristol Development Authority, the City of Roanoke Development Authority, the Suffolk Development Authority, the City of Fairfax Economic Development Authority, the City of Falls Church Economic Development Authority, the City of Franklin Development Authority, the Fairfax County Economic Development Authority, the Loudoun County Economic Development Authority, the Washington County Development Authority, the Halifax-South Boston Development Authority, the Greensville-Emporia Development Authority, Roanoke County Development Authority, the Smyth-Marion Development Authority, Giles Industrial Development Authority, Pulaski Development Authority, Wythe Development Authority, Bland Development Authority, and Craig Development Authority, each hereinafter called the Authority.
- § 2. As used in this act the word "city" means the City of Virginia Beach, the City of Danville, the City of Bristol, the City of Suffolk, the City of Fairfax, the City of Falls Church, the City of Franklin, the City of Roanoke, the County of Roanoke, the County of Fairfax, the County of Loudoun, the County of Washington, the County of Halifax, the Counties of Giles, Pulaski, Wythe, Bland, Craig, and the City of South Boston, the County of Greensville and the City of Emporia, or the County of Smyth and the Town of Marion, as the case may be, and the governing body of each as requisite.