SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 144

Confirming appointments by the Governor made during the 1996 Regular Session of the General Assembly.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 23, 1996 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 5, 1996

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm the following appointments communicated to the General Assembly by letter of Governor George Allen and made by the Governor between January 10 and February 12, 1996, during the 1996 Regular Session:

AGENCY HEADS

Clarence H. Carter, Department of Social Services, 730 East Broad Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Acting Commissioner, Department of Social Services, effective January 12, 1996, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Carol A. Brunty;

William P. Dickinson, Jr., Department of Housing and Community Development, Jackson Center, 501 North Second Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Acting Director, Department of Housing and Community Development, effective January 12, 1996, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed David L. Caprara;

Thomas L. Hopkins, Department of Conservation and Recreation, Suite 211, 203 Governor Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Acting Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, effective January 12, 1996, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed H. Kirby Burch; and

Thomas J. Towberman, Virginia Employment Commission, 703 East Main Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Acting Commissioner, Virginia Employment Commission, effective January 12, 1996, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Kenneth A. Bolles.

COMMERCE AND TRADE

Board of Virginia Coalfield Economic Development Authority:

Donald B. Baker, Mayor, Town of Clintwood, Post Office Box 456, Main Street, **Clintwood,** Virginia 24228, Member, effective January 24, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, to succeed Eugene S. Hearl.

Small Business Advisory Board:

June M. Pritchett, 149 Homestead Hills, **Afton,** Virginia 22920, Member, effective January 24, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, to succeed Steven V. Usera.

Board of Housing and Community Development:

Oliver P. Farinholt, TAF Group, 100 Landmark Square, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23452, Member, effective January 30, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, to succeed Elizabeth A. Twohy.

EDUCATION Board of Education:

Kay Coles James, 11612 Bailey Mountain Trail, **Richmond,** Virginia 23112, Member, effective January 30, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, to succeed Martha V. Pennino; and

Robert H. Patterson, Jr., McGuire Woods Battle and Boothe, One James Center, 901 East Cary Street, **Richmond,** Virginia 23219, Member, effective January 30, 1996, to serve for a term of four years, to succeed Alan L. Wurtzel.

Board of Trustees of the Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia:

Mark Loving, 169 Lora Drive, Woodstock, Virginia 22664, Member, effective January 24, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, to succeed Emmett W. Hanger; and

William F. Sibert, 8 Oakenwold Terrace, **Staunton**, Virginia 24401, Member, effective January 24, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, to succeed R. Steven Landes.

PUBLIC SAFETY

State Board of Corrections:

Melvin C. Jones, Sr., 4025 Ruffin Road, **Hopewell,** Virginia 23860, Member, effective January 12, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, to succeed William C. Cleveland.

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board:

Clater C. Mottinger, 2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond, Virginia 23261, Commissioner, effective January 31, 1996, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Frederick T. Dykes; and

Anne P. Petera, 6398 Heatherwood Drive, **Mechanicsville,** Virginia 23111, Chairman, effective January 31, 1996, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Catherine Hortensia Giordano.

Virginia Parole Board:

E. Montgomery "Monty" Tucker, 6061 Village Bend Drive, Apt. #1512, Dallas, Texas 75206,

Chairman, effective March 4, 1996, to serve for an unexpired term, to succeed Bruce Carl Morris.

INDEPENDÊNT

State Lottery Board:
Paul J. Lanteigne, 2061 Pungo Ridge Court, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23457, Member, effective January 15, 1996, to serve for a term of five years, to succeed Joseph Stettinius.

Board of Trustees of the Virginia Retirement System:
Edwin T. Burton III, 1405 Buck Mountain Road, Earlysville, Virginia 22936, Member, effective

March 1, 1996, to serve for a term of five years, to succeed himself.