

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 280

Offered January 22, 1996

Commending the American Automobile Association of Tidewater.

Patrons—Purkey, Croshaw, Forbes, Hamilton, Heilig, McDonnell, Moore, Robinson, Spruill, Tata, Wagner and Wardrup

WHEREAS, the American Automobile Association's School Safety Patrol was founded in Norfolk at Monroe Elementary School in 1921, one of the first such programs in the nation; and

WHEREAS, for 75 years, the American Automobile Association of Tidewater has supported school safety through education, management, and training; and

WHEREAS, since 1949, 13 school safety programs have received the American Automobile Association Gold Life Saving Medal, presented by the President or Vice President of the United States or the Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court; and

WHEREAS, of the 13 recipients of the Gold Life Saving Medal nationwide since 1949, three have been from Tidewater; and

WHEREAS, in the 75-year history of the Tidewater American Automobile Association School Safety Patrol, a fatal traffic accident has never occurred at a post covered by the patrol; and

WHEREAS, the American Automobile Association's School Safety Patrol involves 30,000 student throughout the Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, in 1996, the American Automobile Association of Tidewater is celebrating the 75th anniversary of the founding of the first School Safety Patrol in Tidewater; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly commend the American Automobile Association of Tidewater on its 75-year commitment to the safety of Virginia's schoolchildren; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the American Automobile Association of Tidewater in honor of the 75th anniversary of this valuable, worthwhile, and eminently successful program.