LD4481661

1

2

3

8

9 10

11 12

13

14

15 16

17

18

19 20

21

22

23 24 25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33 34

35 36 37

38

39

40

41 42

43 44

45

46

47 48 49

50

51

52 53

54 55

**56** 

57

58

#### **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 392**

Offered February 7, 1995

Confirming appointments by the Governor made during the 1995 Regular Session and relating to education.

### Patron—Gartlan

# Introduced at the request of Governor

# Referred to the Committee on Privileges and Elections

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm the following appointments made by Governor George Allen during the 1995 Regular Session, relating to education, and communicated to the General Assembly by his letter dated February 2, 1995:

Advisory Council on the Virginia Business-Education Partnership Program:

Paul D. Stapleton, Division Superintendent, Charlotte County Public Schools, Post Office Box 790, Charlotte Court House, Virginia 23923, Vice-Chairman, effective January 30, 1995, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Thomas J. Veazey; and

Gary R. Thomson, Erny and Mason, 320 C Charles Dimmock Parkway, Colonial Heights, Virginia 23834, Chairman, effective January 30, 1995, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Susan C. Summers.

#### **Board of Education:**

**Lillian F. Tuttle,** 407 Pleasant Hill Drive, **Richmond,** Virginia 23236, Member, effective January 30, 1995, to serve for a term of four years, ending January 29, 1999, to succeed Darrel L. Mason.

# **Board of Trustees of the Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation:**

David W. Otey, Post Office Box 192, Williamsburg, Virginia 23187, Member, effective January 27, 1995, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1995, to succeed Richard S. Reynolds III, resigned.

### **Board of Visitors, Norfolk State University:**

William Hayes Davis, Sr., 2500 Hawthorne Avenue, Richmond, Virginia 23222, Member, effective February 1, 1995, to serve for a term of four years, ending January 31, 1999, to succeed Alan G. Fleischer;

**Alphonso L. Grant,** Post Office Box 2688, **Lynchburg,** Virginia 24501, Member, effective February 1, 1995, to serve for a term of four years, ending January 31, 1999, to succeed Robert J. Grey, Sr.;

William R. Miller III, Miller Enterprises, Incorporated, Post Office Box 5325, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23455, Member, effective February 1, 1995, to serve for a term of four years, ending January 31, 1999, to succeed Franklin R. Bowers;

**Timothy L. Reid,** Route One, Box 242, **Free Union,** Virginia 22940, Member, effective February 1, 1995, to serve for a term of four years, ending January 31, 1999, to succeed himself;

David W. Robertson, McGuire, Woods, Battle and Boothe, One James Center, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Member, effective February 1, 1995, to serve for a term of four years, ending January 31, 1999, to succeed Leonard R. Strelitz:

Robert H. Vakos, Hotel Administrator, Colonial Inn, Incorporated, 2809 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23451, Member, effective February 1, 1995, to serve for a term of four years, ending January 31, 1999, to succeed Claudia A. Whitworth; and

Corey D. Walker, Eastern Regional Office, State Farm Insurance, 1500 State Farm Boulevard, Charlottesville, Virginia 22909, Member, effective February 1, 1995, to serve for a term of four years, ending January 31, 1999, to succeed Judith C. Anderson.

# **Board of Visitors, Old Dominion University:**

Charles R. Chandler, Virginia Fiber Corporation, Post Office Box 339, Amherst, Virginia 24521, Member, effective January 18, 1995, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1995, to succeed Jack O. LeFlore, resigned.

**Workforce 2000 Advocacy Council:** 

Scott C. Baker, Intelligent Decisions, Incorporated, 14121 Parke Long Court, Chantilly, Virginia 22021, Member, effective January 20, 1995, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Alan L. Wurtzel; and

Corey D. Walker, Eastern Regional Office, State Farm Insurance, 1500 State Farm Boulevard, Charlottesville, Virginia 22909, Member, effective January 18, 1995, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed K. Scott Reynolds, resigned.