## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 248**

Confirming appointments by the Governor related to the Secretariat of Administration.

Agreed to by the Senate, February 2, 1995 Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 8, 1995

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly confirm the following interim appointments made by Governor George Allen related to the Secretariat of Administration and communicated to the General Assembly by his letter dated January 6, 1995:

**Council on Human Rights:** 

Cesar A. Orantes, 8907 Battery Road, Alexandria, Virginia 22308-2805, Member, effective October 3, 1994, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1995, to succeed Marcia K. Jay, resigned; and

**Sophia Yikhwa Parker**, 2042 North Kensington Street, **Arlington**, Virginia 22205, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1995, to succeed C. Douglas Adams, resigned.

**State Insurance Advisory Board:** 

**E. Dana Dickens III**, Post Office Box 6150, **Suffolk**, Virginia 23433, Member, effective October 3, 1994, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1995, to succeed Robert W. Esenberg, resigned.

**Board of Trustees, Virginia War Memorial Foundation:** 

**Anna Mae Hays**, Apartment 830, 1200 North Nash Street, **Arlington**, Virginia 22209-3615, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve for an unexpired term, ending June 30, 1997, to succeed Mary A. Hallaren, resigned.

Virginia Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations:

**David R. Gehr**, Commissioner, Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Richard N. Burton;

**Thomas L. Hopkins**, Deputy Secretary of Natural Resources, 733 Ninth Street Office Building, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed May H. Fox;

**Donald C. Williams**, Director, Department of General Services, 209 Ninth Street Office Building, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Oscar K. Mabry; and

**Leonidas B. Young**, Mayor, City of Richmond, City Hall, Room 201, 900 East Broad Street, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve for an unexpired term, ending December 31, 1997, to succeed Joan W. MacCallum, resigned.

**Virginia Equal Employment Opportunity Council:** 

**Joseph E. Broadus**, HC75, Box 169A, **Locust Grove**, Virginia 22508, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Daryl C. Dance;

**Ed Brooks**, Route 1, Box 205B, **Esmont**, Virginia 22937, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Fred T. Hadeed;

**Dolores M. Carrington**, 12305 Darton Circle, **Midlothian**, Virginia 23113, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Hortense Hinton;

**Joseph E. Gillespie, Jr.**, Post Office Box 923, 837 Center Street, **Lebanon**, Virginia 24266, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Neila L. Gunter;

**Sally Maria Holmes**, 6111 Salem Run Road, **Charles City**, Virginia 23030, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed John L. Ashby;

**Randolph C. Kendall, Jr.**, Urban League of Greater Richmond, Incorporated, 101 East Clay Street, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Jeffrey J. Beaton;

**Charles K. Klein**, 15 Blacksmithe Lane, **Newport News**, Virginia 23602, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Russell N. Axsom;

**Roxie R. Kornegay**, 1508 Confederate Avenue, **Richmond**, Virginia 23227, Chair, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Maple R. Anderson;

**Janice S. Lacy**, 3027 Moss Side Avenue, **Richmond**, Virginia 23223, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Cynthia E. Dodge;

**Daniel R. Lloyd**, 118 Azalea Drive, **Charlottesville**, Virginia 22903, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Mary Willie;

Julie Ho Rao, 1714 Great Falls Street, McLean, Virginia 22101, Member, effective November 4,

1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Alma Fitzgerald;

**Jose R. Santaballa**, 931 Jaysmith Street, **Great Falls**, Virginia 22066, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Brenda H. Johnson;

**Richard L. Settle**, Route 1, Box 559, **Lebanon**, Virginia 24266, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Judith H. Jones;

**Ronald Asuncion Villanueva**, 5408 Wallingford Arch, **Virginia Beach**, Virginia 23464, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed W. Leo Saddler;

**Ling V. Wong**, 4221 Minstrell Lane, **Fairfax**, Virginia 22033, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Susan L. Morgan; and

**Joseph T. Young**, 13101 Carriage Pond Court, **Richmond**, Virginia 23233, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Ralph C. Price.

## **Laboratory Services Advisory Board:**

**Harry P. Dalton, Ph.D.**, 9500 Tuxford Road, **Richmond**, Virginia 23236, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself;

**Andrew S. Gordon**, Department of Biological Sciences, Old Dominion University, **Norfolk**, Virginia 23529, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor;

**Paul G. Griffin**, 1916 Hickoryridge Road, **Richmond**, Virginia 23233, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed A. Edwin Martin, Ph.D.;

**Thomas V. Van Auken**, 9635 Iredell Road, **Richmond**, Virginia 23235-2837, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed Allen T. Eaton III; and

**Robert K. Yu**, 306 Keswick Lane, **Richmond**, Virginia 23229-7660, Member, effective November 4, 1994, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

## **Commission on Local Government:**

**James J. Heston**, Route 1, Box 388, **Kinsdale**, Virginia 22488, Member, effective January 1, 1995, to serve for a term of five years, ending December 31, 1999, to succeed Mary S. Holt.

## Virginia Public Telecommunications Board:

**John W. Hunter**, 1903 Wintergreen Court, **Reston**, Virginia 22091, Member, effective January 1, 1995, to serve for a term of four years, ending December 31, 1998, to succeed Robert R. Spillane;

**John P. Lewis**, 719 Armstrong Place, **Winchester**, Virginia 22601, Chairman, effective January 1, 1995, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, to succeed himself; and

**S. Strother Smith III**, 24040 Watauga Road, **Abingdon**, Virginia 24210, Member, effective January 1, 1995, to serve for a term of four years, ending December 31, 1998, to succeed Edwin B. J. Whitmore III.