LD5491308

1

9

10

11 12

13 14

15 16

17

18

19 20

21

22 23

24 25

26

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 723

Offered February 22, 1995

Commending the Morgan-McClure racing team.

Patrons—Johnson; Senators: Reasor and Wampler

Consent to introduce

WHEREAS, on February 19, 1995, the Morgan-McClure racing team, based in Abingdon, won NASCAR's biggest and most prestigious race, the Daytona 500; and

WHEREAS, the victory by the Morgan-McClure team, including driver Sterling Marlin, was the second consecutive Daytona 500 win; and

WHEREAS, the Morgan-McClure team also won the 1991 Daytona 500, with driver Ernie Irvan, giving the Abingdon team three Daytona 500 titles in the past five years; and

WHEREAS, with a superbly prepared race car, including a powerful engine built by Runt Pittman, Sterling Marlin was once again well-equipped to withstand the challenges of the biggest names in NASCAR racing; and

WHEREAS, relying on his driving skills, and the unmatched support of the Morgan-McClure team, Sterling Marlin held off the final challenge of 1994 Winston Cup champion Dale Earnhardt to join an elite group of only two other drivers who have won consecutive Daytona 500 races; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly salute the Morgan-McClure racing team of Abingdon on its triumphant performance in the 1995 Daytona 500; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Larry McClure in honor of the Morgan-McClure racing team's dominance in the Daytona 500 race.