8/26/22 18:56

LD5379468

LD3313400

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 414

Offered January 11, 1995

Commending the Roanoke Catholic High School football team.

Patrons—Thomas, Cranwell, Griffith and Woodrum; Senators: Bell and Trumbo

WHEREAS, outstanding athletic performance warrants both recognition and praise; and

WHEREAS, the 1994 football team from Roanoke Catholic High School, by demonstrating extraordinary team spirit, courage, discipline, and good sportsmanship, captured the hearts of many fans throughout the Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, only two years after ending a 26-game losing streak, the Celtics from Roanoke Catholic capped an undefeated season by winning the Virginia Independent Conference Championship with a 13-0 victory over Broadwater Academy; and

WHEREAS, the Celtics, who finished with an unblemished 12-0 record, won the first state football championship in the 103-year history of Roanoke Catholic High School; and

WHEREAS, the Celtics won the title with only 23 players—Kendall Selfe, Chris Roberts, Rod Tasco, Tony Joyce, Cameron Blount, Bill Massello, P. J. Moyer, Philip Buchy, Travis Shepard, Marshall Glass, Mark Buchy, Amaury Medeiros, Demond Lark, Ryan McFadden, Beau King, Kevin Duddy, Chuck Gilliland, Chris Coulter, Jon Gagliardi, Jon Vax, Michael Jackson, Dan Jones, and P. L. Bratton—10 of whom played both offense and defense; and

WHEREAS, the Celtics' offense scored a school-record 357 points during the season, and the defense yielded only 50, while shutting out five opponents; and

WHEREAS, the Celtics were blessed with an outstanding coaching staff, led by Head Coach John Cooke, who was named Virginia Independent Conference Coach of the Year, Virginia Independent Schools Division I Coach of the Year, and Timesland Coach of the Year, and who was assisted by Paul Moyer, Dan Lee, Jeff Dickerson, Rob Lavelle, and graduate assistant Kevin Selfe; and

WHEREAS, the players, the coaching staff, and the students, parents, faculty, and community supporters of the Roanoke Catholic Celtics football team all contributed to the 1994 championship season; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend and congratulate the Roanoke Catholic High School football team on its first state championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Head Coach John Cooke in honor of the triumphant 1994 season of the Celtics of Roanoke Catholic High School.