## 23104319D HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 289

Offered February 7, 2023

Commending Seth Gillen.

Patrons—Hodges and Wachsmann

WHEREAS, Seth Gillen, a doctor of pharmacy degree candidate in the Class of 2023 at the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy, received the 2022 Harvey B. Morgan Award for Advancing Health Policy from the Harvey B. Morgan Institute of Government and Public Service in August 2022; and

WHEREAS, Seth Gillen has demonstrated exceptional service and commitment to public policy by leading the Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) School of Pharmacy's chapter of the American Pharmacists Association's Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) as policy vice president; and

WHEREAS, Seth Gillen's service with the APhA-ASP included cowriting and presenting a policy resolution at the organization's Midyear Regional Meeting, as well as regularly informing chapter members of current policy topics in pharmacy, providing resources to colleagues, and advocating for federal issues; and

WHEREAS, Seth Gillen has advocated for pharmacy-related bills before the General Assembly and has served as the VCU School of Pharmacy Class of 2023's representative to the Industry Pharmacists Organization; and

WHEREAS, in recognition of his service and achievements, Seth Gillen was the recipient of the 2021-­2022 H. Remington Slifka Scholarship from the VCU School of Pharmacy; and

WHEREAS, Seth Gillen has participated in numerous community vaccination clinics, including those at community pharmacies and through VCU Vaccine Corps, and given generously of his time with Feed More, Inc.; and

WHEREAS, Seth Gillen has volunteered his services at Legacy Farm's summer camp in Richmond and Blossom and Bloom Thrift Shop and Loudoun Volunteer Caregivers, both in Leesburg; and

WHEREAS, Seth Gillen exemplifies the ideals of the pharmacy profession, the Harvey B. Morgan Institute of Government and Public Service, and the VCU School of Pharmacy; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That Seth Gillen hereby be commended on receiving the 2022 Harvey B. Morgan Award for Advancing Health Policy from the Harvey B. Morgan Institute of Government and Public Service; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Seth Gillen as an expression of the House of Delegates' congratulations and best wishes for his continued success in public service and public policy for patient care.