## 23104380D

**9** 

## **HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 286**

Offered February 1, 2023

Commending the University of Lynchburg.

Patrons—Walker and Byron

WHEREAS, the University of Lynchburg, a renowned institution of higher education and one of the first coeducational colleges in the Commonwealth, celebrates its 120th anniversary in 2023; and

WHEREAS, the University of Lynchburg was founded as Virginia Christian College in 1903 by Dr. Josephus Hopwood, a pioneer in Christian coeducation, with support from ministers and businessmen of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ); and

WHEREAS, Virginia Christian College was renamed Lynchburg College in 1919 to represent the school's growing constituency and was later renamed again to the University of Lynchburg in 2018; and

WHEREAS, the University of Lynchburg and its founding building, Westover Hall, were established in the former West Lynchburg Inn, with the resort's facilities being converted to serve the needs of students and faculty; and

WHEREAS, for 67 years, Westover Hall was the heart of the University of Lynchburg, providing dining services, health services, administrative offices, student activities facilities, and even a gymnasium; and

WHEREAS, the University of Lynchburg underwent its first expansion in 1909 with the construction of its Main Hall; the first academic building, later named Hopwood Hall; and Carnegie Hall, a men's residence hall; the university has since grown significantly, today boasting more than 40 buildings on its campus; and

WHEREAS, the University of Lynchburg opened with 55 students and 11 faculty members but grew rapidly over the years as a result of the popularity of coeducation; today, the school has 190 full-time faculty members teaching approximately 2,800 undergraduate and graduate students from around the country and the world; and

WHEREAS, the University of Lynchburg has embarked on several worthwhile initiatives to offer engaging educational experiences to its students, including the Claytor Nature Study Center, a 470-acre outdoor classroom for environmental study in nearby Bedford County, and partnerships with the island nation of St. Lucia and the Civil War site Historic Sandusky in Lynchburg; and

WHEREAS, in 2014, the University of Lynchburg captured the first team national championship in school history when the women's soccer team won the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III championship; and

WHEREAS, through its commitment to both the liberal arts and the professional preparation of its students, the University of Lynchburg maintains the faith-based and enterprising spirit of its founder, Dr. Josephus Hopwood, helping thousands of students to achieve their academic dreams and succeed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That the University of Lynchburg hereby be commended on the occasion of its 120th anniversary; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Dr. Alison Morrison-Shetlar, president of the University of Lynchburg, as an expression of the House of Delegates' admiration for the school's history and best wishes for its continued success.