2023 SESSION

INTRODUCED

HJ836

23107106D **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 836** 1 2 Offered February 20, 2023 3 Commending the Mid-Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. 4 Patrons-Sewell and Price: Senator: Locke 5 6 WHEREAS, the Mid-Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., has provided 7 opportunities for leadership and generous outreach to members in the Commonwealth and North 8 Carolina for 70 years; and WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was founded at Howard University in 1908 and is the 9 oldest Greek-letter organization for African American women in the United States; and 10 WHEREAS, two founders of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority were born in Virginia; Joanna Berry 11 Shields was born in Catharpin and Lucy Diggs Slowe was born in Berryville; and 12 WHEREAS, another founder of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Marjorie Hill, taught at Lynchburg's 13 14 Morgan College, a satellite of Morgan State University, a historically Black university; and 15 WHEREAS, the Mid-Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is one of 10 regions that have been established according to geographical location and population density to effectively and efficiently 16 govern the more than 900 chapters that are affiliated with the sorority; and 17 WHEREAS, since a regional realignment in 1953, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority chapters in the 18 19 Commonwealth and North Carolina have been under the purview of the Mid-Atlantic Region; and 20 WHEREAS, the first director of the Mid-Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha was Dr. Rose Butler 21 Browne, who led the chapters under her stewardship with great determination and compassion; and 22 WHEREAS, the first conference of the Mid-Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha was held in 23 Newport News with the Lambda Omega chapter serving as host; and 24 WHEREAS, since 1953, the Mid-Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha has been guided by 19 25 regional directors and has seen the chartering of 130 chapters, including 82 graduate chapters and 48 undergraduate chapters; and 26 27 WHEREAS, four of the 31 women who have served in the position of national/international president 28 of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority are intricately connected to the Mid-Atlantic Region; and 29 WHEREAS, Pauline Sims Puryear, the fourth international president, chartered the Delta Omega 30 Chapter in Petersburg, the oldest graduate chapter in the Mid-Atlantic Region; and 31 WHEREAS, Dr. Dorothy Boulding Ferebee, the 10th international president, was born in Norfolk and was a noted civil rights and public health advocate who served as the medical director of the Mississippi 32 33 Health Project; and 34 WHEREAS, Arnetta G. Wallace, the 14th international president, was initiated at the Alpha Phi 35 Omega Chapter in Danville; and 36 WHEREAS, Janet Jones Ballard, the 22nd international president, was initiated at the Alpha Eta 37 Chapter at Virginia Union University and served as director of alumni affairs at both Virginia Union 38 University and Virginia State University; there is a monument on the campus of Virginia Union 39 University in her honor; and 40 WHEREAS, as a testament to the organization's impact, Dr. Norma S. White, the 25th international 41 president of Alpha Kappa Alpha, dubbed the Mid-Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha the "Marvelous Mid-Atlantic Region"; and 42 WHEREAS, members of the Mid-Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority are active in many 43 44 local civic and service organizations and serve as trusted mentors and leaders throughout their 45 communities; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby 46 47 commend the Mid-Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., on its 70-year legacy of service in the Commonwealth and North Carolina; and, be it 48 49 RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Nadine Vargas Stewart, director of the Mid-Atlantic Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha 50 51 Sorority, Inc., as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the organization's history and 52 its contributions to the Commonwealth.