HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 684

Commending the Saint Michael the Archangel Catholic High School football team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 15, 2023 Agreed to by the Senate, February 21, 2023

WHEREAS, the Saint Michael the Archangel Catholic High School football team won the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association Division III championship on November 18, 2022; and

WHEREAS, the Saint Michael the Archangel Catholic High School Warriors played the toughest schedule in all divisions of the Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association Division (VISAA) in 2022 and were so dominant in the postseason that all of their Division III opponents forfeited the playoffs, giving the Saint Michael Warriors their second football state title in three years; and

WHEREAS, the Saint Michael the Archangel Catholic High School is the smallest school in all of VISAA and played eight Division I teams in 2022, defeating six of them; the Saint Michael Warriors were the first team in the history of Division III to defeat six Division I opponents in one season; and

WHEREAS, Saint Michael's Melvin Spriggs was named the Division III State Player of the Year, racking up over 1,500 yards of offense and 20 touchdowns in nine games played, and accounting for 12 sacks and 45 tackles on defense; and

WHEREAS, sophomore 1st Team All-State quarterback Nahshon Wilson led the Saint Michael Warriors high-powered offense behind All-State offensive linemen Guan Price, Jordan Crawford, Barchie Hazelwood, Xavier Hernandez, and Adrian Fridie, with the support of All-State wide receivers Cam Attard and Donte Johnson, and All-State running backs Melvin Spriggs and Caleb Davis; and

WHEREAS, the Saint Michael Warriors defense, led by All-State linebackers Jeremiah Pugh and Jeremiah Crawford; All-State defensive backs Remington Moss and Donte Johnson; and All-State defensive linemen Josh Jackson, Barchie Hazelwood, Ethan Bissoon, Christian Hancock, Melvin Spriggs, and Sidney Coleman, were dominant throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, Alex Cruz, Elijah Hernandez, Tyler Gladden, Shawn Turner, Ky'Mani Carpenter, Erroll Washington, Deionte Johnson, Randall Annino, Carlos De Jesus Molina-Bruzual, Andreas Ferguson, Michael Matthews-Canty, Issiah Kelley, Sean James, Nigel Asamoah, All-State punter Aiden McReynolds, and All-State kicker Peter Knapp also made critical contributions to the victorious season; and

WHEREAS, the Saint Michael Warriors demonstrated a commitment to excellence on and off the field, and the team's year-round effort is an inspirational tribute to the high character and selflessness of this group of young men led by VISAA Division III Coach of the Year Hugh Brown; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Saint Michael the Archangel Catholic High School football team for winning the 2022 Virginia Independent Schools Athletic Association Division III championship; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Hugh Brown, head coach of the Saint Michael the Archangel Catholic High School football team, as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the team's achievements and best wishes for the future.