Department of Planning and Budget
2022 Fiscal Impact Statement

Bill Number: HB617
House of Origin Introduced O  Substitute O Engrossed
Second House O In Committee O Substitute O Enrolled

Patron: Bourne
. Committee: Courts of Justice

Title: Discretionary sentencing guidelines; prior convictions and juvenile
adjudications.

Summary: Provides that, for the purposes of the discretionary sentencing, previous
convictions shall not include (i) any adult conviction more than 10 years prior to the date of
the commission of the present offense, unless the prior adult conviction was for a violent
felony offense punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of 40 years or more, the
defendant was sentenced to an active prison term of more than 12 months for the offense, and
the defendant has committed another violent felony within a 15-year period between the date
of the defendant's sentencing for the prior offense and commission of the present offense and
(1) any juvenile adjudications of delinquency or any juvenile convictions, unless the juvenile
was tried as an adult and the conviction was for a violent felony offense punishable by a
maximum term of imprisonment of 40 years or more, the defendant was sentenced to an
active prison term of more than 12 months, and the date of offense was within the 10 years
preceding sentencing for the present offense.

The bill also provides that no juvenile adjudication of delinquency shall serve as evidence of
an element of a felony status offense or other offense or as the basis for sentencing
enhancement in an adult criminal case. A prior adult conviction and sentence shall not serve
as evidence of an element of a felony status offense or other offence, and may not serve as
the basis for a sentencing enhancement in an adult criminal case unless it meets the criteria
outlined in the bill.

Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes, Item 52.
Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary. See Item 8 below.

Fiscal Implications:.According to the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission (the
Commission), the proposed legislation would require the Commission to revamp the
Virginia’s Sentencing Guidelines manual, revise the automated (web-based) Sentencing
Guidelines application, and re-train thousands of Guidelines users around the
Commonwealth on the new rules for scoring prior records on the Guidelines worksheets. The
Commission last did a full manual reprint in 2020, at a cost of $22,318, and reprints are
typically done every three years. Additionally, the Commission pays the Department of
Judicial Information Technology (DJIT) every year to program the web-based Guidelines



application with the latest changes; it is unknown at this time if DJIT will increase the
amount they charge the Commission to make the changes required by the proposed
legislation. Additionally, the Commission would need to ensure Guidelines users statewide
are retrained to score prior records according to the rules proposed in the bill. The agency
estimates this will cost about $8,000, which is the amount needed for two trainers to conduct
four weeks of training.

Information from the Department of Corrections (DOC) is not available at this time to assess
fiscal impact on the agency’s operations. This impact statement will be updated when
information from DOC becomes available.

Any potential fiscal impact on local and regional jails is indeterminate at this time.

There is no anticipated fiscal impact on the Department of State Police (VSP), the
Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ), or the Courts as a result of the provisions of this bill,

according to those agencies.

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Department of State Police,
Department of Corrections, Department of Juvenile Justice, Courts, Local and regional jails.

10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No.

11. Other Comments: None.



