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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2022 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron James A. "Jay" Leftwich 2. Bill Number HB 1084 
  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Finance  X Introduced 
   Substitute 
    Engrossed 
4.  Title Local License Taxes; Limitation of Authority  
  Second House: 
   In Committee 
   Substitute 
   Enrolled 
 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would prohibit a locality from imposing a license tax on a director of a bank or 
trust company that is subject to the bank franchise tax. Under current law, localities that 
impose a Business Professional and Occupational License (BPOL) tax are prohibited from 
imposing such a tax on bank or trust company that is subject to the bank franchise tax. 
 
If enacted during the regular session of the 2022 General Assembly, this bill would 
become effective July 1, 2022. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  No. 
 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Not available.  (See Line 8.) 
 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs 
 
This bill could have an unknown impact on local administrative costs. This bill would have 
no impact on state administrative costs. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill could have an unknown impact on local revenues in localities that impose a 
BPOL tax. This bill would have no impact on state revenues. 
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
Localities that impose license taxes or fees 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No. 
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11. Other comments:   
 
Local License Taxes  
 
Under current law, localities that impose a Business Professional and Occupational 
License (BPOL) tax are prohibited from imposing such a tax on bank or trust company 
that is subject to the bank franchise tax. 
 
The BPOL tax is a tax on businesses for the privilege of engaging in business at a definite 
place of business within a Virginia locality. The BPOL tax is currently imposed in all 39 
cities, 48 of the 95 counties, and many of the towns of the Commonwealth. The measure 
or basis of the BPOL tax generally is the gross receipts of the business.  However, current 
law allows localities to assess the BPOL tax on either gross receipts or the Virginia 
taxable income of a business.  
 
Under current BPOL law, any locality may charge a license fee in an amount not to 
exceed: 
 

• $50 for any locality with a population of 25,000 or greater 
• $30 for any locality with a population smaller than 25,000 
 

The locality may not assess a license tax on gross receipts upon which it charges a 
license fee. Additionally, the locality may not impose a license tax on a business with 
gross receipts: 
 

• less than $100,000 in any locality with a population greater than 50,000 
• less than $50,000 in any locality with a population of 25,000 but no more than 

50,000. 
 

Any business with gross receipts in excess of these thresholds may be subject to license 
tax at a rate not to exceed the rates set forth below: 
 

• Contracting - sixteen cents per $100 of gross receipts 
• Retail sales - twenty cents per $100 of gross receipts 
• Financial, real estate and professional services - fifty eight cents per $100 of 

gross receipts 
• Repair, personal and business services, and all other businesses - thirty six 

cents per $100 of gross receipts. 
 
Bank Franchise Tax 
 
An annual Bank Franchise tax is imposed on a bank’s net capital at the rate of $1 per 
$100. Counties, cities and towns are authorized to impose a local Bank Franchise Tax on 
banks at an amount equal to 80 percent of the state tax. A credit against the state tax is 
allowed for these local taxes. Therefore, banks pay a total Bank Franchise Tax of $1 per 
$100 on their net capital, but it is effectively split 80 percent to localities and 20 percent to 
the state. 
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Proposal 
 
This bill would prohibit a locality from imposing a license tax on a director of a bank or 
trust company that is subject to the bank franchise tax. 
 
If enacted during the regular session of the 2022 General Assembly, this bill would 
become effective July 1, 2022. 
 
Similar Legislation 
 
Senate Bill 385 is identical to this bill.   
 
House Bill 380 would prohibit any county, city, or town from imposing any license tax or 
fee, other than any severance tax levied as a license tax, in any taxable year beginning on 
or after January 1, 2023.  
 
House Bill 698 would authorize localities to exempt any class of taxpayers from license 
taxes and fees. The bill provides that such exemption shall be made by general law and 
shall be uniform upon taxpayers operating in the same line of business or trade and that 
localities shall have discretion to determine the classes of taxpayers that shall be 
exempted. The bill does not apply to any severance tax that is levied as a license tax. 
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