2022 SESSION

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 270

Commending St. Andrew's Catholic Church.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 28, 2022 Agreed to by the Senate, March 3, 2022

WHEREAS, for 120 years, St. Andrew's Catholic Church has provided spiritual leadership, generous community outreach, and opportunities for worship in the Roman Catholic tradition to members of the Roanoke community; and

WHEREAS, St. Andrew's Catholic Church traces its roots to the early 1880s, when the Reverend John W. Lynch arrived in Roanoke to serve the growing Catholic community there; and

WHEREAS, a local land developer donated the two original plots where St. Andrew's Catholic Church was located and the congregation thrived, establishing a Sunday school program and the St. Vincent's Home orphanage for boys; and

WHEREAS, under Father Lynch's leadership, St. Andrew's Catholic Church dedicated its current church building in 1902; perched atop one of the highest points in Roanoke, the twin-spired design has been compared to notable French cathedrals and features 15 imported stained glass windows depicting Catholic saints; and

WHEREAS, in its early days, the St. Andrew's Catholic Church congregation was active in the community through the St. Andrew's Benevolent and Literary Society, Knights of Columbus, Ancient Order of Hibernians, Catholic Benevolent League, Guild of Our Lady of Ransom, and the Ladies' Aid Society; and

WHEREAS, though Father Lynch later relocated to a pastorate in North Carolina, his remains were returned to St. Andrew's Catholic Church after his death and he was ultimately interred in the church's mausoleum in recognition of his strong ties with the parish; and

WHEREAS, over the years, St. Andrew's Catholic Church benefited from the wise guidance of several other pastors, including the Reverend James E. Collins, the Reverend Joseph Frioli, the Reverend John A. Kelliher, the Reverend Thomas B. Martin, the Reverend John S. Igoe, Monsignor J. Louis Flaherty, the Reverend George J. Gormley, the Reverend William S. O'Brien, and the Reverend Carl J. Naro; and

WHEREAS, in 1990, the Reverend Steven J. Rule became pastor and led the church through a period of growth and transformation, overseeing a fundraising campaign that led to the construction of a social hall, a chapel, a music room, classrooms, and the mausoleum; and

WHEREAS, Father Rule was succeeded by Monsignor Thomas G. Miller, the Reverend Mark White, and the current pastor, the Reverend Kevin Segerblom, who joined the church in 2017; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend St. Andrew's Catholic Church on the occasion of its 120th anniversary; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to St. Andrew's Catholic Church as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the church's long history and contributions to the Roanoke community.