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1. Bill Number:   SB1406ES2 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Ebbin 
 
3.  Committee: Senate Finance and Appropriations 
 
4. Title: Legalization of simple possession of marijuana 
  
5. Summary:  The bill provides the following: 
 
It repeals the following sections of the Code of Virginia: 

● § 18.2-248.1, which establishes penalties for sale, gift, distribution, or possession 
with intent to sell, give, or distribute marijuana; 
● § 18.2-250.1, which establishes that the possession of marijuana is unlawful and 
assesses a $25 civil penalty for violations; 
● § 18.2-251.1, which permits possession or distribution of marijuana for medical 
purposes; and 
● § 19.2-389.3, which places limits on dissemination of criminal history record 
information, prohibits practices by employers, educational institutions, and state and local 
governments regarding marijuana possession and set penalties for violations 

 
It establishes a 20-member Cannabis Equity Reinvestment Board in the executive branch of state 
government, to be chaired by the Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion or his/her designee. 
The Board must be reimbursed for all reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the 
performance of their duties.  This provision becomes effective on July 1, 2021 (Enactment #5). 
 
The bill (§2.2-2499.4) establishes a Cannabis Equity Reinvestment Fund (Fund).  Moneys in the 
Fund must be used solely for the purposes of:  

• Making whole again families and communities historically and 

disproportionately targeted and affected by drug enforcement;  

• Providing scholarships for the historically marginalized population of 

youth, particularly in underserved communities, who have been adversely 

impacted by substance abuse individually or within their families or  

communities, including the experience of incarceration of a family member 

convicted of a marijuana offense;  

• Awarding grants to support workforce development, youth mentoring 

programs, job training and  placement efforts, and reentry services that serve 

persons residing in areas disproportionately impacted by  drug enforcement;  

• Contributing to the Virginia Indigent Defense Commission established 

pursuant to § 19.2-163.01; and  



The bill amends § 2.2-2818 related to health and related insurance for state employees and adds 
employees of the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority to the provisions.  It provides that the 
Office of the Attorney General may provide legal service in civil matters for members or 
employees of the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority (§2.2-507) 

The bill allows the Virginia Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) to establish 
a criteria for or a list of pesticides that may be used on cannabis cultivated, and amends the 
definitions of certain hemp-related terms (§3.2-4114). It requires the Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services to promulgate regulations to implement the provisions of this act by July 1, 
2022. 
 
The bill also allows the Commissioner of VDACS to charge a nonrefundable fee not to exceed 
$50 for any license, and requires the Commissioner to notify the Superintendent of State Police 
of the locations of all and hemp testing laboratories, and provide a copy of the license issued to 
the chief law-enforcement officer of the county or city where a hemp testing laboratory will be 
located (§3.2-4114.2). It requires the Commissioner to establish a licensure program to allow a 
laboratory to test industrial hemp or hemp products and to inspect each location at which the 
laboratory tests hemp. The bill requires that if the results of a test indicate that the tested hemp 
product exceeds the maximum level of allowable tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) or contamination 
for any contaminant for which testing is required, a hemp testing laboratory must, within 30  
days of completing the test, notify the Commissioner of the test results.  For each day any 
violation of this section occurs, the Commissioner may assess a penalty not to exceed: (i) $100 
for a first violation, (ii) $200 for a second violation, and (iii) $500 for a third or subsequent 
violation.  All penalties collected by the Commissioner pursuant to this subsection shall be 
deposited in the state treasury (§3.2-4117.1 and § 3.2-4117.2).   
 
The bill establishes requirements for testing, packaging, labeling, and advertising of hemp 
products: i) intended for smoking or ii) that is or includes an industrial hemp extract intended for 
human consumption distributed, offered for sale, or sold in the Commonwealth. For any 
violation of these requirements by a processor or by a retail establishment, the Commissioner 
may assess a penalty not to exceed: (i) $100 for a first violation, (ii) $200 for a second violation, 
and (iii) $500 for a third or subsequent violation (§3.2-4122). 
 
The legislation requires a processor to destroy the batch of hemp product intended for smoking 
or consumption whose testing sample exceeds the maximum level of allowable contamination 
for each contaminant established unless remedial measures can bring the hemp product into 
compliance with such regulation.  Penalties for violating this subsection by a processor, is a fine 
not to exceed: (a) $100 for a first violation, (b) $200 for a second violation, and (c) $500 for a 
third or subsequent violation. All penalties collected by the Commissioner pursuant to this 
subsection must be deposited in the state treasury.  
 
The bill defines “Edible Marijuana Products” and requires the adoption of regulation by 
VDACS, and amends Title 4.1 to Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis and adds Subtitle I, 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Act expanding the definitions under the Act. It creates Chapter 6 
(Subtitle II) and defines marijuana to mean any part of a plant of the genus Cannabis, whether 
growing or not, its seeds or resin; and every compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or 
preparation of such plant, its seeds, its resin, or any extract containing one or more cannabinoids. 



It also defines “Special agent" to mean an employee of the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority 
whom the Board has designated as a law-enforcement officer. 
 
The bill (§4.1-601) creates the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority as an independent political 
subdivision of the Commonwealth, exclusive of the legislative, executive, or judicial branches of 
state government. The bill outlines the responsibilities of the Board of Directors of the Authority. 
The Virginia Cannabis Control Authority consists of the Virginia Cannabis Board of Directors, 
the Chief Executive Officer, and the agents and employees of the Authority (§4.1-602). This 
provision is effective on July 1, 2021 (Enactment #5). 
 
The Chief Executive Officer has the authority (§4.1-602) to establish a 9 member Cannabis 
Public Health Advisory Board (Advisory Board) to assist the Authority in the development and 
operation of the statutory and regulatory  programs governing the sale and use of cannabis. 
 
The bill also establishes a 21-member Cannabis Public Health Advisory Council (Advisory 
Council) as an advisory council to the Cannabis Control Authority Board of Directors for the 
purpose of assessing and monitoring public health issues, and trends, related to marijuana and 
marijuana legalization, and making recommendations regarding health warnings, retail 
marijuana, and retail marijuana products safety and product composition, and public health 
awareness, programming, and related resource needs (§4.1-603). This provision is effective on 
July 1, 2021 (Enactment #5). 
 
The bill establishes powers and duties of the Cannabis Control Authority Board of Directors, 
which include, among other items, it provides that the Board of Directors will have the power, 
among other things, to fix, alter, charge, and collect rates, rentals, fees, and other charges for the 
use of property of, the sale of products of, or services rendered by the Authority at rates to be 
determined by the Authority for the purpose of providing for the payment of the expenses of the 
Authority. The Board of Directors also has the power to establish a position for a Cannabis 
Social Equity Liaison to  lead the Cannabis Business Equity and Diversity Support Team and 
liaise with the Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, and establish a Cannabis Business 
Equity and Diversity Support Team  (§4.1-604). The office of the Attorney General is to provide 
legal services for the Authority.  
 
The Authority has power to, at its discretion, consultants, researchers, architects, engineers, 
accountants, financial experts, investment bankers, superintendents, managers, and other 
employees and special agents and fix their compensation to be payable from funds made 
available to the Authority. The Board is also authorized to assess and collect civil penalties and 
civil charges for violations of this subtitle and Board regulations and establish and collect fees 
for all permits. The bill requires the Attorney General to provide legal services for the Authority.  
This provision is effective on July 1, 2021 (Enactment #5). 
 
The bill also creates § 4.1-606, concerning regulations of the Board, and the types of regulations 
it may promulgate, including the establishment of criteria by which to evaluate social equity 
license applicants. It limits the number of licenses issued by type or class to operate a marijuana 
establishment; however, the Board cannot not limit the number of Class B marijuana cultivation 
facility licenses issued. It provides that the Authority be governed by Board of Directors who 



shall receive annual salary, compensation, and reimbursement of expenses (§ 4.1-607), and for 
the appointment, salary, and powers of the Board’s Chief Executive Officer, who must  be 
appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the General Assembly (§ 4.1-608).  

The bill provides (§ 4.1-613) a process by which the Board must handle any money collected; 
and provides under (§ 4.1-614) what constitutes an Enterprise Fund for the payment of the 
salaries and remuneration of the members, agents, and employees of the Board and all costs and 
expenses incurred by the administration of the Board. 

All moneys collected by the Board must be paid directly and promptly into the state treasury, or 
be deposited to the credit of the State Treasurer in a state depository, without any deductions on 
account of salaries, fees, costs, charges, expenses, refunds or claims of any description.  All 
moneys so paid into the state treasury, less the net profits determined, must be set aside as and 
constitute an Enterprise Fund, subject to appropriation, for the payment of: (i) the salaries and 
remuneration of the members, agents, and employees of the Board and (ii) all costs and expenses 
incurred in the administration. The net profits shall be transferred by the Comptroller to the 
general fund of the state treasury quarterly, within 50 days after the close of each quarter or as 
otherwise provided in the appropriation act. 
 
As allowed by the Governor, the Board may deduct from the net profits quarterly a sum for the 
creation of a reserve fund not exceeding the sum of $2.5 million in connection with the 
administration of this subtitle and to provide for the depreciation on the buildings, plants, and 
equipment owned, held, or operated by the Board. After accounting for the Authority's expenses 
net profits shall be appropriated in the general appropriation act as follows:   

• Forty percent to pre-kindergarten programs for at-risk three-year-olds and four-year-

olds;   

• Thirty percent to the Cannabis Equity Reinvestment Fund established pursuant to § 

2.2-2499.4;   

• Twenty-five percent to substance use disorder prevention and treatment programs; 

and   

• Five percent to public health programs. 

"Net profits" means the total of all moneys collected by the Board, less local marijuana tax 
revenues collected under § 4.1-1003 and distributed pursuant to § 4.1-614 and all costs, 
expenses, and charges authorized by this section. 
 
All local tax revenues collected must be paid into the state treasury and credited to a special 
fund, titled “Collections of Local Marijuana Taxes." The revenues must be credited to the 
account of the locality in which they were collected. If revenues were collected from a marijuana 
establishment located in more than one locality by reason of the boundary line or lines passing 
through the marijuana establishment, tax revenues shall be distributed pro rata among the 
localities. 
 
The Authority is required to provide to the Comptroller any records and assistance necessary for 
the Comptroller to determine the locality to which tax revenues are attributable. On a quarterly 
basis, the Comptroller shall draw his warrant on the Treasurer of Virginia in the proper amount 



in favor of each locality entitled to the return of its tax revenues, and such payments shall be 
charged to the account of each such locality under the special fund created for this purpose. If 
errors are made in any such payment, or adjustments are otherwise necessary, whether 
attributable to refunds to taxpayers, or to some other fact, the errors shall be corrected and 
adjustments made in the payments for the next quarter. 
 
The Authority is exempted from personnel and procurement procedures, information systems (§ 
4.1-617); employees of the Authority are to be considered employees of the Commonwealth. 
Employees are eligible for membership in the Virginia Retirement System or other retirement 
plan as authorized by law, and participation in all health and related insurance and other benefits, 
including premium conversion and flexible benefits, available to state employees as provided by 
law (§ 4.1-623).  It provides for police power of members, agents, and employees of the Board (§ 
4.1-624). It provides for local referendum to prevent establishment of retail marijuana stores. (§ 
4.1-629 through § 4.1-631). 
 
Localities are prohibited from adopting any ordinance or resolution that  regulates or prohibits 
the cultivation, manufacture, possession, sale, wholesale distribution, handling, transportation, 
consumption, use, advertising, or dispensing of retail marijuana or retail marijuana products in 
the Commonwealth (§ 4.1-632), with some exceptions. 
 
To ensure that no retail marijuana or retail marijuana products grown or processed by a 
marijuana establishment are sold or otherwise transferred except as authorized by law, the Board 
must develop and maintain a seed-to-sale tracking system that tracks retail marijuana from either 
the seed or immature plant stage until the retail marijuana or retail marijuana product is sold to a 
customer at a retail marijuana store (§ 4.1-611).  
 
The Board may issue, including marijuana cultivation facility licenses (§ 4.1-800), marijuana 
manufacturing facility licenses (§ 4.1-801), marijuana testing facility licenses (§ 4.1-802), 
marijuana wholesaler licenses (§ 4.1-803), and retail marijuana store licenses (§ 4.1-804). It 
provides a process for multiple licenses and any person who wishes to possess a license in more 
than one license category must pay a $1 million fee to the Board. The Board must allocate such 
fees to the following: (i) the Virginia Cannabis Equity Loan Fund, (ii) the Virginia Cannabis 
Equity Reinvestment Fund, or (iii) a program, as determined by the Board, which provides job 
training services to persons recently incarcerated (§ 4.1-809). 
 
The remainder of the section concerns the provision of such licenses, including instances in 
which the Board may refuse such licenses (§ 4.1-809 and § 4.1-810). Section 4.1-900 provides 
grounds for which the Board may suspend or revoke licenses, summary suspension in emergency 
circumstances, including duties to provide notice and to hold a hearing (§ 4.1-901), and to 
impose civil penalties (§ 4.1-903). In suspending any license, the Board may impose and collect 
such civil penalties as it deems appropriate.  

The civil penalties cannot exceed $2,000 for the first violation occurring within five years 
immediately preceding the date of the violation or $5,000 for the second or subsequent violation 
occurring within five years immediately preceding the date of the second or subsequent 
violation. However, if the violation involved selling retail marijuana or retail marijuana  products 
to a person prohibited from purchasing retail marijuana or retail marijuana products the Board 



may impose a civil penalty not to  exceed $3,000 for the first violation occurring within five 
years immediately preceding the date of the violation and $6,000 for a second or subsequent 
violation occurring within five years immediately preceding the date of  the second or 
subsequent violation in lieu of such suspension or any portion thereof, or both.  

The Board may also impose a requirement that the licensee pay for the cost incurred by the 
Board not exceeding $25,000 in investigating the licensee and in holding the proceeding 
resulting in the violation in addition to any suspension or civil penalty incurred. It also 
establishes civil penalties (§4.1-702) for licensees who fail to pay the required license fee in a 
timely manner and the moneys are to be deposited into the state treasury. 
 
Section 4.1-1003 establishes the marijuana tax, which would be levied on the sale of any retail 
marijuana, retail marijuana products, paraphernalia, non-retail marijuana, and non-retail marijuana 
products at the rate of 21 percent, and provides for exceptions to this tax. The tax shall be in 
addition to any tax imposed under Chapter 6 (§ 58.1-600 et seq.) or any other provision of federal, 
state, or local law.  The tax shall not apply to any sale:   

• From a marijuana establishment to another marijuana establishment.  

• Of cannabis oil for treatment under the provisions of § 54.1-3408.3.  

• Of industrial hemp by a grower, processor, or dealer.  

• Of industrial hemp extract or food containing an industrial hemp extract. 

Revenues remitted to the Authority must be disposed of as provided in § 4.1-614.The bill also 
provides for an optional local marijuana tax (§ 4.1-1004). Specifically, it provides that any 
locality may by ordinance levy a three percent tax on any sale taxable under § 4.1-1003. The tax 
is  in addition to any local sales tax imposed under Chapter 6 (§ 58.1-600 et seq.) of Title 58.1, 
any food and beverage tax imposed under Article 7.1 (§ 58.1-3833 et seq.) of Chapter 38 of Title 
58.1, and any excise tax imposed on meals under § 58.1-3840.  Other than the taxes authorized 
and identified in this subsection, a locality cannot impose any other tax on a sale taxable under § 
4.1-1003. 
 
If a town imposes a tax under this section, any tax imposed by its surrounding county under this 
section does not apply within the limits of the town. Additionally, localities are not prohibited 
from imposing any tax authorized by law on a person or property regulated under this subtitle. 
However, localities can impose a license or privilege tax or fee on a business engaged in whole 
or in part in sales taxable under § 4.1-1003 if such tax or fee is (i) based on an annual or per-
event flat fee authorized by law or (ii) is an annual license or privilege tax authorized by law, and 
such tax includes sales or receipts taxable under § 4.1-1003 in its taxable measure. 
 
Any locality that enacts an ordinance pursuant to this section, has to, within 30 days, notify the 
Authority and any retail marijuana store in such locality of the ordinance's enactment. The 
ordinance must take effect on the first day of the second month following its enactment.  
 
Tax levied under this section must be administered and collected by the Authority in the same 
manner as provided for the tax imposed under § 4.1-1003.  Revenues remitted to the Authority 
under this section shall be disposed of as provided in § 4.1-614. 
 



It further establishes the Virginia Cannabis Equity Business Loan Program and Fund. The 
Program must provide low interest and zero-interest loans to qualified social equity qualified 
cannabis in order to foster business ownership and economic growth within communities that 
have been the most disproportionately impacted by the former prohibition of cannabis. (§4.1-
1501). The Authority must select and work in collaboration with a community development 
financial institution (CDFI) to assist in administering the Program.   
 
The bill establishes a legal age of 21 for individuals to lawfully possess not more than one ounce 
of marijuana or an equivalent amount of marijuana product (§ 4.1-1100). Possessing marijuana 
or marijuana products in excess of one ounce is punishable by a civil penalty of no more than 
$25, which must be deposited into the Drug Offender Assessment and Treatment Fund. Persons 
who possess more than five pounds of marijuana or an equivalent amount of marijuana product, 
with the exception of licensees performing their duties, law enforcement officers, jail officers, or 
correctional officers who are certified drug detection dog handlers, are guilty of a felony 
punishable by a term of imprisonment of between one and ten years, and a fine of not more than 
$250,000, or both. 

The bill provides that persons who are 21 years of age or older may cultivate up to two mature 
marijuana plants and two immature marijuana plants for personal use at their place of residence 
(§ 4.1-1101). It also creates Class 6 felony for any person who cultivates or manufactures 
marijuana or marijuana products in the Commonwealth without being licensed to cultivate or 
manufacture such marijuana or marijuana products and for persons who conspire together to 
violate this section (§4.1-1102).  If any person who is not licensed sells, gives, or distributes any 
marijuana or marijuana products he is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent 
conviction under this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor (§ 4.1-1103); there are penalties for 
selling marijuana or marijuana products to any person under the age of 21 and provides a 
criminal penalty (§4.1-1104).  It creates § 4.1-1105, concerning instances in which the purchase 
of marijuana or marijuana  products is considered unlawful and provides for a civil penalty of  
$250 for the consumption, purchase, possession, or attempt to do so of marijuana by persons 
under 18 years of age, a second offense is punishable as a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Section 4.1-1106 sets forth penalties, forfeitures  for purchasing retail marijuana or retail 
marijuana products for one to whom they should not be sold to, and § 4.1-1107 provides penalty 
for using or consuming marijuana or marijuana products while in a motor vehicle being driven 
upon a public highway. Additionally, §4.1-1108 through §4.1-1120 provides for criminal and 
civil penalties for various violations of Chapter 11 (Possession of Retail Marijuana and Retail 
Marijuana products).  
  
Additionally, as a term or condition a court must require the person to undergo a substance abuse 
assessment and enter a treatment or an education program provided by  a program licensed by 
the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, or a similar program that is 
made available through the Department of Corrections; a local community-based probation 
services agency established pursuant to § 9.1-174; or  an alcohol safety action program (ASAP) 
certified by the Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP).  Chapter 
12 outlines the penalties for prohibited practices by licensees, including illegal cultivation of 
marijuana or marijuana products by licensees (§4.1-1105). 
 



It amends 16.1-69.48:1. (Fixed fee for misdemeanors, traffic infractions and other violations in 
district court; additional fees to be added) and adds the newly created §4.1-1105, §4.1-1120.  
Additionally, any person who has been sentenced to jail or to the Department of Corrections for 
a marijuana offense, with some exceptions, may, at any time before the sentence has been 
completely served, file a motion with the court that heard the case for a resentencing hearing. If 
it appears compatible with the public interest and there are circumstances in mitigation of the 
offense, including the legalization of marijuana, such court may reduce, suspend or otherwise 
modify such person's sentence at any time before such person's sentence has been completely 
served. The petitioner is entitled to counsel if he claims to be indigent. 
 
It amends § 19.2-392.2, concerning the expungement of police and court records. It provides that 
a person who is convicted or adjudicated delinquent of a felony violation of former § 18.2-250.1 
or such charged is deferred and dismissed,  all court costs and fines and all orders of restitution 
have been satisfied, and  five years have passed since the date of completion of all terms of 
sentencing and probation; or  the person is convicted or adjudicated delinquent of a violation of 
former  § 18.2-248.1 or a violation of subsection A of § 18.2-265.3 as it relates to marijuana, or 
is charged under either section and the charge is deferred and dismissed, all court costs and fines 
and all orders of restitution have  been satisfied, and  five years have passed since the date of 
completion of all terms of sentencing and  probation, he may file a petition setting forth the 
relevant facts and requesting expungement of the police  records and the court records relating to 
the arrest, charge, conviction, adjudication, or civil offense. 
 
It also establishes §19.2-392.2:1, which provides that all records relating to the arrest, criminal 
charge, conviction, or civil offense of a person for a misdemeanor violation of former § 18.2-
248.1, or a violation of former § 18.2-250.1, including any violation charged under either section 
and the charge was deferred and dismissed, shall be expunged no later than (i) July 1, 2022, or 
(ii) if, on July 1, 2022, the person who is the subject of the arrest, criminal charge, conviction, or 
civil offense  has not completed all terms of sentencing and probation, including satisfaction of 
all court costs and fines and all orders of restitution, three months after the date of completion of 
all terms of sentencing and probation. 
 
Any juvenile who consumes, purchases, or possesses, or attempts to consume, purchase, or 
possess, any marijuana or marijuana is subject to a civil penalty of no more than $200 for a first 
offense. The bill provides that juvenile offenders must be required to enter substance abuse 
treatment or education programs licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS), if available. Second and subsequent violations of this section 
by juveniles are punishable as a Class 3 misdemeanor, and require substance abuse treatment or 
education programming. Civil penalties collected pursuant to this section must be deposited into 
the Drug Offender Assessment and Treatment Fund.     
                                                         
The bill provides for a process by which the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must expunge 
any convictions in its possession.   
  
Additionally, the proposed legislation provides that it is unlawful under § 46.2-341.20:7 for any 
person to knowingly or intentionally possess marijuana or marijuana oil in a commercial motor 
vehicle, unless it was obtained directly from or pursuant to a valid prescription or order of a 



practitioner, or as otherwise authorized in the Federal Drug Control Act. Violations are punishable 
by a civil penalty of no more than $25. 

The bill provides the following enactments:  

• Enactment clause #4 provides that, except as provided in the fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, 
ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth,  thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth, sixteenth, eighteenth, 
nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first enactments  of this act, the provisions of this act 
shall become effective on January 1, 2023 

• Enactment clause #5 provides that the provisions of Article 29 (§ 2.2-2499.1 et seq.) of 
Chapter 24 of Title 2.2, §§ 4.1-601 through 4.1-633, 15.2-1627, 16.1-228, Article 1.4 (§ 
18.2-265.22 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2, § 19.2-392.2, except clause (v) of 
subsection A, and § 46.2-341.20:7 of the Code of Virginia, as created by this act, shall 
become effective on July 1, 2021. 

• Enactment clause #6 provides that the Board of Directors of the Virginia Cannabis 
Control Authority must promulgate regulations to implement the provision of this act by 
July 1, 2023 and provides the process for such promulgation.  

• Enactment clause #7 provides that the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority (the 
Authority) may start accepting applications for licenses under this act on July 1, 2023, 
and shall, from July 1, 2023, until December 31, 2023, give preference to qualified social 
equity applicants, as determined by regulations promulgated by the Board of Directors of 
the Authority in accordance with this act. The Authority may issue any license 
authorized by this act to any applicant who meets the requirements for licensure 
established by this act and by any regulations promulgated by the Board of Directors of 
the Authority in accordance with this act. Notwithstanding the fourth enactment of this 
act, any applicant issued a license by the Authority may operate in accordance with the 
provisions of this act prior to January 1, 2024; however, no retail  marijuana store 
licensee may sell retail marijuana or retail marijuana products to a consumer prior to  
January 1, 2024. If a limit is placed on the number of licenses to be granted pursuant to 
this act, the  Authority shall (i) from July 1, 2023, to July 1, 2028, reserve a license slot 
for a qualified social equity  applicant for every license that was initially granted to a 
social equity applicant and was subsequently  surrendered; and (ii) reserve license slots 
for all cannabis dispensing facilities and pharmaceutical  processors that have been 
issued a permit by the Board of Pharmacy pursuant to Article 4.2 (§ 54.1- 3442.5 et seq.) 
of the Drug Control Act and issue a cultivation, manufacturing, wholesale, or retail 
license to any such cannabis dispensing facility or pharmaceutical processor that meets 
the applicable licensing  requirements. The Authority must develop and implement its 
diversity, equity, and inclusion plan pursuant to § 4.1-604 of the Code of Virginia, as 
created by this act, and public resources to assist social equity applicants by January 1, 
2023. The Authority shall, in consultation with the Secretaries of Public Safety and 
Homeland Security, Transportation, and Health and Human Resources, develop and 
implement a health, safety, and safe driving campaign by January 1, 2023. 

• Enactment clause #8 provides that the initial terms of office of those persons appointed 
to serve as non-legislative citizen members on the Cannabis Control Advisory Board, as 
created by this act, shall be staggered and it sets out the membership of the Advisory 
Board and term of appointment.    



• Enactment clause #9 provides that the initial terms of office of those persons appointed 
to serve as non-legislative citizen members on the Cannabis Equity Reinvestment Board, 
as created by this act, shall be staggered and it sets out the membership of the Advisory 
Board and term of appointment.    

• Enactment clause 10 provides that the initial terms of office of those persons appointed 
to serve as non-legislative citizen members on the Cannabis Public Health Advisory 
Council as created by this act, shall be staggered and it sets out the membership of the 
Advisory Board and term of appointment.    

• Enactment clause #11 provides that the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
shall promulgate regulations to implement the applicable provisions of this act by July 1, 
2022. 

• Enactment clause # 12 provides that the Secretaries of Agriculture and Forestry, Health 
and Human Resources, and Public Safety and Homeland Security shall convene a work 
group with all appropriate state agencies and authorities to develop a plan for identifying 
and collecting data that can determine the use and misuse of marijuana in order to 
determine appropriate policies and programs to promote public health and safety. The 
work group, in consultation with the Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, shall 
also recommend metrics to  identify disproportionate impacts of marijuana legalization, 
if any, to include discrimination in the Commonwealth's cannabis industry. The work 
group shall report its findings and recommendations to the Governor and the General 
Assembly by November 1, 2021. 

• Enactment clause #13 provides that the Virginia Department of Education, with 
assistance from appropriate agencies, local school divisions, and appropriate experts, 
shall implement a plan to ensure that teachers have access to sufficient information, 
resources, and lesson ideas to assist them in teaching about the harms of marijuana use 
among the youth and about substance abuse, as provided in the 2020 Health Standards of 
Learning. The Department shall (i) review resources currently provided to teachers to  
determine if additional or updated material or lesson ideas are needed and (ii) provide or 
develop any additional materials and resources deemed necessary and make the same 
available to teachers by January 1, 2024. 

• Enactment clause #14. That the Secretary of Education, in conjunction with the Virginia 
Department of Education, shall develop a plan for introducing teachers, particularly 
those teaching health, to the information and resources available to them to assist them in 
teaching the 2020 Health Standards of Learning as it relates to marijuana use. Such plan 
shall include providing professional development webinars as soon as practicable, as 
well as ongoing periodic professional development relating to marijuana, as well as 
alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs as appropriate. The plan shall include the estimated 
cost of implementation and any potential source of funds to cover such cost and must be 
submitted to the Governor and the General Assembly by November 1, 2021. 

• Enactment clause #15 provides that the Secretary of Education, the State Council of 
Higher Education for Virginia, the Virginia Higher Education Substance Use Advisory 
Committee, and the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services shall 
work with existing collegiate recovery programs to determine what, if any, additional 
evidence-based efforts should be undertaken for college-aged individuals to promote 
education and prevention strategies relating to marijuana. The plan shall include the 



estimated cost of implementation and any potential source of funds to cover such cost 
and shall be submitted to the  Governor and the General Assembly by November 1, 2021 

• Enactment clause #16 provides that the referendum as created by this act, on the question 
of whether the operation of retail marijuana stores shall be prohibited in a particular 
county, city, or town may be held by such county, city, or town between January 1, 
2022, and December 31, 2023, and the results of such referendum shall become effective 
on January 1, 2024. 

• Enactment clause #17 provides that the effective July 1, 2021, the Regulations 
Governing Pharmaceutical Processors (18VAC110-60) promulgated by the Board of 
Pharmacy (the Board) shall remain in full force and effect and continue to be 
administered by the Board of Pharmacy until the Board of Directors of the Virginia 
Cannabis Control Authority (the Authority) promulgates regulations pursuant to the fifth 
sixth enactment of this act and no later than July 1, 2023. The Board shall provide 
assistance to the Board of Directors of the Authority in promulgating regulations by July 
1, 2023. 

• Enactment clause #20 provides that the provisions of Article 1.4 (§ 18.2-265.22 et seq.) 
of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, as created by this act, shall expire on 
January 1, 2023. 

• Enactment clause #22 provides that, except as provided in the fifth, sixth, seventh, 
eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth,  thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth, sixteenth, 
eighteenth, nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first enactments  of this act, the provisions 
of this act shall not become effective unless reenacted by the 2022 Session of the  
General Assembly. 

• Enactment clause #23 requires the establishments of a Cannabis Oversight Commission 
(the Commission), which shall consist of 18 members of the General Assembly. The 
Virginia Cannabis Control Authority (the Authority) shall report to the Commission at 
the Commission's request. The Commission shall expire on January 1, 2024. The 
provisions of this enactment shall become effective in due course. 

• Enactment clause #24 provides for a referendum during the November 2021 general 
election. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes. Items 39 (Courts), 143 (DOE), 425 (VSP). See Line 

8.  Item 479 U of the Governor’s introduced budget includes $5 million in the first year and 
$20 million in the second year from the general fund to support legislation related to 
expungements of criminal records, including but not limited to automatic expungement of 
misdemeanor marijuana records. The funds in central accounts are available to be transferred 
to these impacted items by budget amendment or they may remain in central accounts and be 
transferred administratively as needed with enactment of this legislation. Item 479.P provides 
new funding of $5 million in the second year from the general fund to support legislation to 
be introduced in the 2021 General Assembly and is available for the Virginia Cannabis 
Equity Business Loan Program created by this legislation. 

  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See Line #8.    
 
8. Fiscal Implications:  The proposed bill is expected to impact several state agencies and 

potentially all counties and cities. 



Revenue Impact 

  
According to the Virginia Department of Taxation, and based upon projected marijuana sales 
in Virginia as determined by JLARC in conjunction with MPG Consulting, it is estimated 
that this bill could generate total revenues ranging between $13.8 million and $23.0 million 
in FY 2024; $67.4 million and $112.6 million in FY 2025; $103.8 million and $173.0 million 
in FY 2026; and $135.6 million and $225.9 million in FY 2027.  

 
The higher end of this range reflects optimistic estimates of illegal market conversion, 
relative equilibrium between supply and demand, and that no other states or the federal 
government also legalize these products. The lower end reflects less optimistic estimates of 
illegal market conversion, possible periods of disequilibrium between supply and demand, 
and the possibility that surrounding states or the federal government also would legalize 
marijuana. The FY 2024 estimates are based on five months of collections.  

 
 Below is the distribution of total revenues based upon the lower end estimates: 
  

 FY 2024* FY 2025 FY 2026 

GF - Unrestricted $1,200,000 $5,700,000 $8,800,000 

GF - Restricted $600,000 $2,800,000 $4,300,000 

Transportation $500,000 $2,300,000 $3,500,000 

Local Option $500,000 $2,500,000 $3,900,000 

Other $300,000 $1,200,000 $1,900,000 

Pre-K (40 percent) $4,300,000 $21,200,000 $32,600,000 

Cannabis Equity (30 percent) $3,200,000 $15,900,000 $24,400,000 

Substance Use Disorder (25 percent) $2,700,000 $13,200,000 $20,300,000 

Public Health Programs (5 percent) $500,000 $2,600,000 $4,100,000 

21 Percent Excise Rate + Retail Sales 
and Use Tax 

$13,800,000 $67,400,000 $103,800,000 

 
 Below is the distribution of total revenues based upon the higher end estimates: 
  

 FY 2024* FY 2025 FY 2026 

GF - Unrestricted $1,900,000 $9,500,000 $14,600,000 

GF - Restricted $1.000,000 $4,700,000 $7,200,000 

Transportation $800,000 $3,800,000 $5,800,000 

Local Option $900,000 $4,200,000 $6,500,000 

Other $400,000 $2,100,000 $3,200,000 

Pre-K (40 percent) $7,200,000 $35,300,000 $54,300,000 

Cannabis Equity (30 percent) $5,400,000 $26,500,000 $40,700,000 

Substance Use Disorder (25 percent) $4,500,000 $22,100,000 $33,900,000 

Public Health Programs (5 percent) $900,000 $4,400,000 $6,800,000 

21 Percent Excise Rate + Retail Sales 
and Use Tax 

$23,000,000 $112,600,000 $173,000,000 

 



The Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) may generate 
additional revenue from the licensing of hemp testing laboratories. The license fee likely will be 
an amount not to exceed $50. The potential number of hemp testing laboratories that may be 
licensed is unknown, therefore, the revenue that could be generated cannot be determined. The 
bill also provides that the VDACS Commissioner may assess civil penalties: (1) if a tested hemp 
product exceeds the maximum level of allowable contamination, (2) for violations of labeling, 
testing and advertising of hemp products, or (3) for failure to destroy the hemp product intended 
for smoking or consumption whose testing sample exceeded the maximum level of allowable 
contamination. The penalty ranges from $100 for a first violation to $500 for a third and 
subsequent violation with all penalties collected deposited into the state treasury. It is reasonable 
to conclude that some revenue with be generated from civil penalties, however, the amount 
collected cannot be determined. 

 

Expenditure Impact 

 
The following table summarizes the estimated expenditure impact of this legislation: 
 

  FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024 

Office of the Executive Secretary (OES)    

 

Computer System 
Enhancements 

0 $6,156,130  $0  $0  

 District Court Clerks 0 $46,294  $46,294  $46,294  

 Total Costs - OES $0  $6,202,424  $46,294  $46,294  
      

Virginia State Police (VSP)     

 

Contractors  
(21 positions) 

0 $514,500  $0  $0  

 First Line Supervisor 
(2 contractor positions) 

0 $58,800  $0  $0  

 1 Fingerprint Technician 
Trainee FTE 

0 $81,026  $81,026  $81,026  

 1 Program Support 
Technician FTE 

0 $72,537  $72,537  $72,537  

 63 Program Support 
Technician Senior FTEs 

0 $4,762,379  $4,762,379  $4,762,379  

 7 Office Services 
Supervisor Senior FTEs 

0 $531,319  $531,319  $531,319  

 CCRE Manager 0 $94,538 $94,538 $94,538 

 Office Space  0 $628,320  $260,610  $260,610 

 Furniture  0 $855,536  $0  $0  



 IT Hardware  0 $350,416  $112,420  $112,420  

 IT Modifications to CCH 0 $15,010,560  $0  $0  

 Total Costs - VSP $0  $22,959,931  $5,914,829  $5,914,829  
      

 

Department of Education (DOE) 

 

    

 Contractor Costs 0 0 $50,000  $0  
 Resource Development 0 0 $100,000  $0  

 Online Module 
Development 

0 0 $150,000  $0  

 Hosting/Maintenance 
Fees 

0 0 $10,000  $10,000  

 Total Costs - DOE $0  $0  $310,000  $10,000  
      

      

Department of Corrections 

(DOC) 
    

 

Impact on Prison Bed 
Space Needs 

0 $50,000  $0  $0  

 Total Costs – DOC $0  $50,000  $0  $0  
      

Total Costs for OES, VSP, 

VDOE, and DOC –SB1406 
$0  $29,212,355  $6,271,123  $5,971,123  

      
Virginia Cannabis Control 

Authority 
$0  $4,000,000  $9,000,000  $12,000,000  

 
    

Virginia Retirement System 

(VRS) 
$0  $195,000  $0  $0  

 
 
The following narrative details the expenditure estimates in the table above. 
 

Courts 

This bill eliminates criminal penalties for possession of marijuana for persons who are 21 years 
or older.  The bill also modifies several other criminal penalties related to marijuana and 
provides for an expungement process for those convicted of certain marijuana-related crimes. 
 
Petition Expungements  
The bill provides that a person convicted or adjudicated delinquent of a felony violation of 
former § 18.2-248.1 (transporting controlled substance into the Commonwealth), or charged 



under that section and the charge was deferred and dismissed, may petition the court for 
expungement of the court and police records if five years have passed since the date of 
completion of all terms of sentencing and probation.  This provision would increase the 
workload on general district court and juvenile and domestic relations district court clerks who 
would be tasked with locating the physical case file for each expunged case, sealing its contents, 
indexing the case and deleting the electronic record for each case in the case management 
system.  The Office of the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court (OES) estimates that the 
tasks required of a district court deputy clerk to expunge a case would consume 10 minutes. 
Between 2010 and 2019 there were 147 adjudications of delinquency under 18.2-248.1 in 
juvenile and domestic relations district courts (JDR).  Within the same time period in general 
district court (GDC), there were 12,220 felony cases for violations of Va. Code § 18.2-248.1 
certified to circuit court.   Records indicate that there were 10,734 guilty verdicts for violations 
of § 18.2-248.1 in circuit court.  Assuming that 50 percent of the 10,881 convictions were 
expunged in accordance with the bill’s provisions, and that the vast majority of the circuit court 
convictions had a preliminary hearing within general district court, the statewide workload of 
district clerks would increase by 0.7 of a full time clerk’s office position.  The number of cases 
deferred and dismissed for felony violations of § 18.2-248.1 within the timeframe in JDR and 
circuit court is minimal and is not expected to have a substantial impact on the district court 
workload. This is an annual increase in work equal to $46,293.70. 
 
Automatic Expungements  
The bill also provides that police and court records of a person charged with a misdemeanor 
violation of § 18.2-248.1 (transporting controlled substance into the Commonwealth) or 
subsection A of § 18.2-265.3 (penalties for sale of drug paraphernalia) as it relates to marijuana, 
or a violation of former § 18.2-250.1 (possession of marijuana unlawful) must be expunged if the 
person has satisfied all terms of sentencing and probation (including payment of all court costs 
and fines and all orders of restitution).  Additionally, Class 1 and Class 2 violations of § 18.2-250 
(possession of controlled substance unlawful) that resulted in a conviction, or a deferred 
dismissal, will also be automatically expunged if specific conditions are met.   
 
The Department of State Police (VSP) is responsible for identifying such cases and electronically 
submitting a list to the OES and any circuit court clerk who maintains a case management system 
that interfaces with VSP at least monthly.  OES must then, on at least a monthly basis, provide 
an electronic list of all offenses that meet the criteria for automatic expungement to the circuit 
court clerks that utilize the case management system it maintains.  The clerk receiving the list 
would then be required to prepare an order to be entered by the chief judge directing that the 
offenses that meet the criteria be automatically expunged.  The circuit court clerk must provide, 
on a monthly basis, an electronic copy of any order entered by the chief judge regarding 
automatic expungement to VSP.  Upon receipt of such order, VSP will proceed as set forth in the 
newly-established § 19.2-392.9 (Disposition of records when an offense is automatically 
expunged; permitted uses of automatically expunged records).  Any records maintained 
electronically shall be considered expunged if they are transformed to an offline system or to a 
confidential and secure area inaccessible from normal use within the system in which the record 
is maintained, provided they are still accessible only to the manager of the records.  The records 
cannot be open for public inspection or otherwise disclosed, except to specific entities that are 
granted an exception by statute. 



 
The automatic expungement process contained in the bill appears to require an electronic 
exchange of information with VSP.  As part of the technology changes necessary to implement, 
the following is a partial list of some of the tasks that OES has identified that must be 
accomplished in order to implement the bill: 

• Modification of 17 public or external facing systems to prohibit access to automatically 
sealed cases and modifications of more than 20 internal systems and interfaces; 

• Develop and implement incoming and outgoing interfaces with VSP to receive and 
process cases for automatic sealing and orders voiding sealing; 

• Development of new Expungement Management System (EXMS), which includes 
project setup, infrastructure configuration, and development of capabilities to fully 
implement bill’s requirements;  

• Performance and load testing of all affected systems; 

• Address database security and roles to ensure that only authorized users see the 

automatically sealed data; and  

• Assign additional processing units to systems to handle the increased load during seal list 

processing, which will also include additional data storage capabilities and software 

licensing costs. 

 

OES has determined that the total one-time cost of system enhancements is $6,156,130. 
 

Virginia State Police (VSP) 

According to VSP, the bill requires fingerprint based criminal history record checks be 
completed on all individuals that apply to be licensed through the Virginia Cannabis Control 
Authority to operate as a marijuana establishment. The fingerprints of the licensee are to be 
forwarded to the Department of State Police, Central Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) so 
that criminal history record checks may be processed. The CCRE is to return the results of the 
criminal history record check to the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority Board for their review. 
 
In the recent Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission (JLARC) report outlining the key 
considerations for the legalization of marijuana, it was estimated that approximately 1,550 
licenses would be issued for marijuana establishments. Currently, the Non-Criminal Justice 
(NCJ) section of the CCRE is tasked with processing criminal history record background checks. 
It is anticipated that fingerprint submissions would be cards, as opposed to electronic 
submissions. Within the fingerprint-based criminal record check process, fingerprint technicians 
are used to establish the identification of the fingerprints in order to match the information to the 
appropriate criminal history record. Once this match, or no match takes place, a program support 
technician in the NCJ section processes the criminal history record results and forwards the 
information to the requesting agency. VSP estimates needing one fingerprint technician and one 
program support technician to process up to 10,000 fingerprint cards per year. These positions 
are estimated to cost $81,026 annually for the fingerprint technician and $72,537 annually for the 
program support technician. 
 
In addition, this bill requires that convictions for misdemeanor §18.2-250.1, §18.2-265.3 (a) and 
felony or misdemeanor §18.2-248.1 be eligible for expungement under the current record 
expungement process. VSP believes that these expungements are available to both juveniles and 



adults. According to VSP, petition based expungement is labor intensive, requiring letters to be 
sent and received to verify that expungements have been completed. Under the current CCRE 
expungement process, each expungement employee can complete 500 expungements a year. 
Currently, there are 319,713 records in the CCRE that would meet the criteria for expungement. 
VSP cannot determine at this time how many individuals would take advantage of these 
expungements. However, VSP assumes that it may be required to expunge 10 percent of the total 
number of these records each year, based upon those assumptions, VSP believes it would need 
63 additional Program Support Technician Senior positions, 7 Office Services Supervisor Senior 
positions and one CCRE manager. 
 
The bill also requires the automatic expungement of misdemeanor charges, convictions and 
adjudications of §18.2-248.1 and §18.2-250.1. In this process the CCRE would determine which 
individuals are eligible for expungement and send the information electronically to the Supreme 
Court of Virginia, Office of the Executive Secretary, and any other court that interfaces with the 
CCRE. Once an expungement order is granted, the order is sent back to the CCRE electronically 
and is processed under §19.2-392.3. Upon further review of its data, VSP has identified the total 
number of records in the CCRE that would be eligible for automatic expungement is 372,323. 
Since all records are eligible for expungement under this process, the total of 372,323 is used to 
determine the number of employees required to achieve the automatic expungements. 
 
According to VSP, system modifications will be necessary to accomplish the objectives of this 
legislation. First, the CCH system will need to be modified to achieve the required back and forth 
communication with the Supreme Court’s Office of the Executive Secretary. The cost associated 
with developing this functionality is approximately $10,318,720. Building this functionality 
requires eight teams of contractors. Each team would be comprised of eight personnel. A second 
modification will need to be done to the CCH to reprogram and test the system to carry out the 
automatic expungement requirements of §18.2-248.1 and §18.2-250.1, and to transmit the 
expungements to the FBI. VSP estimates modification would cost $2,691,840 and would require 
two teams of contractors. Each team would contain eight contract personnel. 
 
Lastly, VSP will need to purchase both hardware and software to support this development. VSP 
estimates a cost of $2,000,000 to support development, test environments, and the necessary 
networks.   
 
The programming changes described will allow for the automatic removal of the applicable 
charges from the criminal history record, but do not address the removal of fingerprints and 
mugshots. Because the charges being expunged will not be crimes following legalization, no new 
charges will be added to the CCRE going forward. Therefore, this work can be completed using 
contract labor.  VSP believes that one contractor could remove 20 sets of fingerprints and 
mugshots per hour using a contract labor workforce at $25/hour. With 372,323 charges under 
§18.2-250.1 and §18.2-248.1, removing these fingerprints and mugshots in six months would 
require twenty-one contract personnel, and two contract supervisors (372,323/20= 18,616.2 
Hrs./980 Work Hours = 18.99 Contractors + 10%= 21 Contractors). 
  
All contractors (80 IT personnel and 23 to carry out the removal of fingerprints and mugshots), 
and the Program Support Technician Seniors, Office Services Supervisor Seniors and CCRE 



Manager will require office space, furniture, and IT hardware in the first year. In the second year, 
only the Program Support Technician Seniors, the Office Services Supervisor Seniors and CCRE 
Manager will require office space.  
 

Department of Education (DOE) 

Enactment clauses of the bill require DOE to implement a plan to ensure that teachers have 
access to information, resources, and lesson ideas to teach about the harms of marijuana use. It 
requires DOE to review currently available resources to determine if additional or updated 
materials are needed and to provide or develop additional materials as needed.  According to 
DOE, the agency would need one-time funding of $50,000 for additional contract assistance to 
develop the plan and review all resources.  In addition, the agency would need one-time funding 
of $100,000 to develop new resources. 
 
The bill also requires the development of a plan for introducing teachers to the information and 
resources available to assist them in teaching the 2020 Health Standards of Learning as it relates 
to marijuana use.  The plan must include providing professional development webinars as well as 
ongoing professional development relating to marijuana.  In order for these professional 
development opportunities to be practical, DOE estimates it would need to develop web-based 
modules that can be accessed by teachers in real-time.  One-time development costs for online 
modules are estimated to be $150,000.  DOE estimates an additional $10,000 per year in ongoing 
costs related to hosting and maintenance fees. The estimated total state impact of SB 1406 to 
DOE would be $310,000 in FY 2023 and $10,000 per year beginning in FY 2024. 

 

Criminal Sentencing Impact 

According to the Virginia Sentencing Commission while the proposal would eliminate certain 
criminal penalties related to marijuana from the Code and reduce penalties for other offenses, it 
would establish a number of new misdemeanors and felonies for engaging in activities related to 
the cultivation, manufacture, testing and sale of marijuana without the required license or 
otherwise engaging in prohibited practices related to the production, sale, etc., of marijuana. If 
enacted, the proposal also specifies that monthly tax returns filed by licensees must be made 
under oath, which may have felony implications for making a material false statement on the 
return.  
 
The net effect on the number of convicted individuals and the impact on judicial sentencing 
patterns cannot be estimated. Therefore, the net impact on the future state-responsible (prison) 
bed space needs of the Commonwealth cannot be determined. Pursuant to § 30-19.1:4, the 
estimated amount of the necessary appropriation cannot be determined for periods of 
imprisonment in state adult correctional facilities; therefore, Chapter 56, 2021Acts of Assembly, 
Special Session I, requires the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission to assign a minimum 
fiscal impact of $50,000. Pursuant to § 30-19.1:4, the estimated amount of the necessary 
appropriation cannot be determined for periods of commitment to the custody of the Department 
of Juvenile Justice.  

The total anticipated fiscal impact as a result of the proposed legislation on OES, VSP, DOE, and 
DOC is $0 in FY 2021, $29,212,355 in FY 2022, $6,271,123 in FY 2023, and $5,971,123 in FY 
2024. 

 



Virginia Cannabis Control Authority 

Establishing the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority as a standalone agency likely will require 
funding to hire personnel, acquire office space and other operational costs. The bill provides, as 
allowed by the Governor, the Board may deduct from the net profits quarterly a sum for the 
creation of a reserve fund not exceeding the sum of $2.5 million in connection with the 
administration and to provide for the depreciation on the buildings, plants, and equipment 
owned, held, or operated by the Board. However, JLARC estimates that the first year cost could 
be $3 to $4 million with second year cost coming in at $7 to $9 million. Once fully operational, it 
is anticipated that ongoing operational costs will be $9 to $12 million. These are estimated costs 
based on other states. It is estimated that the new agency would need funding support for at least 
the first 2 years of operations before sufficient revenues are generated to cover the cost of 
operations. 
 

Virginia Retirement System (VRS) 

According to the Virginia Retirement System (VRS), the substitute bill impacts three of the 
agency’s plans: 1) Virginia Retirement System (VRS), 2) Virginia Law Officers’ Retirement 
System (VaLORS) and 3) Optional Retirement Plan for Political Appointees (ORPPA). In 
addition, there may be a need for administrative implementation of Line of Duty Act (LODA) 
benefits. The need for VRS to allocate resources to incorporate the new Virginia Cannabis 
Control Authority into its plans will depend on the overall implementation schedule for creating 
the new Authority and the appointing or hiring of employees. VRS estimates its implementation 
cost to be approximately $145,000. This figure does not include the impact to future contribution 
rates for VRS or VaLORS, the premium rates for LODA, or the impact on the funded status of 
the plans. Additionally, if implementation for the new Authority impacts the work VRS is doing 
to implement the new Cardinal system, there may be an additional cost of $50,000. 
 

Office of the Attorney General (OAG) 

According to the Office of the Attorney General, the substitute bill is not expected to have a 
material fiscal impact on its agency operations. 
 

Virginia Indigent Defense Commission (VIDC) 

Since marijuana has already been decriminalized, VIDC does not expect the proposed bill will 
have a material fiscal impact on its agency operations. 
 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) 

Information from DBHDS is still pending, and the fiscal impact statement will be updated as 
necessary.  
 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VADACS) 

The bill also requires VDACS to adopt regulations related to edible marijuana products. 
Currently, VADACS handles food safety in the Commonwealth and conducts inspections of 
food establishments. At this time, the agency is unable to determine the increase in inspections 
that may result from this bill. Additional resources may be needed in future years.  
 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 



The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) estimates its costs would be $36 per record expunged 
based on the process allowing for some automation and a timeframe of 12 months to complete 
the expungements. The number of records DMV would need to expunge is estimated at 127,000, 
potentially creating a high cost the agency could not absorb. If DMV can spread the number of 
records expunged over time, the agency could reduce its overall costs.  If the bill were modified 
to allow for expungements over time, DMV would expunge an estimated 5,100 records annually 
at a cost of $38 per expungement, with the agency requiring three additional positions. In 
addition, the agency would incur one-time costs of $9 per record expungement for the automated 
portion of its expungement process and related activities, with that cost rate applied to an 
estimated 25,400 records.  
 

Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) 

According to Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS), the proposed bill is not expected 
to have material fiscal impact on agency operations. Although it is likely that local probation 
agencies will see some cost reductions from already-passed decriminalization legislation, no 
further cost reductions are expected from any future legalization efforts. Additionally, DCJS staff 
indicate that projected savings from decriminalization may not be realized because of other 
recent legislative changes that could increase local agencies’ workloads. 

 

Drug Offender Assessment Fund 

The marijuana bill repeals two current laws related to marijuana possession: §18.2-248.1, which 
presumes that the possession of no more than one ounce is for personal use and §18.2-250.1 
which assesses a $25 civil penalty for unlawful possession of marijuana, with penalties deposited 
into the Drug Offender Assessment Fund. The Fund supports community-based probation and 
local pretrial services agencies and the Office of the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court 
of Virginia for the operation of drug treatment court programs. The bill also proposes § 4.1-1100, 
which establishes that, except as otherwise provided in the new subtitle and notwithstanding any 
other provision of law, a person 21 years-of-age or older may lawfully possess on his person or 
in any public place not more than one ounce of marijuana or an equivalent amount of marijuana 
product as determined by regulation promulgated by the Board of Directors of the Virginia 
Cannabis Control Authority. Any person who possesses on his person or in any public place 
marijuana or marijuana products in excess of the amounts set forth by the Board is subject to a 
civil penalty of no more than $25. A violation of this section is a civil offense, and any civil 
penalties collected are to be deposited into the Drug Offender Assessment and Treatment Fund 
established pursuant to § 18.2-251.02.  This legislation may impact the amount of revenue 
deposited into the Drug Offender Assessment and Treatment Fund; however, it is not possible to 
estimate either the number of convictions that may result or the amount of each fine that may be 
assessed under this legislation. Therefore, the impact of this provision cannot be determined. 

 

 

Other Agencies 

It is possible the bill could have an impact on the Department of Forensic Science, Department 
of Corrections, clerks of the courts, colleges and universities. Information has been requested 
from these agencies and entities and is still pending. The impact statement will be updated 
accordingly if additional information becomes available.  
 



Additionally, it is not feasible to estimate the revenue that would be generated from the various 
civil penalties and fees associated with the proposed legislation.  

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Taxation, Department 
of Criminal Justice Services, Virginia State Police, Department of Forensic Science, Virginia 
Criminal Sentencing Commission, Virginia Indigent Defense Commission, Office of the 
Attorney General, Courts, Department of Education, Department of Motor Vehicles, Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Clerks of the Court, Commonwealth’s 
Attorneys, Virginia Retirement System, localities, and local law enforcement agencies  

10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  
 Line 6249, strike “Virginia Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Control Authority”, insert  
“Virginia Cannabis Control Authority” 
Line 13768, strike “dispening”, insert “dispensing” 
Line 13770, strike “publis”, insert “publish” 
Line 13771, strike “Athority”, insert “Authority” 
  
11. Other Comments:  The VSP cost assumption is based on the statutorily imposed completion 
date of July 1, 2022. At present, all IT enhancements are scheduled to be completed by January 
1, 2022, and the expungement of fingerprints and mugshots will be complete by July 1, 2022. 
VSP cannot purchase and implement a modern criminal history system, to include enhanced 
expungement capabilities, by this date. Therefore, the only option left is to modify its existing 
systems. 
 
According to VSP, the agency needs a new Criminal History, Civil Commitment, Applicant, and 
Master Name Index Systems, and to introduce Rap Back into the Commonwealth. The cost for 
the system replacements, and to introduce Rap Back, is $12,500,000. And, if procurement law is 
waived, the Department believes that it can complete automatic expungement by July 1, 2024.  
 
The current criminal history system began in 1972 as a COBALT system. Between 1972 and 
2016, the system was modified, but never replaced. In 2016 the Department undertook to update 
the existing system. The system was transformed from a COBALT based system into a Java 
based system. However, this was a modernization without an increase in functionality. The 2016 
update was nothing more than taking the outdated coding and logic of the COBALT system, and 
rewriting that logic and coding into Java. No additional functionality was added. Virginia has 
never had a modern and capable criminal history system. The age of the current system, and the 
underlying logic, makes all system modifications time and money intensive. Upgrades that could 
be accomplished in a cost effective manner with a modern system, either cannot be achieved 
within the current system or come at a cost-prohibitive price point.  
 
 


