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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2020 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron Jennifer B. Boysko 2. Bill Number SB 231 

  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Finance    Introduced 

   Substitute 

    Engrossed 

4.  Title Retail Sales and Use Tax; Exemption for 
Menstrual Supplies 

 
  Second House: 
  X In Committee 

   Substitute 

   Enrolled 

 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would establish an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for menstrual 
supplies including cups and pads, pantyliners, sanitary napkins, tampons, and other 
products to absorb or contain menstrual flow.  
 
Under current law, menstrual supplies are taxed at the same reduced rate of 2.5 percent 
as food for human consumption and nondurable incontinence products. That rate is 
comprised of 1.5 percent state and 1 percent local sales tax. 
 
The exemption would become effective July 1, 2021 and would end July 1, 2026. 
However, this bill would not become effective unless the revenue impact of the bill is 
accounted for in the Appropriation Act enacted by the General Assembly in 2020.   
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  Yes. 
Page 1, Revenue Estimates 

 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Preliminary (See Line 8.) 

 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs 
 
The Department of Taxation (“the Department”) considers implementation of this bill to be 
routine and does not require additional funding. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill would result in a negative revenue impact to the General Fund of approximately 
$890,000 in Fiscal Year 2022, $993,000 in Fiscal Year 2023, $1.02 million in Fiscal Year 
2024, $1.05 million in Fiscal Year 2025, and $1.08 million in Fiscal Year 2026.   
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9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
Department of Taxation 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No. 
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Chapters 549 and 550 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly changed the sales tax rate 
applicable to personal hygiene products to align with the rate applicable to food for human 
consumption. The applicable rate for these items is currently 2.5 percent, which is 
comprised of a 1.5 percent state and 1 percent local sales and use tax.   
 
Personal hygiene products include nondurable incontinence products as well as 
menstrual supplies.  Nondurable incontinence products include diapers, disposable 
undergarments, pads and bed sheets. Menstrual supplies include menstrual cups and 
pads, pantyliners, sanitary napkins, tampons, and other products to absorb or contain 
menstrual flow. This bill would not change the rate applicable to nondurable incontinence 
products but would eliminate the sales tax applicable to menstrual supplies.     
 
Thirteen states currently exempt feminine hygiene products: Utah, Ohio, California (two- 
year exemption), Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New 
Jersey, New York, Nevada, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island. 
 
 

Estimated Sales Tax Collections on Feminine Hygiene Products (taxed at 2.5% rate like food for home consumption)

Effective July 1, 2021

(all figures in dollars)

Fund FY 2021 FY 2022* FY 2023 FY 2024 FY 2025 FY 2026

State Sales and Use Tax 

   GF - Unrestricted (1) -              -                    -                    -                    -                    -                    

   GF - Restricted (2) -              890,000        993,000        1,018,000     1,046,000     1,075,000     

   Education School Age 1/8% - (GF transfer from Restricted)-              -                    -                    -                    -                    -                    

   Education SOQ- 1/4% - (GF transfer from Unrestricted)-              -                    -                    -                    -                    -                    

   Transportation (3) -              450,000        502,000        514,000        528,000        543,000        

   HMOF (GF transfer) -              -                    -                    -                    -                    -                    

   Local Option -              899,000        1,003,000     1,028,000     1,056,000     1,086,000     

   Regional

      Hampton Roads -              -                    -                    -                    -                    -                    

      Northern Virginia -              -                    -                    -                    -                    -                    

      Historic Triangle -              -                    -                    -                    -                    -                    

Total Sales and Use Tax (4) -$            2,239,000$   2,498,000$   2,560,000$   2,630,000$   2,704,000$   

Notes:

1) Includes: 2.025% General Fund Unrestricted, -0.01% Dealer Discount.

2) Includes: 1% Education 1% based on school age population, -0.01% Dealer Discount.

3) Includes 0.5% TTF, 0.175% HMOF, 0.050% IPROCF, and 0.075% Mass Transit Fund.

4) After dealer discount.

*FY 2022 assumes an 11-month impact giv en July  1 effectiv e date
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Proposal 
 
This bill would establish an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for menstrual 
supplies including cups and pads, pantyliners, sanitary napkins, tampons, and other 
products to absorb or contain menstrual flow. 
 
The exemption would become effective July 1, 2021 and would end July 1, 2026. 
However, this bill would not become effective unless the revenue impact of the bill is 
accounted for in the Appropriation Act enacted by the General Assembly in 2020.   
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
 
Date: 2/12/2020 VB 
SB231FE161 

 


