
Department of Planning and Budget 
2020 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1. Bill Number:   HB1510 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: McQuinn 
 
3.  Committee: Public Safety 
 
4. Title: Carrying weapon into building owned or used by the Commonwealth or 

political subdivision thereof. 
 

5. Summary:  Makes it a Class 1 misdemeanor for a first or second offense for a person to 
transport any (i) gun or other weapon designed or intended to propel a missile or projectile of 
any kind; (ii) frame, receiver, muffler, silencer, missile, projectile, or ammunition designed 
for use with a dangerous weapon; or (iii) other dangerous weapon into a building owned or 
used by the Commonwealth or any agency or political subdivision thereof for governmental 
purposes. The bill provides exceptions for law-enforcement officers, conservators of the 
peace, magistrates, court officers, judges, city or county treasurers, commissioners or deputy 
commissioners of the Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission, authorized security 
personnel, and active military personnel while in the conduct of such individuals' official 
duties. The bill requires that notice of the provisions prohibiting the carrying of such 
weapons be posted at each public entrance to all buildings owned or leased by the 
Commonwealth or any agency or political subdivision thereof. A third or subsequent offense 
of this or certain other firearms offenses is punishable as a Class 6 felony. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  No. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary, see Item 8. 
 
8. Fiscal Implications:  Anyone convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor is subject to a sentence of 

up to 12 months in jail.  According to the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, not 
enough information is available to reliably estimate the increase in jail population as a result 
of this proposal.  However, any increase in jail population will increase costs to the state.  
The Commonwealth currently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each misdemeanant or 
otherwise local-responsible prisoner held in a jail.  It also funds a large portion of the jails’ 
operating costs, e.g. correctional officers.  The state’s share of these costs varies from locality 
to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report 
(November 2019), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged $34.07 per inmate, 
per day in FY 2018. 

 

 There may be some costs associated with the creation and posting of signage required by this 
bill, however, such costs are currently unknown.  

 



 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Local and regional jails. 
  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No. 
  
11. Other Comments:  None. 
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