20103537D SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 212

1 2

Offered March 2, 2020 Commending the Prince William County Police Department.

Patrons—McPike, Barker, Bell, Reeves, Stuart and Surovell; Delegates: Ayala, Carroll Foy, Guzman, Helmer and Subramanyam

WHEREAS, the Prince William County Police Department celebrates its 50th anniversary of service to the community in 2020; and

WHEREAS, founded on July 1, 1970, with fewer than 50 staff members, today, the Prince William County Police Department is staffed by 686 sworn officers and more than 100 civilians; and

WHEREAS, the Prince William County Police Department is composed of four police divisions and 14 bureaus, providing a diversity of specialized services to the citizens of Prince William County and enabling the department to be prepared for any scenario; and

WHEREAS, protecting a jurisdiction with more than 450,000 residents, the Prince William County Police Department consistently receives high marks from the community it serves; and

WHEREAS, to ensure all of its officers conduct themselves with the values of honor, professionalism, integrity, and equality that the department upholds, the Prince William County Police Department has its own Criminal Justice Academy to train new recruits; and

WHEREAS, the Prince William County Police Department excels at accomplishing its mission to protect and serve Prince William County by fostering cooperation and respect across the community; and

WHEREAS, due to the effort and dedication of every member of the Prince William County Police Department, Prince William County is a safe and welcoming place to live, work, and play; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate, the House of Delegates concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the Prince William County Police Department for 50 years of service ensuring the safety and protection of the Prince William County community; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Colonel Barry M. Barnard, Chief of Police of the Prince William County Police Department, as an expression of the General Assembly's wholehearted appreciation for the department's contributions to Prince William County and the Commonwealth.