20107765D

1 2

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 94

Offered February 19, 2020

Commending the Douglas S. Freeman High School "We the People" team.

Patrons-Willett, Adams, D.M., Cole, M.L., Hope, Rasoul, Samirah and Ware

WHEREAS, the Douglas S. Freeman High School "We the People" team won the Virginia "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" competition on January 24, 2020, at the University of Virginia's Darden School of Business; and

WHEREAS, presented by the Center for Civic Education, the "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" program promotes students' knowledge and understanding of the United States Constitution through a period of intensive study culminating in competitions among participating schools; and

WHEREAS, the "We the People" competitions occur at the district, state, and national levels, simulating congressional hearings as students respond to questions on American history, government, politics, and constitutional law; and

WHEREAS, the Douglas S. Freeman High School "We the People" team won the state competition by defeating the perennial champions from Maggie L. Walker Governor's School for Government and International Studies; and

WHEREAS, advancing to the national competition, the Douglas S. Freeman High School "We the People" team earned the opportunity to compete at the 33rd Annual We the People National Finals in Washington, D.C., in April 2020; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Douglas S. Freeman High School "We the People" team, dubbed "Team Rehnquist" in honor of the late United States Supreme Court justice, are all seniors in their school's Center for Leadership, Government, and Global Economics; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Douglas S. Freeman High School "We the People" team include Kate Becker-Mowery, Charlotte Browder, Davis Buckbee, Josh DuPuis, Piper Finkelson, Karson Girvin, Addison Gorenflo, Balazs Kaszala, Salaar Khan, Christian Massengill, Megan McDonald, Brian Morton, Gretchen Neary, Rylan Pearsall, Marcus Rand, Sadie Rogerson, Maggie Sheerin, Maddie Sherman, Ashwin Suresh, Abby Taylor, Caroline Tyler, and Abby Zorn; and

WHEREAS, the success of the Douglas S. Freeman High School "We the People" team is the result of the hard work and dedication of the students, the leadership and guidance of their teachers, and the unwavering support of the entire Douglas S. Freeman High School community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That the Douglas S. Freeman High School "We the People" team hereby be commended for winning the 2020 Virginia "We the People: the Citizen and the Constitution" competition; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Robert Peck, teacher advisor of the Douglas S. Freeman High School "We the People" team, as an expression of the House of Delegates' admiration for the team's remarkable achievement and best wishes for the future.