HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 11

Commending Farmers Bank.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 13, 2020

WHEREAS, Farmers Bank of Windsor, a local community bank serving the Tidewater Region, celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2019; and

WHEREAS, Farmers Bank was founded by five local business leaders in 1919 to serve farmers in the region; its first cashier, Shirley T. Holland, would go on to become president of the local institution, followed by his son, Richard J. Holland, who led the bank for many years, and his grandson, Richard J. Holland, Jr., who is currently the chief executive officer and chairman of the board; and

WHEREAS, since its founding, Farmers Bank has expanded into seven branch locations in the Tidewater Region, including branches in Smithfield, Courtland, Suffolk, and Chesapeake, and continues to evolve its services to better serve the region and help its customers meet their financial goals; and

WHEREAS, Farmers Bank was the recipient of the inaugural Business Excellence Award from the Isle of Wight County Department of Economic Development in 2019, which was bestowed upon the bank for its many years of dedication to the community; and

WHEREAS, while many local banks have been consolidated into larger financial institutions over the past century, Farmers Bank remains independent and locally operated, enabling it to provide a personal and reliable banking service for local businesses and families; and

WHEREAS, Farmers Bank is a major supporter of local endeavors, sponsoring the Woman's Club and Ruritan events, the Windsor Christmas Parade and Fourth of July celebration, and the Isle of Wight County Fair, a demonstration of its commitment to the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That Farmers Bank hereby be commended on the occasion of its 100th anniversary for its many years of service to the community; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Richard J. Holland, Jr., chief executive officer and chairman of the board at Farmers Bank, as an expression of the House of Delegates' admiration for the bank's contributions to the Commonwealth.