2020 SESSION

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 109

Commending the Auburn High School boys' cross country team.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 2, 2020

WHEREAS, the Auburn High School boys' cross country team of Montgomery County won the Virginia High School League Class 1A State Championship on November 9, 2018, at Great Meadow in The Plains; and

WHEREAS, the Auburn Eagles' championship victory clinched the fourth-straight state title for the Auburn High School boys' cross country program; the team scored an impressive total of 69 points to beat the George Wythe High School Maroons by a very small margin of three points; and

WHEREAS, Auburn High School junior Adam Downs placed seventh with a time of 17:14, freshman Andy Vaughan placed eighth with a time of 17:17, and senior Peyton Hurd placed 10th with a time of 17:24; all three athletes were named to the All-State team for their efforts; and

WHEREAS, other finishers for Auburn High School included freshman Chris Neal in 33rd place with a time of 18:11, senior Eddie Tickle in 42nd place with a time of 18:25, and freshman Chase Guynn in 73rd place with a time of 19:45; and

WHEREAS, achieved under the leadership and direction of Mark Carper, who was named Class 1A Coach of the Year, the Eagles' fourth straight title is a great testament to the commitment and skill of all Auburn High School student-athletes; the excellent guidance of all coaches and staff; and the inspiring support of family, friends, and the entire Auburn High School community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That the Auburn High School boys' cross country team hereby be commended on winning the Virginia High School League Class 1A State Championship in 2018; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Mark Carper, head coach of the Auburn High School boys' cross country team, as an expression of the House of Delegates' admiration for the team's notable athletes, successful season, and continued program excellence for four consecutive years.