2020 SESSION

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 470

Commending the 2019 Legacy Celebration of Extraordinary African American Women.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 3, 2020 Agreed to by the Senate, March 5, 2020

WHEREAS, in 2019, the Office of the Honorable Delores McQuinn, the Alpha Zeta Chapter of Phi Delta Kappa, Inc., and the Help Me Help You Foundation honored seven African American Legacy Honorees for their incredible contributions to their communities; and

WHEREAS, the inaugural Legacy Brunch for the Extraordinary African American Legacy Honorees, held on October 12, 2019, celebrated the 400th commemoration of the arrival of the first documented Africans to North America, the beginning of a proud tradition of excellence in leadership by African American women; and

WHEREAS, the 2019 Extraordinary African American Legacy Honorees are Dr. Estelle Fleming Braxton-Davis, Dr. Lucille Murray Brown, Helen Harrison Guthrie, Virginia Peace Jackson, Charlotte Melton, Thelma Y. Pettis, and Anna Washington; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Estelle Fleming Braxton-Davis, a highly respected, longtime educator has uplifted the minds and spirits of local students and worked diligently to be a positive influence in the community through her involvement with her church and other civic organizations; she has offered her leadership to Phi Delta Kappa at local, regional, and national levels; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Lucille Murray Brown, a highly esteemed and distinguished educator, served students as a chemistry and biology teacher, a high school principal, and superintendent of Richmond Public Schools; she currently serves on the Virginia Union University Board of Trustees and continues to devote many hours of service to strengthen the Richmond community; and

WHEREAS, Helen Harrison Guthrie, an experienced educator who taught at Manassas High School, Virginia Randolph High School, and Highland Springs High School over the course of more than 40 years has volunteered as a youth leader through organizations like the Girl Scouts of the USA and the National Association of University Women; and

WHEREAS, Virginia Peace Jackson enhanced the community by working with the Model Cities program and leading the establishment of new child care facilities; she inspired many other women to pursue public service through her generosity and commitment to civic engagement, and she is one of the oldest living members of First Union Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, Charlotte Melton began her teaching career in Pittsylvania County and touched the lives of students throughout the Commonwealth before settling in Henrico County, where she retired as principal of Laburnum Elementary School; she has dedicated much of her life to the preservation of African American history, including through programs at the State Fair of Virginia; and

WHEREAS, Thelma Y. Pettis, a former employee of the Virginia Department of Health, pursued a second career in education as a teacher and guidance counselor; she subsequently served as a curriculum specialist and an assistant principal, the computer-based education coordinator for Richmond Public Schools, and an adjunct professor at Virginia Union University and Virginia State University; and

WHEREAS, Anna Washington, who shared her wisdom with students at Virginia Randolph High School and Highland Springs High School for nearly 40 years, has been a prolific volunteer who has worked diligently to elevate and empower all members of the community; furthermore, she was the first woman elected to the vestry at Saint Philip's Episcopal Church; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the 2019 Legacy Celebration of Extraordinary African American Women; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare copies of this resolution for presentation to the 2019 Extraordinary African American Legacy Honorees as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the exemplary achievements of these seven women in service to their communities and the Commonwealth.