20101033D

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 46

Offered January 8, 2020 Prefiled January 4, 2020

Commending the United States Women's National Soccer Team.

Patrons—Sickles, Adams, D.M., Askew, Austin, Avoli, Ayala, Bagby, Bourne, Bulova, Carr, Carroll Foy, Carter, Cole, M.L., Collins, Cox, Coyner, Davis, Delaney, Fowler, Gooditis, Guzman, Hayes, Helmer, Heretick, Hope, Hudson, Hurst, Jones, Keam, Kilgore, Knight, Kory, Krizek, Levine, Lindsey, Lopez, Marshall, McQuinn, Miyares, Morefield, Mugler, Murphy, Orrock, Plum, Price, Rasoul, Reid, Robinson, Roem, Samirah, Scott, Simon, Simonds, Subramanyam, Sullivan, Torian, Tran, Tyler, VanValkenburg, Walker, Ward, Ware, Watts, Webert, Willett and Wilt; Senators: Barker, Deeds, McPike, Morrissey, Peake, Ruff, Spruill and Suetterlein

WHEREAS, on July 7, 2019, in Lyon, France, the United States Women's National Soccer Team won the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup for the second consecutive year and became the first team to win the Women's World Cup four times; and

WHEREAS, during the $\bar{2}019$ FIFA Women's World Cup the United States Women's National Team (USWNT) finished first in its group before eliminating the teams from Spain, France, and England in the knockout stages to reach the final; and

WHEREAS, the USWNT secured a decisive 2 - 0 victory over the Netherlands in the final with goals from Megan Rapinoe in the 61st minute and Rose Lavelle in the 69th minute, as well as a standout performance by the defense; and

WHEREAS, with six goals and three assists each, Megan Rapinoe and Alex Morgan earned the Golden Boot Award and the Silver Boot Award, respectively; Rose Lavelle, playing in her first FIFA Women's World Cup Tournament, earned the Bronze Ball Award; and

WHEREAS, renowned for its prowess on the attack, the USWNT set all-time records for goals scored in a single game and goals throughout the entire tournament; the team's staunch defense conceded only three goals over seven games; and

WHEREAS, Jill Ellis, a graduate of The College of William & Mary who was named as a third-team All-American during her years as a player, became the first head coach to win consecutive FIFA Women's World Cup titles and demonstrated extraordinary leadership by adjusting the team's starting lineup as the tournament progressed to capitalize on the unique talents of each player and the depth of the roster; and

WHEREAS, several other players on the USWNT represented the Commonwealth, including Dumfries native Ali Krieger and University of Virginia alumnae Morgan Brian, Becky Sauerbrunn, and Emily Sonnett; the University of Virginia Cavaliers' head coach Steve Swanson also served as an assistant coach on the national team; and

WHEREAS, every member of the USWNT—Morgan Brian, Abby Dahlkemper, Tierna Davidson, Crystal Dunn, Julie Ertz, Adrianna Franch, Ashlyn Harris, Tobin Heath, Lindsey Horan, Ali Krieger, Rose Lavelle, Carli Lloyd, Allie Long, Jessica McDonald, Samantha Mewis, Alex Morgan, Alyssa Naeher, Kelley O'Hara, Christen Press, Mallory Pugh, Megan Rapinoe, Becky Sauerbrunn, and Emily Sonnett—exemplifies the high quality and spirit of women's soccer and is an inspiration to women and girls throughout the Commonwealth, the United States, and the world; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the United States Women's National Team on winning the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to the United States Women's National Soccer Team as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the team's historic achievements.