## 2019 SPECIAL SESSION I

## **INTRODUCED**

INTRODUCED

HR4034

19200247D

1 2 3

4 5

5

**6 7** 

**HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4034** 

Offered July 9, 2019 Prefiled July 9, 2019

Commending Colin Whittington.

Patron—LaRock

WHEREAS, Colin Whittington, a deputy first class with the Loudoun County Sheriff's Office, was named the 2019 Virginia Deputy Sheriff of the Year for his professionalism, integrity, and commitment to the members of the Loudoun County community; and

WHEREAS, Colin Whittington joined the Loudoun County Sheriff's Office in 2015 as a patrol deputy and served as a community resource deputy at the Ashburn Station, where he established an alcohol enforcement operation that reduced instances of disorderly conduct and other alcohol-related offenses through cooperation with local businesses and the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority; and

WHEREAS, Colin Whittington currently works as a public information officer in the Media Relations and Communications Section; he is highly regarded by both command staff and his fellow law-enforcement officers; and

WHEREAS, Colin Whittington has been an active participant in the Loudoun County Sheriff's Office's community events, including Child Safety Day, Books and Badges, Coffee with a Cop, and the ride-along program; and

WHERÊAS, Colin Whittington previously received the Lifesaving Award from the Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce for his heroic use of cardiopulmonary resuscitation in two separate emergency situations in 2017; and

WHEREAS, Colin Whittington will be formally honored at the 86th Annual Virginia Sheriffs' Association Conference in September 2019; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That Colin Whittington hereby be commended on his selection as 2019 Deputy Sheriff of the Year; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Colin Whittington as an expression of the House of Delegates' admiration for his exceptional service to the residents of Loudoun County.