INTRODUCED

19200033D

1 2 3

4

5

6 7 8

9

10 11 12

> 13 14

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4013

2019 SPECIAL SESSION I

Offered July 9, 2019 Prefiled July 8, 2019

Celebrating the lives of LaOuita C. Brown, Ryan Keith Cox, Tara Welch Gallagher, Mary Louise Crutsinger Gayle, Alexander Mikhail Gusey, Joshua Orion Hardy, Michelle Marie Langer, Richard H. Nettleton, Katherine Anne Marie Lusich-Nixon, Christopher Kelly Rapp, Herbert Ray Snelling, Jr., and Robert Thomas Williams, Sr.

Patrons—Knight, Stolle, Davis and Miyares

WHEREAS, on May 31, 2019, the lives of numerous mothers, daughters, sons, fathers, friends, and colleagues were forever and profoundly changed in a heinous shooting in Building Two of the Virginia Beach Municipal Center; and

WHEREAS, eleven City of Virginia Beach employees, LaQuita C. Brown, Ryan Keith Cox, Tara Welch Gallagher, Mary Louise "Mary Lou" Crutsinger Gayle, Alexander Mikhail Gusev, Joshua Orion Hardy, Michelle Marie "Missy" Langer, Richard H. Nettleton, Katherine Anne Marie Lusich-Nixon, Christopher Kelly Rapp, and Robert "Bobby" Thomas Williams, Sr., and a contractor conducting business with the city, Herbert "Bert" Ray Snelling, Jr., were killed in the mass shooting that began at 4:06 p.m.; and

WHEREAS, these intelligent, talented individuals came from a wide range of backgrounds and changed countless lives through their significant personal and professional achievements; the city employees who lost their lives represented more than 150 years of combined experience, institutional knowledge, and commitment to their fellow Virginia Beach residents; and

WHEREAS, they will all be deeply missed by their families, friends, and neighbors, who will eternally carry an emptiness in their lives from the loss of their loved ones, colleagues, and friends; and

WHEREAS, residents of the City of Virginia Beach and all Virginians will remember and cherish the memory of those who died on May 31, 2019; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED. That the House of Delegates hereby note with great sadness the tragic loss of LaQuita C. Brown, Ryan Keith Cox, Tara Welch Gallagher, Mary Louise Crutsinger Gayle, Alexander Mikhail Gusev, Joshua Orion Hardy, Michelle Marie Langer, Richard H. Nettleton, Katherine Anne Marie Lusich-Nixon, Christopher Kelly Rapp, Herbert Ray Snelling, Jr., and Robert Thomas Williams, Sr.; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to each of their families as an expression of respect and in memory of those who lost their lives on that heartbreaking day.