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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2019 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron Adam P. Ebbin 2. Bill Number SB 1606 

  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee Senate Finance  X Introduced 

   Substitute 

    Engrossed 

4.  Title Vapor Products Tax; School Mental Health 
Counselors Fund Created; Quit Now Virginia 
Fund Created 

 
  Second House: 
   In Committee 

   Substitute 

   Enrolled 

 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would impose a state tax on nicotine “vapor products,” including electronic 
cigarettes and similar products and devices. The state tax would be imposed at a rate of 
40 percent of the wholesale price, to be collected and remitted by wholesale dealers, who 
would be permitted to deduct two percent of the tax otherwise due, if not delinquent, to 
compensate them for accounting for the tax. 
 
Cities, and towns would be authorized to tax nicotine vapor products at rates determined 
by the local governing bodies. The bill authorizes Arlington and Fairfax Counties to 
impose a vapor products tax, but at a rate that does not exceed the state tax on vapor 
products created under the bill.  
 
If enacted during the 2019 Regular Session of the General Assembly, this bill would be 
effective July 1, 2019. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  Yes 
 
Page 1, Revenue Estimates 
Item 273, Department of Taxation 

 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Preliminary (See Line 8.) 

 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs 
 
If the Department of Taxation (“the Department”) is able to implement this legislation by 
the effective date, it would incur estimated administrative costs of $268,774 in Fiscal Year 
2019; $519,610 in Fiscal Year 2020; and $317,000 annually thereafter. Such expenses 
would be associated with forms and systems changes, and notifying taxpayers of the new 
tax.  
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However, due to uncertainty about the systems and processing changes that may be 
required for the 2018 and 2019 income tax filing seasons, it is possible that the 
Department may not have the ability to implement the changes set forth in this bill by the 
proposed effective date. During 2017, Congress enacted the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, 
which made substantial changes to federal tax law. At this time, it is uncertain what 
Virginia tax policy changes will be adopted in reaction to the federal law. Accordingly, the 
Department will reevaluate its costs once action is taken and may request additional 
funding or an amendment to delay the effective date of this legislation. 
 
This bill could result in unknown administrative costs to localities that impose the tax on 
vapor products. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill could potentially result in a positive impact to state revenue of $15 to $20 million 
annually, beginning in the first full year the new tax on vapor products is implemented. It 
could also result in an unknown increase in Retail Sales and Use Tax revenue from 
currently taxed vapor products to the extent that the new vapor products tax is passed on 
to consumers in the form of price increases.  
 
This bill would have an unknown positive revenue impact to localities that impose the tax 
on vapor products. 
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
Department of Taxation 
Localities that impose the local option tax 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary: No   
 
11. Other comments:   

 
Virginia Cigarette Tax 
 
Under current law, Virginia imposes a state cigarette tax at the rate of 30 cents per pack. 
The cigarette tax is paid by dealers who have obtained a stamping agent permit from the 
Department through the purchase of stamps, which must be affixed to each container 
from which cigarettes are sold.   
 
Cigarette is currently defined as any product that contains nicotine, is intended to be 
burned or heated under ordinary conditions of use, and consists of or contains (i) any roll 
of tobacco wrapped in paper or in any substance not containing tobacco; (ii) tobacco, in 
any form, that is functional in the product, which, because of its appearance, the type of 
tobacco used in the filler, or its packaging and labeling, is likely to be offered to, or 
purchased by, consumers as a cigarette; or (iii) any roll of tobacco wrapped in any 
substance containing tobacco which, because of its appearance, the type of tobacco used 
in the filler, or its packaging and labeling, is likely to be offered to, or purchased by, 
consumers as a cigarette described in clause (i) of this definition.   
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Cigarettes also include "roll-your-own" tobacco, which means any tobacco which, because 
of its appearance, type, packaging, or labeling, is suitable for use and likely to be offered 
to, or purchased by, consumers as tobacco for making cigarettes.  
 
Virginia Tobacco Products Tax 
 
Under current law, a tobacco products tax is imposed on cigars, smokeless tobacco, pipe 
tobacco, and loose leaf tobacco. Cigarettes are not subject to the tax on tobacco 
products. Tobacco products include the following: 
 
• Cigars: any roll of tobacco wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing 
tobacco (other than any roll of tobacco that is a cigarette). 
• Smokeless tobacco: 

 Snuff: any finely cut, ground, or powdered tobacco not intended to be smoked. 
 Chewing tobacco: any leaf tobacco not intended to be smoked. 

• Pipe tobacco: any tobacco which, because of its appearance, type, packaging, or 
labeling, is suitable for use and likely to be offered to, or purchased by, consumers as 
tobacco to be smoked in a pipe. 
• Loose Leaf Tobacco: any leaf tobacco that is not intended to be smoked, but excludes 
moist snuff. 
 
Tobacco products other than moist snuff and loose leaf tobacco are taxed at the rate of 10 
percent of the “manufacturer’s sales price," which is defined as the actual price for which 
a manufacturer, manufacturers’ representative, or any other person sells tobacco 
products to an unaffiliated distributor. The tax is imposed on the first “distributor” who 
possesses the taxable product in Virginia. 
 
Proposal  
 
This bill would impose a state tax on “vapor products,” including electronic cigarettes, 
electronic cigars, electronic cigarillos, and similar products and devices and authorizes 
cities and towns and certain counties to impose a tax on vapor products. The state tax 
would be imposed at a rate of 40 percent of the wholesale price. 
 
For the purpose of compensating wholesale dealers for accounting for the tax imposed, 
such wholesale dealers would be allowed when filing a monthly return and remitting the 
tax to deduct two percent of the tax otherwise due if the amount due was not delinquent at 
the time of payment. 
 
The Department would administer and enforce the tax and adopt rules and regulations 
with respect to the enforcement of the provisions of this section to prevent any evasion of 
the tax herein imposed. 
 
The bill would provide that 90 percent of the revenue generated by the state vapor 
products tax would be distributed to the School Mental Health Counselors Fund, created 
by the bill. Such revenues would be required to be used to fund the state's share of 
Standards of Quality Costs related to increasing the ratio of school counselors to 
students. Ten percent of the tax revenue generated by the state tax would be distributed 
to the Quit Now Virginia Fund that would also be created by the bill. The fund would be 
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dedicated to the Virginia Department of Health's costs to provide phone-based and 
Internet-based services with the purpose of discouraging and eliminating the use of 
tobacco products and providing counseling and support for smoking cessation efforts. 
 
Cities, and towns that are currently authorized to impose a tax on cigarettes would be 
authorized to tax vapor products at rates determined by the local governing bodies. The 
bill authorizes Arlington and Fairfax Counties to impose a vapor products tax, but at a rate 
that does not exceed the state tax on vapor products created under the bill. Under current 
law, Arlington and Fairfax Counties may impose a tax on cigarettes at a rate that does not 
exceed the state cigarette tax. 
 
If enacted during the 2019 Regular Session of the General Assembly, this bill would be 
effective July 1, 2019. 
 
Similar Bills 
 
Senate Bills 1371 and 1252 would provide definitions for noncombustible tobacco 
products. 
 
House Bill 1946 would authorize certain localities to impose a local cigarette tax with 
revenue dedicated school construction.  
 
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
 
Date: 1/21/2019 SK 
SB1606F161 


