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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2019 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron Thomas K. Norment, Jr. 2. Bill Number SB 1601 

  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee Senate Finance  X Introduced 

   Substitute 

    Engrossed 

4.  Title Retail Sales and Use Tax; Collection by 
Remote Sellers and Marketplace Facilitators 

 
  Second House: 
   In Committee 

   Substitute 

   Enrolled 

 
5. Summary/Purpose:   
 

This bill would require marketplace facilitators and out-of-state dealers to register for the 
collection of the Retail Sales and Use Tax if annual sales to Virginia customers made or 
facilitated by them exceed either $100,000 in gross revenue or 200 transactions. The bill 
would also require the Department of Taxation (“the Department”) to provide marketplace 
facilitators with a separate form on which to report their facilitated sales. This bill would 
also allow facilitators to maintain a copy of a seller’s dealer registration certificate in lieu of 
collecting taxes on sales facilitated for that seller.   
 
If enacted during the 2019 Regular Session of the General Assembly, this bill would 
become effective July 1, 2019. 

 
6. Budget amendment necessary:  No. 
 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Preliminary.  (See Line 8.) 

 
8. Fiscal implications:   
 

Administrative Costs 
 
Due to uncertainty about the systems and processing changes that may be required for 
the 2018 and 2019 income tax filing seasons, the Department is unable to assign 
administrative costs to this bill at this time. Such costs may be necessary to create the 
new form for marketplace facilitators required by this bill and make any corresponding 
systems changes. During 2017, Congress enacted the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, which 
made substantial changes to federal tax law. At this time, it is uncertain what Virginia tax 
policy changes will be adopted in reaction to the federal law. 
 
If substantial changes are enacted or required in response to state/federal law, it is 
possible that the Department may not have the ability to implement the changes set forth 
in this bill by the proposed effective date. Accordingly, the Department will reevaluate its 
costs once action is taken and may request additional funding or an amendment to delay 
the effective date of this legislation. 
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Revenue Impact 
 
This bill would result in an estimated positive revenue impact of $155 million in Fiscal 
Year 2020, $175 million per year for Fiscal Years 2021 through 2023, and $180 million for 
Fiscal Years 2024 and 2025. This potential impact is based on the estimated amount of 
sales by out-of-state dealers to Virginia consumers currently going untaxed, which was 
recently updated to reflect voluntary registration by out-of-state dealers as a result of the 
Wayfair decision, as well as the imposition of a $100,000/200 transaction threshold. This 
impact is expected to grow over time due to an increase in internet sales. The revenue 
impact of this bill is included in the Introduced Executive Budget.   
 

 
 
9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   

 
Department of Taxation 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No. 
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Constitutional Nexus  
 
The Commerce Clause of the U.S. Constitution reserves to Congress the power to 
regulate commerce among the states and with foreign nations. The U.S. Supreme Court 
has established a four-prong test to be used in determining whether a state tax on an out-
of-state corporation’s activities in interstate commerce violates the Commerce Clause. A 
state may require an entity engaged in interstate commerce to collect taxes on its behalf 

Estimated Revenue Impact - Distribution by Fund

Effective July 1, 2019

(all figures in millions of dollars, except rate)

Fund Rate FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024 FY 2025

State Sales and Use Tax (5.3%) 5.280% 144.9 163.6 163.6 163.6 168.3 168.3

   GF - Unrestricted 
(1)

2.015% 55.3 62.4 62.4 62.4 64.2 64.2

   GF - Restricted
 (2)

0.990% 27.2 30.7 30.7 30.7 31.6 31.6

   Education School Age 1/8% - (GF transfer from Restricted) 0.125% 3.4 3.9 3.9 3.9 4.0 4.0

   Education SOQ- 1/4% - (GF transfer from Unrestricted) 0.250% 6.9 7.7 7.7 7.7 8.0 8.0

   Transportation
 (3)

0.800% 22.0 24.8 24.8 24.8 25.5 25.5

   Local Option 1.000% 27.4 31.0 31.0 31.0 31.9 31.9

   HMOF (GF transfer) 0.100% 2.7 3.1 3.1 3.1 3.2 3.2

Regional Trans. Funds (0.7%)
 (4)

0.367% 10.1 11.4 11.4 11.4 11.7 11.7

   Hampton Roads (TPO) 0.127% 3.5 3.9 3.9 3.9 4.1 4.1

   Northern Virginia (NVTA) 0.240% 6.6 7.4 7.4 7.4 7.7 7.7

Total Sales and Use Tax
 (4)

5.647% 155.0 175.0 175.0 175.0 180.0 180.0

Notes:

1) Includes: 2.025% General Fund Unrestricted, -0.01% Dealer Discount.

2) Includes: 1% Education 1% based on school age population, -0.01% Dealer Discount.

3) Includes 0.5% TTF, 0.175% HMOF, 0.050% IPROCF, and 0.075% Mass Transit Fund.

4) The assumed state, local and regional sales and use blended tax rate is 5.65%, after dealer discount.
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provided the tax is 1) applied to an activity with a substantial nexus with the taxing State; 
2) is fairly apportioned; 3) does not discriminate against interstate commerce; and 4) is 
fairly related to the services provided by the state. Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 
430 U.S. 274, 279 (1977). The U.S. Supreme Court had determined, in Quill Corp. v. 
North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298 (1992), that the Commerce Clause barred a state from 
requiring an out-of-state mail-order company to collect use tax on goods sold to 
customers located within the state when the company had no outlets, sales 
representatives, or significant property in the state. In this case, the Court determined that 
only Congress has the authority to require out-of-state vendors without a physical 
presence in a state to register and collect that state’s tax. 
 
On June 21, 2018, the U.S. Supreme Court in South Dakota v. Wayfair, overturned its 
ruling in Quill and held that physical presence is no longer a prerequisite for a state to 
require a merchant to collect its tax. The Court looked favorably upon South Dakota’s 
$100,000/200 transaction threshold when bolstered by the simplification measures that 
come with membership in the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement (SSUTA). 
Membership in the SSUTA is not a prerequisite for embracing the new nexus standard but 
rather the Court’s opinion suggests that a reasonable dollar amount and transaction 
threshold should be coupled with administrative simplification measures designed to 
protect out-of-state small businesses and encourage administrative efficiency.   
 
Current Virginia law specifically sets out the standards for requiring out-of-state dealers to 
collect the Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax on sales into the Commonwealth. The law 
provides that a dealer is deemed to have sufficient activity within the Commonwealth to 
require that dealer to register to collect the Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax if the dealer:  
 

 Maintains an office, warehouse, inventory, or place of business in the 
Commonwealth;  

 Solicits business in the Commonwealth, by employees, independent contractors, 
agents or other representatives;  

 Advertises in Commonwealth publications, on billboards or posters located in the 
Commonwealth, or through materials distributed in the Commonwealth;  

 Regularly makes deliveries into the Commonwealth by means other than common 
carrier;  

 Continuously, regularly, seasonally, or systematically solicits business in the 
Commonwealth through broadcast advertising;  

 Solicits business in the Commonwealth by mail, provided the solicitations are 
continuous, regular, seasonal, or systematic and the dealer benefits from any 
banking, financing, debt collection, or marketing activities occurring in the 
Commonwealth;  

 Is owned or controlled by the same interests which own or control a business 
located within this Commonwealth;  

 Has a franchisee or licensee operating under the same trade name in the 
Commonwealth, if the franchisee or licensee is required to obtain a certificate of 
registration; or  



 
SB 1601 -4- 01/21/19 

 Owns tangible personal property that is rented or leased to a consumer in the 
Commonwealth, or offers tangible personal property, on approval, to consumers in 
the Commonwealth.  
 

Actions by Other States 
 
In the wake of the Wayfair decision, 34 states have abandoned the physical presence 
standard in favor of some form of economic nexus. Additionally, 11 states have pursued 
the application of economic nexus standards to marketplace facilitators. Since 
marketplace facilitators tend to be large, sophisticated players in the commerce arena, 
requiring them to collect sales tax on behalf of the often small sellers who utilize their 
marketplaces comports with the U.S. Supreme Court’s favorable view of administrative 
efficiency and small seller protections. This bill would add Virginia to the long and growing 
list of states that are pursuing the current nexus standard in the fairest and most efficient 
manner available. 
 
Economic Nexus and Marketplace Facilitators 
 
Economic nexus refers to the utilization of a monetary or transaction amount threshold to 
identify sellers who may lack physical presence but who are of suitably large size and who 
are availing themselves of the Commonwealth to a sufficiently significant degree that 
imposing a sales tax collection requirement on them would not be unduly burdensome.  
This bill contains a $100,000 in gross revenue or 200 transaction per year standard to 
identify those sellers. 
 
Marketplace facilitators are entities which operate online marketplaces on which sellers 
can list items for sale. Facilitators do not own the goods being sold on the marketplaces 
but often handle the exchange of money and provide a forum upon which sellers can list 
their goods and buyers can utilize a centralized search process. Most marketplace 
facilitators do not currently collect Virginia tax on the sales they facilitate because they 
either do not meet the physical presence standard or they do not satisfy the current 
definition of “dealer” because they do not actually own the goods being sold. The same 
$100,000 in gross revenue or 200 transaction per year standard that applies to sellers 
would also apply to the facilitators.  Therefore, facilitators who engage in certain activities 
which would identify them as facilitators, such as listing items for sale, handling the money 
involved in the transaction, or providing a forum upon which buyers and sellers can 
connect, would create the obligation for those facilitators to collect sales tax on all of the 
sales that they facilitate to Virginia consumers.  
  
2013 House Bill 2313 
 
2013 House Bill 2313 eliminated the 17.5 cents per gallon motor fuels tax and replaced it 
with 3.5 percent tax on the wholesale price of gasoline and a 6.0 percent tax on the 
wholesale price of diesel beginning July 1, 2013. Enactment Clause 14 provided that the 
tax law changes imposed under House Bill 2313 would be repealed if the revenues 
earmarked for transportation were redirected for non-transportation purposes at any point 
in the future. Enactment Clause 14 also provided that if federal legislation authorizing 
remote sales tax collection authority had not been enacted by January 1, 2015, the 
wholesale tax on gasoline was to increase from 3.5 percent to 5.1 percent. As federal 
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legislation authorizing remote sales tax collection had not been enacted by January 1, 
2015, the wholesale tax on gasoline increased to 5.1 percent.   
 
Under Enactment Clause 15, if Congress were to enact legislation granting remote 
collection authority on or after January 1, 2015, the wholesale tax on gasoline would 
revert to 3.5 percent. This bill does not address the contingencies related to House Bill 
2313. 
 
Virginia’s Sales Tax Nexus 
 
Under current law, the Retail Sales and Use Tax generally applies to sales of tangible 
personal property to customers within Virginia. However, because the U.S. Supreme 
Court held in the now overturned Quill decision that the Commerce Clause requires 
physical presence as a prerequisite for nexus, many out-of-state sellers avoid collecting 
sales tax on their sales to Virginia customers by choosing not to have a physical presence 
within Virginia’s borders. In 2017, Virginia enacted House Bill 2058 and Senate Bill 962 
(2017 Acts of Assembly, Chapters 51 and 808, respectively) which required dealers who 
store inventory in the Commonwealth to register for the collection of the Retail Sales and 
Use Tax.   
 
Additionally, marketplace facilitators have evolved to represent a significant portion of all 
retail sales transacted on the internet and therefore a significant portion of all retail sales. 
Currently, marketplace facilitators are not required to collect Virginia sales tax on the 
sales facilitated by their marketplaces because they either lack physical presence or do 
not have ownership of the goods being sold.   
 
Proposal 
 
This bill would require marketplace facilitators and out-of-state dealers to register for the 
collection of the Retail Sales and Use Tax if annual sales to Virginia customers made or 
facilitated by them exceed either $100,000 in gross revenue or 200 transactions.  This bill 
would allow facilitators to maintain a copy of a seller’s dealer registration certificate in lieu 
of collecting taxes on sales facilitated for that seller. This bill would require the 
Department to promulgate a separate return for facilitators to use to report their facilitated 
sales. This bill would also disallow auditing facilitators or sellers for sales collected and 
remitted by the other party and that were covered by a previous audit by the Department. 
The bill would also allow facilitators to seek waiver of penalties and interest from the 
Department upon a showing of reasonable cause. Lastly, this bill would provide that no 
tax collection shall apply to transactions occurring before July 1, 2019.   

 
If enacted during the 2019 Regular Session of the General Assembly, this bill would 
become effective July 1, 2019. 

 
Similar Legislation 
 
House Bills 1722 and 2090 and Senate Bills 1083, 1294, and 1500 would simplify some 
of the administrative provisions of the sales tax and would require marketplace facilitators 
and out-of-state dealers to register for sales tax collection above a $100,000/200 
transaction threshold. 
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House Bill 2801 and Senate Bill 1767 would simplify some of the administrative 
provisions of the sales tax and would require marketplace facilitators and out-of-state 
dealers to register for sales tax collection above a $250,000 gross receipts threshold. 
 
Senate Bill 1267 would simplify the sales tax administrative rules and also require 
marketplace facilitators and out-of-state dealers to register for sales tax collection above 
the $100,000/200 transaction threshold. The bill would also distribute the state portion of 
the sales tax revenue from newly registered dealers for the benefit of transportation. 
 
Senate Bill 1337 would distribute revenue from remote sellers into an Online Revenue 
Collection Fund to be used to supplement the local distribution of sales tax. 
 
Senate Bill 1390 would remove the contingencies regarding federal remote seller 
legislation and domestic fuels set forth in 2013 House Bill 2313 (2013 Acts of Assembly, 
Chapter 766). 
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
 
Date: 1/21/2019 VB 
DLAS File Name: SB1601F161 

 


