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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2019 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron Tony O. Wilt 2. Bill Number HB 2680 

  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Finance  X Introduced 

   Substitute 

    Engrossed 

4.  Title Individual Income and Corporate Income 
Tax; Milk Production Tax Credit 

 
  Second House: 
   In Committee 

   Substitute 

   Enrolled 

 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would provide an individual income tax and corporate income tax credit for 
taxpayers that own a qualifying farm to the extent that they make sales of USDA Class I 
or Class II milk at a price that is less than the producer price determined each month by 
the State Milk Commission.  The amount of the credit would be equal to: 
 

 $1,000 per million pounds for the first seven million pounds of milk sold below the 
producer price; 

 $500 per million pounds of milk sold below the producer price for amounts greater 
than seven million pounds, but not greater than 20 million pounds; 

 $200 per million pounds of milk sold below the producer price for amounts greater 
than 20 million pounds, but not greater than 50 million pounds; and 

 $100 per million pounds of milk sold below the producer price for amounts greater 
than 50 million pounds, but not greater than 90 million pounds. 

 
This credit would not be subject to an annual credit cap. 
 
This bill is effective for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2019, but before 
January 1, 2024. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  No. 
 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Preliminary.  (See Line 8.) 
 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs 
 
Department of Taxation and Department of Conservation and Recreation 
 
The Department of Taxation (“the Department”) and the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation (“DCR”) consider implementation of this bill as routine, and do not require 
additional funding.  
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Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
 

The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (“VDACS”) has determined that 
implementation of this bill would have no significant administrative impact on the agency. 
However, should the Patron’s intent be for the State Milk Commission to be required to 
calculate a “producer price” that better reflects the actual cost of production, the State Milk 
Commission would need to calculate such price using data from the USDA’s Economic 
Research Service. For purposes of conducting such calculations, the State Milk 
Commission would need $28,831 annually through 2025 to hire one wage employee for 
20 hours per week.  
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill would have an unknown negative General Fund revenue impact beginning in 
Fiscal Year 2020. In 2017, there were 615 dairy farms operating in Virginia. In addition, 
from 2013 through 2017, Virginia farmers sold approximately 1.7 billion pounds of milk per 
year. However, it is unknown to what extent these Virginia dairy farms and the milk that 
they sell would qualify for purposes of this credit. 
 

9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   
 
Department of Taxation 
Department of Conservation and Recreation 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No. 
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Federal Tax Preferences for Farmers  

 
While federal tax law has no provision that specifically benefits farmers who make sales of 
milk below the producer price, farmers may receive the following federal tax preferences:  
 

 Three-year income averaging: An individual engaged in a farming or fishing 
business may elect three-year averaging of elected farm income for income tax 
purposes. Income averaging for farmers and fishermen provides a way to balance 
an income tax burden over several years, reducing the effects of both profitable 
years and loss years. 

 

 Longer net operating loss (“NOL”) carryforward period: Prior to the enactment 
of the federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (“TCJA”), farmers were eligible to receive a 
five-year carryback for NOLs attributable to farming losses. After the enactment of 
the TCJA, a farmer may now only carryback NOLs for two years, but may carry 
NOLs forward indefinitely. The TCJA also limited NOL deductions to 80 percent of 
taxable income.  
 

 Favorable accounting and inventory methods: Although the accrual method of 
accounting is normally required for taxpayers engaged in the production and sale 
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of goods where inventories are a material income determining factor, farmers are 
generally given the choice of reporting income under the cash or accrual method of 
accounting. Under the TCJA, more farmer corporations and partnerships are 
eligible to use the cash method of accounting.  A hybrid method combining certain 
features of the cash and accrual method of accounting may be used under some 
circumstances. 
 

 Income deferrals: Farmers may generally elect to defer reporting of certain 
insurance proceeds and federal disaster payments until the taxable year after the 
year of the destruction or damage to, or inability to plant, crops. These payments 
are deferred until the taxable year after the year the crops are either 
damaged/destroyed, or the farmer is unable to plant. Such deferral may also be 
elected for income from livestock sold on account of a drought, flood or other 
weather-related condition so severe that the sale had to take place in an earlier 
year than normal.  

 

 Deduction of items normally capitalized: Certain farmers may generally elect to 
have the uniform capitalization rules not apply to any plant with a pre-productive 
period of 2 year or less. This allows a farmer to immediately deduct all otherwise 
deductible costs incurred during the pre-productive period. A pre-productive period 
begins when the farmer first acquires the seed or plant, and ends when the plant 
produces marketable quantities or is reasonably expected to be sold or otherwise 
disposed of. In addition, a farmer may deduct currently, as business expenses, 
certain outlays for soil and water conservation or erosion prevention that are 
incurred to maintain the farm and preserve its normal productivity, and not to 
increase its value or convert it to a new use.  

 
Virginia Tax Incentives for Farmers  
 
While Virginia does not currently provide a tax incentive specifically for farmers who make 
sales milk below the produce price, farmers may be eligible for the following Virginia tax 
incentives:  
 

 Farm Wineries and Vineyards Tax Credit: An individual and corporate income 
tax credit is available for Virginia farm wineries and vineyards for qualified capital 
expenditures made in connection with the establishment of new Virginia farm 
wineries and vineyards, and capital improvements made to existing Virginia farm 
wineries and vineyards. 
 

 Agricultural Best Management Practices Tax Credit: An individual and 
corporate income tax credit is available to taxpayers that are engaged in 
agricultural production for market and have a soil conservation plan in place to 
provide significant improvement to water quality in Virginia's streams, rivers, and 
bays.  

   

 Sales tax exemption for farmers: Farmers are exempt from the sales and use tax 
with respect to their purchase and use of certain agricultural products, seafood, 
agricultural equipment, and materials used in agriculture. 
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 Sales tax exemption for farmers markets: Sales of agricultural produce and 
eggs are exempt from sales and use tax when such items are raised and sold by 
an individual at retail in local farmers markets and at roadside stands, provided that 
the annual income from such sales by the agricultural or egg producer do not 
exceed $1,000. 
 

 Local option for reduced property taxation for agriculture: Localities are 
permitted to assess real estate devoted to agricultural use based on “use value” 
instead of “fair market value.” This may result in a lower property tax liability.  

 
Proposed Legislation 
 
This bill would provide an individual income tax and corporate income tax credit for 
taxpayers that own a qualifying farm to the extent that they make sales of USDA Class I 
or Class II milk at a price that is less than the producer price determined each month by 
the State Milk Commission. The amount of the credit would be equal to: 
 

 $1,000 per million pounds for the first seven million pounds of milk sold below the 
producer price; 

 $500 per million pounds of milk sold below the producer price for amounts greater 
than seven million pounds, but not greater than 20 million pounds; 

 $200 per million pounds of milk sold below the producer price for amounts greater 
than 20 million pounds, but not greater than 50 million pounds; and 

 $100 per million pounds of milk sold below the producer price for amounts greater 
than 50 million pounds, but not greater than 90 million pounds. 

 
This credit would not be subject to an annual credit cap.  
 
“Qualifying farm” would be defined as a dairy farm that possesses a:  
 

 Grade A permit issued by VDACS and has voluntarily implemented either a nutrient 
management plan that has been approved, or is currently being reviewed by DCR; 
or  
 

 Resource management plan and has been certified as having implemented the 
plan, or be in the process of having the plan reviewed by DCR or a local soil and 
water conservation district.  

 
If the amount of credits exceeds the taxpayer’s tax liability for the taxable year, the 
taxpayer would be allowed to carry over the excess for credit against income taxes for the 
next five years or until the total amount of the tax credit has been taken, whichever occurs 
first.  
 
Credits granted to a partnership, electing small business corporation (S corporation), or 
limited liability company would be required to be allocated to the individual partners, 
shareholders, or members, respectively, in proportion to their ownership or interest in 
such business entity.  
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The Department, in consultation with the VDACS and DCR, would be required to develop 
guidelines, exempt from the provisions of the Administrative Process Act, for claiming this 
credit. 
 
This bill would be effective for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2019, but 
before January 1, 2024. 
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
 
Date: 1/24/2019 RWC 
HB2680F161 

 


