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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2019 Fiscal Impact Statement 

 
1.  Patron Luke E. Torian 2. Bill Number HB 2433 

  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Finance  X Introduced 

   Substitute 

    Engrossed 

4.  Title Individual Income Tax; Family Caregiver Tax 
Credit 

 
  Second House: 
   In Committee 

   Substitute 

   Enrolled 

 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill provide allow an individual income tax credit to certain family caregivers who 
provide care to eligible family members. The amount of the credit would be equal to 50 
percent of the eligible expenditures incurred by such family caregiver. No family caregiver 
would be permitted to claim more than $1,000 in credits for a taxable year.  The credit 
would not be subject to an annual credit cap. 
 
This bill would be effective for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2019, but 
before January 1, 2024. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  Yes. 
Item(s): Page 1, Revenue Estimates 

273 and 275, Department of Taxation    
 
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Preliminary.  (See Line 8.) 

7a. Expenditure Impact 
Fiscal Year Dollars Positions Fund 

2019-20 ($67,500) 1 GF 
2020-21 ($64,800) 1 GF 
2021-22 ($64,800) 1 GF 
2022-23 ($64,800) 1 GF 
2023-24 ($64,800) 1 GF 
2024-25 ($64,800) 1 GF 

 
8. Fiscal implications:   

 
Administrative Costs 
 
If the Department of Taxation (“the Department”) is able to implement this legislation by 
the effective date, it would incur estimated administrative costs of $67,500 in Fiscal Year 
2020 and $64,800 in Fiscal Year 2021 and all subsequent years. These costs would be 
incurred for purposes of hiring one full time employee to administer the Department’s 
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responsibilities with respect to the credit, and additional ongoing operational expenses 
related to overseeing this credit program. 
  
However, due to uncertainty about the systems and processing changes that may be 
required for the 2018 and 2019 income tax filing seasons, it is possible that the 
Department may not have the ability to implement the changes set forth in this bill by the 
proposed effective date. During 2017, Congress enacted the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, 
which made substantial changes to federal tax law. At this time, it is uncertain what 
Virginia tax policy changes will be adopted in reaction to the federal law. Accordingly, the 
Department will reevaluate its costs once action is taken and may request additional 
funding or an amendment to delay the effective date of this legislation. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill would have an unknown negative General Fund revenue impact beginning in 
Fiscal Year 2020. It is unknown to what extent family caregivers would qualify for and 
claim this credit. Because the aggregate amount of credits that taxpayers may claim per 
taxable year would be uncapped, this credit may result in a significant negative General 
Fund revenue impact. 
 
During Taxable Year 2016, the existing Virginia Deduction for Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses was claimed on more than 200,000 returns in a total amount of $560 million. 
Based on federal and state income data, if 133,000 returns met the bill’s income 
requirements and 20 percent of these returns had expenses for family members that 
would qualify under this legislation, this bill could have an estimated annual negative 
General Fund revenue impact of more than $20 million. The actual impact would vary 
depending on how many taxpayers actually qualify and claim this credit. 

 
9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   

 
Department of Taxation. 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No 
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Federal Tax Incentives for Caregivers 
 
Medical Expense Deduction 
 
For Taxable Year 2018, taxpayers are permitted to deduct expenses for medical care for 
themselves, their spouse, and their dependents that exceed 7.5 percent of their federal 
adjusted gross income. Deductible medical expenses are generally those amounts paid 
for the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease, or for the purpose 
of affecting any structure or function of the body. Taxpayers may also deduct 
transportation expenses primarily for and essential to medical care; expenses for qualified 
long-term care services, or expenses for insurance covering medical care or for any 
qualified long-term care insurance contract.  
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Credit for Qualifying Dependents 
 
A taxpayer is permitted to claim a nonrefundable $500 income tax credit for any of the 
taxpayer’s dependents who are not qualifying children under age 17.  Generally, this 
credit will apply to qualifying children who are past child tax credit age, or qualifying 
relatives, such as dependent parents. The credit is phased out beginning with taxpayers 
with federal adjusted gross income of $200,000 ($400,000 for married persons filing 
jointly).  
 
Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit 
 
Taxpayers are permitted to claim a credit of up to 35 percent of the first $3,000 dollars 
($6,000 for two or more qualified persons) in qualified child and dependent care 
expenses. Qualified child and dependent care expenses include certain household 
service and expenses for care of the qualified person.  A taxpayer may claim this credit 
only if the care was provided so the taxpayer could work or look for work (unless a special 
exception for full-time students applies), the care was for one or more qualifying persons, 
and the person providing the care was not the taxpayer’s spouse; the parent of the 
taxpayer’s qualifying child; a dependent of the taxpayer’s; or the taxpayer’s child who is 
either a dependent of the taxpayer’s or under the age of 19 by the end of the taxable year. 
 
A “qualified person” for the purposes of the child and dependent care expenses credit is 
generally required to be: 
 

 A taxpayer's under-age-13 dependent; 

 A taxpayer's dependent who is physically or mentally incapable of self care and 
who has the same principal place of abode as the taxpayer for more than half the 
tax year; or 

 The taxpayer's spouse, if the spouse is physically or mentally incapable of self care 
and has the same principal place of abode as the taxpayer for more than half the 
tax year.  

 
Virginia Deduction for Child and Dependent Care Expenses 
 
Virginia permits a taxpayer that is eligible to claim the federal child and dependent care 
expenses credit to claim a deduction in an amount equal to the amount of employment-
related expenses upon which the federal credit is based for household and dependent 
care services necessary for gainful employment. 
 
Sunset Dates for Income Tax Credits and Sales Tax Exemptions 
 
Section 3-5.14 of the 2016 Appropriations Act provides that the General Assembly may 
not advance the sunset date for any existing income tax credit or sales tax exemption 
beyond June 30, 2022.  Any new income tax credit or sales tax exemption enacted by the 
General Assembly prior to the 2021 Session must have a sunset date not later than June 
30, 2022.  This requirement does not apply to sales tax exemptions related to nonprofit 
entities or to income tax credits or sales tax exemptions with sunset dates after June 30, 
2022 that were enacted or advanced during the 2016 Session. 
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Proposed Legislation 
 
This bill provide allow an individual income tax credit to certain family caregivers who 
provide care to eligible family members. The amount of the credit would be equal to 50 
percent of the eligible expenditures incurred by such family caregiver. No family caregiver 
would be permitted to claim more than $1,000 in credits for a taxable year.  The credit 
would not be subject to an annual credit cap. 
 
“Eligible expenditures” would be defined as expenses incurred by a family caregiver that 
are directly related to the care of an eligible family member, including:  
 

 Improvements or alteration to the family caregiver’s primary residence to permit the 
eligible family member to remain mobile, safe and independent;  

 The purchase or lease of equipment or technology that assists the eligible family 
member in carrying out one or more activities of daily living; or  

 Expenditures related to hiring a home care aide or personal care attendant, respite 
care, adult day care, transportation, and legal or financial services.  
 

Eligible expenditures would not include general house hold maintenance such as painting, 
plumbing, electrical repairs, or exterior maintenance.  
 
"Eligible family member" would be defined as an individual who: 
 

 Is at least 18 years of age during the taxable year; 

 Requires assistance with one or more ADLs, as certified by a licensed physician, 
physician assistant, or nurse practitioner; and 

 Qualifies as a dependent, spouse, parent, or other relation by blood or marriage, 
including an in-law, grandparent, grandchild, step-parent, aunt, uncle, niece, or 
nephew, of the family caregiver. 

 
A “family caregiver” would be defined as an individual, or in the case of married persons, 
an individual and his spouse, who: 
 

 Provides care to one or more eligible family member during the taxable year;  

 Has federal adjusted gross income that is no greater than $75,000 for individuals or 
$150,000 or married persons; and  

 Resides in the same primary residence in Virginia as the eligible family member for 
no fewer than 183 days during the taxable year.  

 
“Activities of daily living” or “ADLs” would be defined as bathing, dressing, toileting, 
transferring or moving, bowel control, bladder control, and eating or feeding.  
 
The amount of the credit would not be permitted to exceed the family caregiver's 
individual income liability for the taxable year in which the eligible expenditures occurred. 
If the amount of the credit allowed exceeds the family caregiver's individual income tax 
liability for such taxable year, the amount in excess of tax liability would be permitted to be 
carried over for credit against the family caregiver’s individual income taxes in the next 
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five taxable years or until the total amount of the tax credit has been taken, whichever is 
sooner. 
 
This bill would require the Tax Commissioner to develop guidelines, exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act, for claiming this credit.  
 
This bill would be effective for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2019, but 
before January 1, 2024. 
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
 
Date: 1/22/2019 RWC 
HB2433F161 


