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1. Bill Number: HB1808 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Gooditis 
 
3.  Committee: House Committee for Courts of Justice 
 
4. Title: Assault and battery in the presence of a minor; penalty. 

 
5. Summary: The bill establishes that persons committing assault and battery or assault and 

battery against a family or household member while in the physical presence of a minor and 
knowing or having reason to know that such minor may see or hear such assault and battery, 
is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor for a first offense and a Class 6 felony for a second or 
subsequent offense. The bill also establishes that any person who commits certain specified 
violent acts while in the physical presence of a minor and knowing or having reason to know 
that such minor may see or hear such assault and battery is guilty of a Class 5 felony. 
Furthermore, the bill establishes that such offenses are separate and distinct for the purposes 
of prosecution. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary: Yes, Item 391. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates: Preliminary (see Item 8 below). 

 

8. Fiscal Implications: The proposed legislation expands upon existing law related to crimes 
committed in the presence of a minor and establishes that any person who commits an assault 
and battery, as defined in existing law, or an assault and battery against a family or household 
member, as defined in existing law, while (i) in the physical presence of a minor and (ii) 
knowing or having reason to know that such minor may see or hear such assault and battery, 
is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor for a first offense and a Class 6 felony for a second or 
subsequent offense. Additionally, the proposed legislation establishes that any person who 
commits an act of violence, as defined in existing law, while (i) in the physical presence of a 
minor and (ii) knowing or having reason to know that such minor may see or hear such act of 
violence, is guilty of a Class 5 felony. 

 

According to the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission, not enough information is 
available to reliably estimate how many additional inmates in jail could result from this 
proposal. The Commonwealth presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each 
misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail. It also funds a large 
portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. correctional officers. The state’s share of these costs 
varies from locality to locality. According to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost 
Report (November 2018), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged $33.83 per 
inmate, per day in FY 2017. 



 
 
Additionally, due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has 
concluded, pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed 
legislation on state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.  In such cases, 
Chapter 2 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I requires that a minimum impact 
of $50,000 be assigned to the bill. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected: Department of Corrections; Local and 
regional jails. 

  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary: No 
  
11. Other Comments: None 


