2019 SESSION

19106450D

1

2

5

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 106

Offered February 5, 2019

3 Commending Helen Turner Murphy and W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr.

Patrons—Stuart and McDougle; Delegate: Ransone

6 WHEREAS, Helen Turner Murphy and W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., who have served the Commonwealth
7 with the utmost integrity, dedication, and distinction, have received the 2019 Outstanding Virginian
8 Award; and

9 WHEREAS, the Outstanding Virginian Award is presented by the Outstanding Virginian Committee
10 in partnership with the University of Virginia Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy to
11 recognize leaders like Helen and Tayloe Murphy who have made an indelible mark on the
12 Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, a native of Emmerton, Tayloe Murphy holds a bachelor's degree from Hampden-Sydney
College and a law degree from the University of Virginia School of Law, and he served his country as a
member of the United States Navy Reserve; and

WHEREAS, Helen and Tayloe Murphy married shortly after she graduated from Sweet Briar
College, and the couple returned to the Northern Neck in the 1960s, when Tayloe Murphy began
practicing law in Warsaw; Helen Murphy quickly became an active leader in the community, serving on
the founding local board for Rappahannock Community College, which graduated its first class in 1973;
and

WHEREAS, desirous to be of further service to the Commonwealth, Tayloe Murphy ran for and was
 elected to the House of Delegates, representing the residents of the 99th District from 1982 to 2000; he
 served as the chair of the Committee on Commerce and Labor and as a member of the Committee for
 Courts of Justice, the Committee on Corporations, Insurance and Banking, and the Committee on
 Chesapeake and its Tributaries; and

WHEREAS, Tayloe Murphy introduced important legislation to benefit all Virginians and was
 instrumental in the passage of the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act and the Virginia Water Quality
 Improvement Act; and

WHEREAS, in recognition of Tayloe Murphy's experience and considerable expertise, he was appointed to serve as a member of the Chesapeake Bay Commission and the Virginia Code
 Commission, as well as chair of the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission during its two-year review of the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality; he also served as Secretary of Natural
 Resources under Governor Mark Warner; and

WHEREAS, in addition, Tayloe Murphy has served on numerous local and state civic and
professional organizations, as the chair of the Westmoreland County Planning Commission and
Westmoreland County Board of Zoning Appeals, as the president of the Westmoreland Ruritan Club, as
a director of the Northern Neck State Bank, and as a member of the Southern Growth Policies Board,
the Northern Neck Historical Society, the Northern Neck Bar Association, the Council of the Virginia
State Bar, and the American Bar Association; and

WHEREAS, Helen Murphy continued her own service to the community and the Commonwealth as
an activist for education and environmental health; she was a founding member of the Garden Club of
the Northern Neck and president of the Garden Club of Virginia from 1992 to 1994; and

WHEREAS, Helen Murphy served as the president of the Menokin Foundation, created in 1994 to
save and interpret the historic home of Francis Lightfoot Lee, a signer of the Declaration of
Independence, and offered her leadership to the Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, the Virginia Historical
Society, the Virginia Nature Conservancy, St. Margaret's School, the Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay,
and the Virginia Department of Historic Resources, among other organizations; and

48 WHEREAS, in 2002, Helen and Tayloe Murphy received the Massie Medal for Distinguished49 Achievement, the oldest and most prestigious award presented by the Garden Club of Virginia; and

WHEREAS, Helen and Tayloe Murphy have served the Commonwealth with great distinction and an
 uncommon commitment to the conservation and stewardship of Virginia's historic and natural resources;
 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the Senate of Virginia, That Helen Turner Murphy and W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr.,
hereby be commended on their selection for the 2019 Outstanding Virginian Award; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the Senate prepare a copy of this resolution for
presentation to Helen Turner Murphy and W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr., as an expression of the Senate of
Virginia's admiration for their long legacy of exemplary service to the citizens of the Commonwealth.