## **HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 269**

Commending the Junior Beta Club of New Kent Elementary and Middle Schools.

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 18, 2019

WHEREAS, the Junior Beta Club of New Kent Elementary and Middle Schools is affiliated with the National Junior Beta Club, which is a leadership-service organization for grades four through 12, the purpose of which is to encourage effort, reward merit, and promote good citizenship; and

WHEREAS, membership in the Junior Beta Club of New Kent Elementary and Middle Schools is by invitation only and requires that potential members demonstrate academic excellence, service to community, and leadership and that members remain on the honor roll at all times; and

WHEREAS, Mia Forbes, Dwight Voelker, Noah Barnett, Liam Young, Max Burmeister, Rylan Horne, Peyton Carroll, Collin Smolnik, Camden Nogueras, Braidyn Bailey, Antony Zheng, Abigayle Simmons, Erica Larochelle, Annabella Seoane, Maggie Duncan, Hailee Roberts, Serra Swartout, Emily Burke, Jackson Pierce, Abigail Powers, and Olivia Carey, all members of the Junior Beta Club of New Kent Elementary and Middle Schools, competed at the Virginia Beta Leadership Summit and qualified in the Lead Outside the Box and Rapid Response competitions held in November 2018; and

WHEREAS, this great victory at the Virginia Beta Leadership Summit is an honor for the Junior Beta Club of New Kent Elementary and Middle Schools, which qualified for the national competition with the state win; and

WHEREAS, students Abigail Powers and Olivia Carey were selected as leadership representatives for Virginia Junior Beta Club and will hold leadership positions in the upcoming state and national conventions; and

WHEREAS, this achievement by these young people qualified the Junior Beta Club to represent New Kent County Elementary and Middle Schools in the National Junior Beta Club competition on June 15, 2019, in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, That the Junior Beta Club of New Kent Elementary and Middle Schools be commended on its victory at the Virginia Beta Leadership Summit and its qualification for the National Leadership Summit; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare copies of this resolution for presentation to Andrea Simmons and Cathy Bruner of New Kent Elementary School and Lindsay Horne and Rechele Gregory of New Kent Middle School as an expression of the House of Delegates' admiration for the many impressive achievements of the members of the Junior Beta Club of New Kent Elementary and Middle Schools.