19101239D

19101239L

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 869 Offered February 11, 2019

Commending the James Madison University women's lacrosse team.

Patrons—Wilt and Cox; Senator: Obenshain

6

WHEREAS, the James Madison University women's lacrosse team won the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I lacrosse championship on May 27, 2018, claiming its first national title in the team's 50-year history; and

WHEREAS, the James Madison University Dukes defeated the Boston College Eagles by a score of 16 - 15 in the tense national final at Stony Brook University's Kenneth P. LaValle Stadium, becoming one of only four schools to win the championship since 2004; and

WHEREAS, while the James Madison Dukes took an early four-point lead, the Boston Eagles rallied to tie the game at the half; in the second half, the Dukes overcame a 10 - 8 deficit and never relinquished the lead; and

WHEREAS, senior midfielder Haley Warden led the James Madison Dukes with four goals in the final and was selected as the 2018 Final Four Most Outstanding Player; seniors Elena Romesberg and Kristen Gaudian and junior Hanna Haven scored three goals each, and freshman goalkeeper Molly Dougherty recorded seven saves; and

WHEREAS, after starting the season ranked 17th, the James Madison Dukes dominated their opponents to finish with a 22 - 1 overall record, including a sweep of Atlantic Coast Conference opponents; and

WHEREAS, Shelley Klaes-Bawcombe, head coach of the James Madison Dukes, earned Coach of the Year honors from local media outlets and was named as the Division I South Region Coach of the Year and the National Coach of the Year by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association; and

WHEREAS, the James Madison Dukes' victorious season is a testament to the hard work and tenacity of all the student-athletes, the leadership and dedication of coaches and staff, and the passionate support of the entire James Madison University community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the James Madison University women's lacrosse team on winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I lacrosse championship in 2018; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Shelley Klaes-Bawcombe, head coach of the James Madison University women's lacrosse team, as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for the team's achievements and best wishes for the future.