2019 SESSION

19105684D

1

2

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 828

Offered February 6, 2019

3 Commending Spring Hill Baptist Church. 4

Patrons-Wright; Senator: Ruff

5 6 WHEREAS, for 175 years, Spring Hill Baptist Church in Blackstone has served the Nottoway 7 County community by providing opportunities for worship in the Baptist tradition, joyful evangelism, 8 and generous outreach; and

WHEREAS, Spring Hill Baptist Church traces its roots to the formation in April 1844 of Cool 9 10 Spring Baptist Church, which was established with 54 white members and 85 African American members; the Reverend J.W.D. Creath was chosen as the first pastor in July of that year; and 11

WHEREAS, when Cool Spring Baptist Church was dissolved in 1872, the African American 12 13 members of the congregation purchased the church building for \$300 and formed Spring Hill Baptist 14 Church: and

15 WHEREAS, throughout its history Spring Hill Baptist Church has benefited from the leadership of 16 numerous pastors and assistant pastors, including the Reverend Benjamin Wilson, the Reverend C. Cooke, the Reverend Claiborne C. Johnson, the Reverend Dr. A.H. Wynn, the Reverend Walter L. 17 Tucker, the Reverend Dr. C.R. Alston, the Reverend H. James Ellis, the Reverend Christine Shelton, the 18 Reverend Harold Farmer, and the Reverend Dr. Travis L.C. Warren, the current pastor; and 19

20 WHEREAS, as senior pastor of Spring Hill Baptist Church, Dr. Warren is supported by his fellow ministers, the Reverend Grace Barr, the Reverend Daniel Smith, the Reverend Lorenza Reed, the 21 22 Reverend Tylia Threatt, and the Reverend Carl J. Bassfield; and

23 WHEREAS, the Spring Hill Baptist Church congregation is also supported by deacons Clifton Black, 24 Barbara D. Bridgeforth, James E. Bridgeforth, Orlander Marshall, David Neal, Jr., Harriett Greenhill, 25 Fred Irby, Charles Vaughter, Carl Bassfield, Sr., and Martha Wilson; and

WHEREAS, in 2015, Dr. Warren oversaw the dedication and consecration of a new sanctuary with 26 27 an expanded basement for events and activities to better serve the congregation and the community; and

28 WHEREAS, under the leadership of Dr. Warren, Spring Hill Baptist Church became an affiliate of 29 the Tabernacle Divinity School in Hopewell, and a campus was established at the church, with Dr. 30 Warren serving as dean and First Lady Letitia Warren serving as registrar; and

31 WHEREAS, in 2016, Spring Hill Baptist Church was nominated as Church of the Year by the Blackstone Ministerial Association, and Dr. Warren was named 2016 Pastor of the Year; and 32

33 WHEREAS, Spring Hill Baptist Church was nominated for the Governor's Community Service and 34 Volunteerism Award on April 10, 2018, in recognition of its contributions to life in Blackstone and 35 Nottoway County; and 36

WHEREAS, the members of Spring Hill Baptist Church will commemorate the milestone anniversary with a special celebration in July 2019 and events and activities throughout the year; now, therefore, be 38 it

39 RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring. That the General Assembly hereby 40 commend Spring Hill Baptist Church on the occasion of its 175th anniversary; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution 41 for presentation to Spring Hill Baptist Church as an expression of the General Assembly's admiration for 42 the church's longevity and legacy of contributions to the Blackstone and Nottoway County communities. 43

37

HJ828