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1. Bill Number:   SB737 S1 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Surovell 
 
3.  Committee: Courts of Justice 
 
4. Title: Driving under the influence; first offenders; license conditions; penalty. 

 
5. Summary:  The substitute bill establishes that the only restriction of an adult offender's 

restricted driver's license for a first conviction of driving under the influence when the 
offender's blood alcohol content was less than 0.15 shall be the prohibition from operating 
any motor vehicle not equipped with a functioning, certified ignition interlock system for 12 
consecutive months. The bill requires that offenders have no violations of the ignition 
interlock  requirements within the 12 month period. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes. Item 391. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See Item 8 below. 
 

      Expenditure Impact: 

 

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 

2019 $50,000 General 

2020 $0  

2021 $0  

2022 $0  

2023 $0  

2024 $0  

2025 $0  

 

8. Fiscal Implications:  According to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), this bill 
would require programming adjustments to its systems to allow the issuance of a license that 
meets the requirements of the 12-month suspension period. The System Support Group 
within DMV has estimated that the changes would cost approximately $63,000 to implement 
but has indicated that the changes could be absorbed by existing operating resources, given 
current workloads.  

 

 Current law provides penalties for driving with a revoked or restricted driver’s license 
following a driving while intoxicated conviction (DWI). Typically, first and second offenses 
are punished as Class 1 misdemeanors. Anyone convicted of a Class 1 misdemeanor is 



subject to a sentence of up to 12 months in jail.  Further, current law provides that anyone 
convicted of a third or subsequent violation of driving after forfeiture of license within a ten-
year period is guilty of a class 6 Felony. For someone convicted of a Class 6 felony, a judge 
has the option of sentencing him to up to one year in jail, or one to five years in prison.   

 
 There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional inmates 

in jail could result from this proposal.  Ultimately, the presiding judge will decide if there is 
to be any time served in jail; however, any increase in jail population will increase costs to 
the state. The Commonwealth presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each 
misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail. It also funds a large 
portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. correctional officers. The state’s share of these costs 
on a per prisoner, per day basis varies from locality to locality. However, according to the 
Compensation Board’s most recent Jail Cost Report (November 2017), the estimated total 
state support for local jails averaged $34.58 per inmate, per day in FY 2016. 

 
Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, 
pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on 
state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.  In such cases, Chapter 836 of the 
2017 Acts of Assembly requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Motor Vehicles, the 
Department of Corrections, and Local and Regional jails. 

  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  None 
  
11. Other Comments:  None 

 
 


