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1. Bill Number:   SB398 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: McDougle 
 
3.  Committee: Courts of Justice 
 
4. Title: Driving while intoxicated; fourth offense; penalty. 

 
5. Summary:  Current law provides that any person convicted of a fourth or subsequent offense 

of driving while intoxicated committed within a 10-year period is guilty of a Class 6 felony 
and imposes a mandatory minimum imprisonment sentence of one year and a mandatory 
minimum fine of $1,000. The proposed legislation increases the penalty for a fourth or 
subsequent offense to a Class 4 felony. The legislation maintains the mandatory minimum 
sentence and fine. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes. Item 391. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See Item 8 below. 
 

      Expenditure Impact: 

 

Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 

2019 $50,000 General 

2020 $0  

2021 $0  

2022 $0  

2023 $0  

2024 $0  

2025 $0  

 
8.   Fiscal Implications:  For someone convicted of a Class 4 felony, a judge has the option of 

sentencing him from two to ten years in prison.  The proposed legislation maintains the 
requirement for a mandatory minimum sentencing term of one year. Therefore, this proposal 
could result in an increase in the number of persons sentenced to jail or prison. 

 

There is not enough information available to reliably estimate how many additional inmates 
in jail could result from this proposal.  Ultimately, the presiding judge will decide if there is 
to be any time served in jail; however, any increase in jail population will increase costs to 
the state.  The Commonwealth presently pays the localities $4.00 a day for each 
misdemeanant or otherwise local responsible prisoner held in a jail and $12.00 a day for each 



state responsible inmate.  It also funds a considerable portion of the jails’ operating costs, e.g. 
correctional officers.  The state’s share of these costs on a per prisoner, per day basis varies 
from locality to locality. However, according to the Compensation Board’s most recent Jail 
Cost Report (November 2017), the estimated total state support for local jails averaged 
$34.58 per inmate, per day in FY 2016. 

 
Due to the lack of data, the Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission has concluded, 
pursuant to §30-19.1:4 of the Code of Virginia, that the impact of the proposed legislation on 
state-responsible (prison) bed space cannot be determined.  In such cases, Chapter 836 of the 
2017 Acts of Assembly requires that a minimum impact of $50,000 be assigned to the bill. 

 

9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Corrections, Local and 
Regional jails. 

  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  None 
  
11. Other Comments:  None 

 


