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1. Bill Number:   HB518 

 House of Origin  Introduced  Substitute  Engrossed  

 Second House  In Committee    Substitute  Enrolled 
 

2. Patron: Simon 
 
3.  Committee: Rules 
 
4. Title: Minimum wage. 

 
5. Summary:  Increases the minimum wage from its current federally mandated level of $7.25 

per hour to $9 per hour effective July 1, 2018, to $10 per hour effective January 1, 2019, to 
$11 per hour effective January 1, 2020, to $13 per hour effective January 1, 2021, and to $15 
per hour effective January1, 2022, unless a higher minimum wage is required by the federal 
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). For 2023 and thereafter, the annual minimum wage shall 
be adjusted to reflect increases in the consumer price index. The measure also provides that 
the Virginia minimum wage applies to persons whose employment is covered by the FLSA. 

 
6. Budget Amendment Necessary:  Yes, Item 112 (Department of Labor and Industry) and 

Item 474 (Central Appropriations) HB30/SB30. See Item 8, below. 
  
7. Fiscal Impact Estimates:  Preliminary. See Item 8. 

 Expenditure Impact, Department of Labor and Industry:   
Fiscal Year Dollars Positions Fund 

2018 0 0 n/a 

2019 $506,642 5 GF 

2020 $506,642 5 GF 

2021 $506,642 5 GF 

2022 $506,642 5 GF 

2023 $506,642 5 GF 

2024 $506,642 5 GF 

 Revenue Impact, Central Appropriations: 
Fiscal Year Dollars Fund 

2018 0 n/a 

2019 $146,403 GF/NGF 

2020 $473,009 GF/NGF 

2021 $1,517,206 GF/NGF 

2022 $9,621,077 GF/NGF 

2023 $22,780,271 GF/NGF 

2024 $22,780,271 GF/NGF 

 



8. Fiscal Implications:  The first table above reflects the bill’s anticipated impact to the 
Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) for costs related to enforcing the provisions of this 
bill. It is anticipated that the proposed bill would have a fiscal impact on some state agencies, 
as the proposed increase to the minimum wage would affect the current salaries of some state 
employees. 

 
The federal Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division enforces the federal minimum 
wage laws. If the minimum wage in Virginia is raised above the federal minimum wage, the 
Labor Law Division in DOLI would have to begin enforcing the new minimum wage for 
Virginia employees beginning July 1, 2018. Currently, the Labor Law Division conducts 
very few inspections into allegations of Virginia Minimum Wage law at general fund 
expense as the federal law covers almost all employees in the state.  

 
Due to federal oversight of almost all employees in the state, the federal Department of 
Labor’s Wage and Hour Division conducts inspections of alleged violations of the minimum 
wage laws and averages about 750 inspections per year. If this bill is approved and increases 
the minimum wage above the federal mandate, then the Commonwealth will be responsible 
for minimum wage compliance. DOLI anticipates it will have to conduct the same number of 
inspections as the federal Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (750 inspections 
per year). In order to meet this workload, DOLI will need five additional staff to enforce the 
increased minimum wage (four additional officer positions to conduct inspections and one 
assistant compliance officer to assist and support the inspection activities). DOLI’s impact is 
for regulatory enforcement of the bill. 
 

 Based on data provided by the Department of Human Resource Management, the increase 
that would be effective on July 1, 2018, would affect approximately 138 salaried employees 
and would have an expenditure impact of $146,403. The increase that would be effective on 
January 1, 2019, would affect approximately 321 salaried employees and have an 
expenditure impact of $473,009. The increase that would be effective on January 1, 2020, 
would affect approximately 1,265 salaried employees and have an expenditure impact of $1.5 
million. The increase that would be effective on January 1, 2021, would affect approximately 
3,747 salaried employees and have an expenditure impact of $9.6 million. The increase that 
would be effective on January 1, 2022, would affect approximately 7,822 salaried employees 
and have an expenditure impact of $22.8 million. Beginning January 1, 2023, the “adjusted 
state hourly minimum wage” would be established by DOLI based on the United States 
Average Consumer Price Index. These estimates are based on current salaries for current 
employees. Benefit costs are not included. The proposed minimum wage adjustment would 
impact the state salary structure, and result in consequential additional costs in order to 
mitigate compression, and occupational and employee alignment. Estimates are not available 
for any effect the bill would have on wage employees and are not included. 

 
 The second table above reflects the anticipated impact to state agencies based on the number 

of salaried employees. The general fund and nongeneral fund shares for these estimates are 
not available. 

 



9. Specific Agency or Political Subdivisions Affected:  Department of Labor and Industry; 
Department of Human Resource Management; all state agencies. 

  
10. Technical Amendment Necessary:  No. 
  
11. Other Comments:  Other similar minimum wage bills include HB39, HB715, HB1259, 

SB58, SB240, and SB251. 


