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DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 
2018 Fiscal Impact Statement 

             
1.  Patron Jennifer B. Boysko 2. Bill Number HB 24 
  House of Origin: 
3.  Committee House Appropriations   Introduced 
  X Substitute 
    Engrossed 
4.  Title Retail Sales and Use Tax; Menstrual 

Supplies 
 

  Second House: 
   In Committee 
   Substitute 
   Enrolled 
 
5. Summary/Purpose:   

 
This bill would provide an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for the following 
menstrual supplies: pads, tampons, and menstrual cups. 
 
Under current law, these items are subject to the Retail Sales and Use Tax. 
 
The effective date of this bill would be January 1, 2019. 
 

6. Budget amendment necessary:  Yes. 
 
Page 1, Revenue Estimates 
 

7. Fiscal Impact Estimates are:  Preliminary.  (See Line 8.) 
 
8. Fiscal implications:   
 

Administrative Costs 
 
The Department of Taxation (“the Department”) considers implementation of this bill as 
routine and does not require additional funding. 
 
Revenue Impact 
 
This bill would have a negative state and local revenue impact of $2.1 million in Fiscal 
Year 2019, $5.1 million in Fiscal Year 2020, $5.2 million in Fiscal Year 2021, $5.3 million 
in Fiscal Year 2022, $5.4 million in Fiscal Year 2023, and $5.5 million in Fiscal Year 2024.    
The chart on Page 2 shows the revenue impact for Fiscal Years 2019 through 2024. 
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Fund FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024 

GF-Unrestricted ($ 826,000 ) ($ 2,027,000) ($ 2,072,000) ($ 2,117,000) ($ 2,164,000) ($ 2,211,000) 
GF-Restricted ($ 407,000) ($ 998,000) ($ 1,020,000) ($ 1,042,000) ($ 1,065,000) ($ 1,089,000) 

Transportation* ($ 292,000) ($ 716,000) ($ 732,000) ($ 748,000) ($ 764,000) ($ 781,000) 
Local Option ($ 365,000) ($ 895,000) ($ 915,000) ($ 935,000) ($ 955,000) ($ 976,000) 

HMOF (GF transfer) ($ 36,000) ($ 89,000) ($ 91,000) ($ 93,000) ($ 96,000) ($ 98,000) 
Hampton Roads ($ 46,000) ($ 114,000) ($ 116,000) ($ 119,000) ($ 121,000) ($ 124,000) 
Northern Virginia ($ 88,000) ($ 215,000) ($ 219,000) ($ 224,000) ($ 229,000) ($ 234,000) 

Total ($ 2,060,000) ($ 5,054,000) ($  5,165,000) ($ 5,278,000) ($ 5,394,000) ($ 5,513,000) 
*Includes 0.5% TTF, 0.175% HMOF, 0.050% IPROCF, and 0.075% Mass Transit Fund. 

 
9. Specific agency or political subdivisions affected:   

 
Department of Taxation 
 

10. Technical amendment necessary:  No 
 

11. Other comments:   
 
Background 
 
Generally, the Retail Sales and Use Tax is imposed upon the charge for the sale or use of 
tangible personal property, unless an exemption applies. Virginia law defines “tangible 
personal property” as personal property that may be seen, weighed, measured, felt, or 
touched, or is in any other manner perceptible to the senses.  Current law does not 
provide an exemption for menstrual supplies such as pads, tampons, and menstrual cups. 
 
Other States 
 
Of the 45 states that impose a sales and use tax, nine states exempt feminine hygiene 
products from the tax: Connecticut (beginning July 1, 2018), Florida, Illinois, Maryland, 
Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. Washington, D.C. 
also passed legislation to exempt feminine hygiene products and diapers from the sales 
tax. The exemption was passed “subject to appropriations” and will not take effect until the 
projected revenue loss is accounted for in its annual budget. The proposed 2018 D.C. 
budget does not account for the exemption. The California State Assembly also passed 
legislation in a previous session to exempt feminine hygiene products, but the bill was 
vetoed by the Governor. 
 
Proposal 
 
This bill would provide an exemption from the Retail Sales and Use Tax for the following 
menstrual supplies: pads, tampons, and menstrual cups. 
 
The effective date of this bill would be January 1, 2019. 
 

cc :  Secretary of Finance 
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