SENATE BILL NO. 295

Offered January 10, 2018 Prefiled January 8, 2018

A BILL to amend and reenact § 23.1-3117 of the Code of Virginia, relating to the Roanoke Higher Education Authority; board of trustees; membership.

Patron—Edwards

Referred to Committee on Education and Health

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

18103801D

3

1. That § 23.1-3117 of the Code of Virginia is amended and reenacted as follows: § 23.1-3117. Board of trustees.

A. The Authority shall be governed by a 21-member 20-member board of trustees (the board) as follows: two members of the House of Delegates, to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates in accordance with the principles of proportional representation contained in the Rules of the House of Delegates; one member of the Senate, to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules; the Director of the Council or his designee; the Chancellor of the Virginia Community College System or his designee; the presidents of Averett University, Hollins University, James Madison University, Mary Baldwin College, Old Dominion University, Radford University, Roanoke College, the University of Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and Virginia Western Community College or their designees; the Director of Total Action for Progress (TAP) This Valley Works; and five nonlegislative citizen members representing business and industry in the Roanoke Valley to be appointed by the Governor. Nonlegislative citizen members of the board shall be citizens of the Commonwealth and residents of the Roanoke region.

B. The legislative members, the Director of the Council, the Chancellor of the Virginia Community College System, the Director of TAP This Valley Works, and the presidents of the named institutions of higher education or their designees shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. Nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed for terms of four years. Appointments to fill vacancies, other than by expiration of a term, shall be for the unexpired terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments.

No nonlegislative citizen member shall serve more than two consecutive four-year terms; however, a member appointed to serve an unexpired term is eligible to serve two consecutive four-year terms immediately succeeding such unexpired term.

- C. Nonlegislative citizen members are not entitled to compensation for their services. Legislative members of the board shall receive such compensation as provided in § 30-19.12. All members shall be reimbursed for all reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties in the work of the Authority as provided in §§ 2.2-2813 and 2.2-2825. Funding for the costs of compensation and expenses of the members shall be provided by the Authority.
- D. The board shall elect a chairman and a vice-chairman from among its membership and may establish bylaws as necessary.