Developed and maintained by the Division of Legislative Automated Systems.


Commending the recipients of the 2018 Virginia Outstanding Faculty Awards.


Agreed to by the House of Delegates, February 23, 2018
Agreed to by the Senate, March 1, 2018


WHEREAS, the Commonwealth offers one of the most respected and acclaimed systems of higher education in the United States due to the quality of each of its public and private colleges and universities; and

WHEREAS, Virginia colleges and universities educate more than 550,000 students annually, representing all demographics, all regions of the Commonwealth, and all corners of the nation and the world; and

WHEREAS, Virginia higher education advances learning, research, and public service to enhance the civic and financial health of the Commonwealth and the well-being of all its people, transforming the lives of Virginians, their communities, and the Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, Virginia higher education’s success would not be possible without the dedicated, hardworking faculty at each of the Commonwealth’s superb colleges and universities; and

WHEREAS, Virginia faculty contribute in innumerable ways to the intellectual and personal growth and development of their students, which contributes greatly to the educational, economic, cultural, and civic vitality of the Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, the Virginia Outstanding Faculty Awards program, now in its 32nd year, is presented by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia and Dominion Energy and continues to recognize the finest among the Commonwealth’s faculty for their superior abilities and accomplishments in teaching, research, service, and knowledge integration; and

WHEREAS, the 2018 Virginia Outstanding Faculty Award recipients—Supriyo Bandyopadhyay, Frederic Bemak, Deborah Bronk, Helen Crompton, Steven Emmanuel, Mark Gabriele, Elizabeth Caldwell Hirschman, Jennifer Martin, Thomas Moran, Carol Parish, Patricia Parker, and Jaime Elizabeth Settle—are remarkable educators, productive scholars, and tremendous ambassadors for their academic disciplines, campuses, communities, and the entire Commonwealth; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend the recipients of the 2018 Virginia Outstanding Faculty Awards for their professorial excellence and unparalleled achievements; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare copies of this resolution for presentation to the recipients of the 2018 Virginia Outstanding Faculty Awards as an expression of the General Assembly’s respect for the recipients’ commitment to their profession and their outstanding contributions to the lives of Virginians and the Commonwealth as a whole.